We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view over Funchal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Gardens

Save Saved
You added Ocean Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9000, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful view over Funchal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The location from the hotel is very good with a beautiful view over Funchal.

Good things;
• Rooms are looking good and cleaned daily.
• It is a quiet Hotel.
• Free Sauna and Jacuzzi
• Close to the city center.
• Perfect place for New year’s evening, amazing fire work.
• For the money you pay you get a good value of quality.

Things what can be better:
• Breakfast is good but simple if you stay longer than a few days it will be boring.
• Dinner in the restaurant connected at the hotel is much more expensive then in the centre and of less quality, I tried it two times but it was not so good.
* Swimming pool is freezing

A car is a must have on Madeira it is beautiful to drive around and easy to drive if you are not afraid of heights.
The Hotel does provide a free shuttle to the centre and a bus stop is in the front of the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    61
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
113
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a great week staying in this hotel. Our first trip to Madeira and most probably not our last. We chose the hotel because of the reviews, location and price...we were not disappointed. Although a fair distance out of Funchal the views of the city are superb. Don't think about walking into town as its safer and quicker to get the bus. The hotel has a very good restaurant where the staff were very helpful and friendly. Another highly rated restaurant, Zarco's is about half a mile down the road. The accommodation is spacious fresh and clean with maid service every day. The pool and gardens on the top floor are superb and make a wonderful place to finish the day. Our only negative comment is that there are no tea making facilities (this seems common in Portuguese hotels)...oh and watch out for the very painful one inch step in front of the reception desk which will catch you out if you have open toed shoes...ouch! Our only general advice is that our stay in Madeira was made so much better by hiring a car, we were able to explore the fabulous island in detail.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view face the road and may be a bit noisy, mountain views face Funchal, get the set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in January, in a junior suite. We had 2 spacious rooms, nicely decorated and furnished, large comfy bed, great bathroom and double size balcony looking straight out to sea. This is a genuine 4 star hotel, with lovely facilities including super pool area and pretty gardens. Breakfast was good. and the view from the breakfast room was amazing. We only dined at the restaurant on-site once as we preferred to eat out in Funchal or other nearby towns. January seemed to be a very quiet time for the hotel and for the visitor attractions and restaurants.
The Ocean Gardens is located to the east of Funchal, well away from the busier 'hotel zone' on the west side of the city. Buses ran about hourly, always ran to time and the ride was unfailingly exciting! Once you've bought your first ticket (giro) you can then 'top it up' to reduce the price of each journey from 1.90 to 1.30 (enquire at bus station in Funchal). The hotel also runs a shuttle bus service into Funchal centre twice a day. We hired a car and enjoyed the challenge of driving on some of Madeira's mountainous roads whilst exploring the island. Most of the island can be accessed by bus service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay as great food and service with such a smile,
It has fantastic views as top of the east cliff so this also makes it rather isolated unless you have a car. Although there is a frequent cheap bus service at the gate and also a free shuttle to town .

It would be ideal if you hire a car as plenty of parking and some beautiful scenary but beware the narrow mountain roads as lorries and buses take up room so not for the feint hearted driver.

The weather was perfect as early 70's ( 21 c ) pool area great for sunbathing .
Rooms very nice but no much wardrobe space for two.

Go half board as no near resturants and walking dangerous on road as no footpath.

Avoid rooms near road as can be noisy try to get side rooms as great view or second floor.

Room Tip: Go half board and get a second floor or side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

wll dont know were to start this hotel takes at least one hour to walk into funchal its more kilometres to funchal than stated we tried walking back one day all up hill gave up after one hour waited for the bus,in my opinion its a tired hotel needs a revamp the breakfast is poor no variety i would class it as a 3 star out the way place ive stayed in a lot better on the island the bars are so expensive the restaurant is so expensive the safe was broken in the room yes they got another for us but i could easily have carried it away just two screws holding it the rooms are i suppose ok but tired need a lick of paint the courtesy bus when it runs its only twice a day and always late the only thing which i found decent was the view of the bay it was probaly the best ive seen from a hotel on this island thank god the people are still helpfull on this island never again

Room Tip: over looking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We loved this hotel for its spotless and elegant accommodation and chill out areas. Perfect for a mountain top - away from it all retreat. Easy bus or taxi ride away from the town and night life. Only drawback is traffic noise on the nearby mountain road but this is more of a feature than a problem. Bonus having breakfast available till 10.30am. Enjoyed the set menu on half-board for just a week. Not a good idea for two weeks though as repeat menu and choice of only two starters, main and pud. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed for a week in early October, after getting a good deal on lastminute.com. Transfers were included and we were promptly picked up. We opted for a superior room and got the amazing view across to the bay. On arrival, the receptionist asked us what we wanted to do and sorted out a couple of tours for us. This was not hard sell and seemed a genuine concern for us to get the best out of the holiday.
This hotel is well out of the bustling hotel sector up on a hill and is perfect for just relaxing in the delightful gardens or round the swimming pool where you can try and spot how many people are reading Fifty shades of grey.
We don't eat meat and if you are on dietary restrictions, you will definitely find the restaurant's menu a little needing. However the staff were very pleasant and although not particularly cheap, we coped fine and enjoyed the food and wine. We were not on half board and to be honest, would not have wanted to order much off it.
You can hop on the local bus which runs regularly as you are not guaranteed a seat on the shuttle bus which is limited on spaces. The local bus takes a fairly direct route down town and is very cheap at 1 Euro 90. The bus driver will even tell you the end of the line! I enjoyed the local flower and fish market, just across from the end of the bus line. Some people have said they have walked down town. To be honest that would have scared me - as to have a spectacular view, you do need to be at the top of a twisty road!
I would recommend the organized minibus tours. We did one to Santana including the Quiemadas national park. That included a 13km levada walk and was great fun. The other was a trip round the West of Madeira to Porto Moniz. This included an excellent 3 course meal and plentiful wine. The guide - Paul, was fantastic, pointing out various plants and fruits and for around 40 euros including the meal it was excellent value for the whole day. Being picked up at the hotel was a real bonus. I had been dreading having to go into town first.
I am really glad we stayed at the hotel and the staff were never intrusive and were all very polite. Funchal is an interesting town, however I am glad we were able to retreat to the hills and admire it from a far.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room to face the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Address: Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9000, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#29 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.