We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week in serene surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Gardens

Save Saved
You added Ocean Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9000, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 91 hotels in Funchal
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic week in serene surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We loved this hotel for its spotless and elegant accommodation and chill out areas. Perfect for a mountain top - away from it all retreat. Easy bus or taxi ride away from the town and night life. Only drawback is traffic noise on the nearby mountain road but this is more of a feature than a problem. Bonus having breakfast available till 10.30am. Enjoyed the set menu on half-board for just a week. Not a good idea for two weeks though as repeat menu and choice of only two starters, main and pud. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    56
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
103
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed for a week in early October, after getting a good deal on lastminute.com. Transfers were included and we were promptly picked up. We opted for a superior room and got the amazing view across to the bay. On arrival, the receptionist asked us what we wanted to do and sorted out a couple of tours for us. This was not hard sell and seemed a genuine concern for us to get the best out of the holiday.
This hotel is well out of the bustling hotel sector up on a hill and is perfect for just relaxing in the delightful gardens or round the swimming pool where you can try and spot how many people are reading Fifty shades of grey.
We don't eat meat and if you are on dietary restrictions, you will definitely find the restaurant's menu a little needing. However the staff were very pleasant and although not particularly cheap, we coped fine and enjoyed the food and wine. We were not on half board and to be honest, would not have wanted to order much off it.
You can hop on the local bus which runs regularly as you are not guaranteed a seat on the shuttle bus which is limited on spaces. The local bus takes a fairly direct route down town and is very cheap at 1 Euro 90. The bus driver will even tell you the end of the line! I enjoyed the local flower and fish market, just across from the end of the bus line. Some people have said they have walked down town. To be honest that would have scared me - as to have a spectacular view, you do need to be at the top of a twisty road!
I would recommend the organized minibus tours. We did one to Santana including the Quiemadas national park. That included a 13km levada walk and was great fun. The other was a trip round the West of Madeira to Porto Moniz. This included an excellent 3 course meal and plentiful wine. The guide - Paul, was fantastic, pointing out various plants and fruits and for around 40 euros including the meal it was excellent value for the whole day. Being picked up at the hotel was a real bonus. I had been dreading having to go into town first.
I am really glad we stayed at the hotel and the staff were never intrusive and were all very polite. Funchal is an interesting town, however I am glad we were able to retreat to the hills and admire it from a far.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room to face the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

As others have said great place very helpful staff, in fact one of the nicest places I have stayed at in a while on a chill out break.There is no point in repeating what others have said ,apart from do not go half board the extra dose not justify the food choice/quality which was sad to say poor.But having said that would I go back " in a heart beat "

Room Tip: Sea view just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

As many others have said this is a good hotel. Clean rooms, fantastic views, good pool and gardens but it really is spoilt by the attached restaurant.
The half board menu looks a better option. If you eat a la carte it is, in my opinion at least, poor with average food, indifferent service and high prices.
We discovered too late how cheap taxis were back from the old town - 8 to 10 euros depending on the time.
We spent less eating at places like The Yellow Fort,Mozart and Londres in the town than we did at the hotel restaurant even taking into account the taxi back. Two of those included wine, which was frequently topped up,amuse bouche, sorbet, coffee, water and digestif and the quality of food was far superior.
Londres included some kind of broad bean taster, olives and bread without charge and felt more authentically Madeiran than most.
By all means stay at The Ocean Gardens but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in june at this lovely hotel booked a bay view room small but nice. Had the half board option the food was great with fish choice on the menu every night.Lovely pool & gardens plenty of room to sitout some times we were in the clouds with being so high. Good bus service & hotel bus to Funchal.Only downside is there is nowhere to walk much at night.Had a small problem with aircon that leaked reception staff very good got moved to a upgrade for last two nights.Breakfast could be better not 4star.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I agree with all the good things that other guests have written, It is in the hills and from the pool and gardens you can see the city centre and harbour. The bus is a number 39 and stops outside the hotel costing 1 euro 90 per trip. I went on the 2pm courtesy bus into Funchal and purchased a 7 day ticket for unlimited travel on the city buses for 21 euros at a kiosk near the cable car end of town.
The hotel is very quiet and few staff can be seen, if one wants a drink or sandwich at the poolside simply choose from a menu on a nearby table and phone 333 from the phone to order.
The reception staff are very helpful and gave us a bus timetable for the no. 39 bus.
The only thing that lets it down is the food which has been covered by other guests.
I will stay again as I loved the hotel which not very old and is all marble floored with superb public areas with comfy seating etc.

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I spent a week in the hotel. Since the hotel has no airport transfer it was very difficult to get there. The road system is not simple after leaving the motorway. It is sure that coming from the airport you have to leave the highway after seventh tunnel. Then you had better ask somebody which is the good road. Hotel was built at a hillside. From every single part of the building there is a marvellous view of Funchal, montains and ocean. The hotel is absolutely clean. Room was comfortable, tidy and very well equiped. You find Sat TV, mini bar, bidet too. And there are also two lifts in the building. Swimmingpool was on the top. Water was clean and good temperatured. Towels are free. Receptionists were friendly and helpful. Thanks for their usefull informations. Hotel has got a free bus service to Funchal. At 10:00 to there and at 17:00 back. Despite the breakfast was basic we were satisfied. It worth renting a car at least for three days to see everything in Madeira. And don't miss the ship tours to Porto Santo and Ilhas Desertas. Both were beautiful. It isn't cheap to get there but it worth. I advise you to pay for them at the hotel. It is cheaper because of the transfer. All in all if I go to Madeira again a would choose the Ocean Gardens Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal
Address: Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9000, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#37 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.