We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing - a gem of a place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Gardens

Save Saved
You added Ocean Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9000, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 91 hotels in Funchal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and Relaxing - a gem of a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had never visited Madeira before this trip but we were told that we would have a lovely time - we certainly did! This was due in no small part to the staff and facilities at Ocean Gardens Hotel in Funchal. Perched on the edge of Funchal just 15 minutes from the airport this hotel was just perfect. Everywhere was totally spotless and the staff could not have been friendlier - the restaurant staff were so lovely and we had a lot of fun with them (special thanks to Carlos and Joan for their superb customer service). Admittedly the hotel did not have entertainment in the evenings (although Portuguese TV is interesting!!) but we were there to relax and the surroundings certainly gave us that. Lovely pool and gardens, beautifully appointed rooms and a real laid back atmosphere. We were half board and certainly didn't think it was too 'samey' - with a choice of starters, meat or fish main and choice of desserts we weren't fishing around for something we fancied Admittedly if you did 2 weeks you might find it boring but it was always well cooked and well presented. The courtesy bus was so handy down to the centre and the local bus stopping right outside the hotel was a bonus. Best tips for trips - use the yellow buses for a cost effective tour if the main sites of Funchal and if you want to do Monte go up by local bus as part of the tourist deal which includes a cable car ride from the botanical gardens - and avoid the taxi drivers and the exorbitant toboggan ride!! The typical Madeiran evening was also well worth it. Fabulous hotel in a fabulous country - thank you Ocean Gardens!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    61
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
113
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Jut back from a week in Funchal staying at the Ocean Gardens - it was just fabulous. The hotel was spotlessly clean, staff very helpful and food excellent. I note others have commented that the half board menu for evening meal is quite restrictive - that was why I went bed and breakfast and the full menu in the restaurant was extensive. It is a 15 minute bus trip from Funchal centre which suited me fine - the hotels down in the town were jam packed together. There is a free minibus from the hotel twice a day as well as public buses that stop right at the hotel that take you into town. It is a tranquil haven - already planning my return trip!

Room Tip: You have a choice of sea view or bay view - sea view rooms are massive and have both bath and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Really great hotel and lovely staff. The rooms are really comfortable. Only a bus ride away to Funchal centre.
Very good value and fabulous views.
We were on a b&b basis, but the half board option looked good and most people were impressed. We ate at the hotel restaurant 5 nights and the al la carte was great. It is cheaper to eat in town but not by much. After a days sightseeing it was lovely to come back to the hotel and look at the sunset and have a cocktail or two.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just arrived home from a great week at this hotel
I had read the reviews before booking so did wonder how it would be
It is a beautiful place to stay The location is just great
We were so glad we were not at the other end of town where there is just one modern hotel on top of another and building still going on
We stayed on half board basis There is a limited choice for breakfast and evening meal
The majority of visitors seem to be Dutch or German and this is reflected in the breakfast menu choices,the croisants are not like ours here in the UK or in France
The hotel is always peaceful and is imaculately clean throughout
We had a room in the original older part of the building with the best view of the sea ,harbour,mountains and the town It was lovely to sit on the balcony at the beginning and end of each day
If you have a room in the newer part of the hotel the view is just of sea
The pool area and gardens are lovely and never busy,again the views ar amazing up there You pay a deposit for a towel which is refunded at the end of the week
The staff are all friendly especially in the restaurant at evening meal time
The driver of the shuttle bus is quiet but he drives more cautiosly than the taxi drivers If you have chance I would recommend taking the all day trip to the north and west of the island
Bedding and towels are regularly changed
The weather was always warm but mainly cloudy however when the sun did shine it was quite hot The forecast for the week was inaccurate
I would recommend this hotel for couples especially who like a peaceful place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Bay and town rather than just sea view There are two lifts one in the old par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here from 7th-14th June 2013. The hotel is set high above Funchal giving lovely views of the sea and over looking Funchal. This makes for some nice sights at night when the sun is setting. Being so far out of the way it would be impractical to walk down to the centre, the hotel runs a mini-bus that must be booked, book early or you'll end up on one of the later runs, they start at 10am! You can also catch the number 39 bus in to town.

The rooms are very clean, for such a small hotel of around 40 rooms it has a lovely garden and quite large grounds. The staff are friendly, reception will phone various places on your behalf, the restaurant staff are very nice and friendly as well as the man at the bar. A great hotel overall!

One HUGE minus when staying half-board is the food is awful. Two choices for each course, salad or soup (soupa!), then usually a meat or fish dish, followed by some pudding or fruit salad. The pudding is basically the same thing each night with a different sauce over the top of it, passion fruit pudding puts in an appearance a lot which is a thick creamy desert with hard pips in it.

Main meals are also quite poor, the size and actual food is very poor, frozen veg, dry salad and meats/fish which are of low quality. For the price I would expect something a little better, or perhaps if they charged a little bit more they could offer better food. The difference between room only and half board seems to be quite a lot, room only being around £250-ish and HB being the low end of £400... the food definitely isn't worth this difference.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again but would think twice about going HB, most of the food you eat just because but would be better going in to Funchal and finding somewhere cheap but cheerful to eat.

The only other downside is the bath is full of mouldy sealant, the rest of the room is spotless and this really lets the whole room down, see our photos for more details.

Rated this 3 out of 5 because of the poor food, would of been a 4 or 5 out of 5 if the food was better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks stunning and has surroundings and views to match! Our room had a seaview as do most and was of a high standard as were all the public areas. The staff were all very friendly. Food was good. There is a courtesy shuttle into town. Absolutely no complaints, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My first visit to this hotel last year I didn't know how I would feel as travelling alone but loved the place. Decided to book again this year and had doubts (never the same if you return and all that). All doubts diminished when I saw familiar faces and it almost felt like a homecoming ...sounds cheesy but that's how I felt this time. Views to die for and all rooms have views. As this was my second visit, I found it very easy to relax. Reception staff were helpful and informative as usual and the restaurant guys were a joy and made me feel quite pampered at dinner. It's been a long time since I got emotional at the end of my holiday but I so wanted to stay longer. Already saving for my next visit but hey...shouldn't be broadcasting all this as I selfishly want to keep it for myself.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Address: Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9000, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#29 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.