We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Greco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Greco to your Saves list
Residencial Greco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Carmo, 16, Funchal, Madeira 9050-019, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Vantaa, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed with my wife for a week in this hotel as a part of a deal, It is located in the old side of the town so it is a big plus as all the attractions and shopping is within walking distance. You can say this is a forgotten hotel as it defiantly has had it glorious days back in at least 50s or 60s. ( the hotel sign and furniture haven't been changed since then, but you get what you pay for. The reception staff specially Luisa were extremely helpful with addressing different sights and recommending what is worth seeing. breakfast was 50's style but delicious. I have no complains about it being the same every day but some had. rooms were clean but a little out dated again ( time machine feeling back to 60s!! ) over and over if you want a cheap place to stay as a base in downtown and not too fuss about room luxury, go for it. If you are the type who looks for air-conditioner remote and hair dryer in the room, forget about it and move on to the other side of the town.

Room Tip: We had 203 which is on the side with sunshine and mountain view ( no road noises) you also get a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a late deal. Arrived late evening and we were impressed with the welcome. We were given local information and a map. Our room 505 was a big room with two single beds, balcony with sea view and cable car view. Clean towels and bedding every day, breakfast was same every day, but plenty of it and fresh. Ask for tea if you want it, no problem. Location excellent. Basic, but clean. Staff were helpful. We didn`t have a problem with noise, but had a high floor room at the back of hotel.

Room Tip: Speak to hotel before you go via email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cheap hotel. We never pay for expensive hotels and would rather spend money on trips etc. Very basic hotel room With Three single beds in them. Clean towels and beds made everyday. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was ham,cheese,jam,bread,coffee,juice. You could eat as much as you wanted. Balcony With table and Chairs.

Room Tip: Try always to get a balcony. Great to sit out With drink at night and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodlands, Montserrat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is in the centre of Madeira and really convenient for both the town centre, Marina and Farmer's Market.

The staff are friendly and helpful and can book tours if you like.

The rooms are quite old fashioned, but comfortable and kept very clean.

The breakfast is fine, rolls and cheese and ham, fresh juices including passionfruit, and coffee or hot chocolate.

There is a roof area for sunbathing.

It can be a bit noisy in the morning because of people on the street.

Overall, it's excellent value, very convenient and half the price of a bed and breakfast in the UK.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of the city. It is also very close to the Airbus stop. The only minus - is the lack of parking places around, but this is a problem of the whole city. The room was clean, cosy and big, plus a large balcony with table and chairs with a montain view. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was equipped with a cable TV and air-conditioning. The choice of food for breakfast was not so impressive, but OK. And all of this for the very reasonable and even low price. The supermarket is at the hotel and there are plenty of small restaurants and caffes around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

i stayed in this hoytl march2010 on the posituve side large rooms ,clean beds towels etc,room serviced daily. staff on reception did there best and had knowledge re the island , buses etc spoke english.we were told on booking the hotel windsor of the same group near by diid an evening meal for 12.50 euros but the winsor reception staff knew noyhing of it?
taxis just outside .good central locat on near old town , restuarants ,c,ble car,bus station

negatives breakfast was poor bread processed cheese. ham stale tea coffee from urns.
there was a supermarket under the hotel more use than a nusiance with cash machine, the area opposite the hotel was where the loal homeless congregated and drank although loud between one another late at night they never bothered us once ,we never felt intimidated

i would stay here again because of location but take a travell kettle if fresh tea and coffee are required.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Residencial Greco was very basic, and a bit crumbling and old in the corners. The room was quite clean, and there was cable TV and a decent breakfast. The biggest drawback though was the noise. While it was centrally located and near the city centre, there must have been a bar nearby because people were yelling and hollering throughout the night, and it sounded as though they were standing directly outside my window. Even with my iPod blasting I still couldn't drown it out enough to rest, which made for a rather lousy night.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#69 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gorgulho
Hotel Gorgulho
#84 of 88 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 88 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
0.0 mi away
Do Centro Hotel
Do Centro Hotel
#79 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#59 of 88 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Greco

Address: Rua do Carmo, 16, Funchal, Madeira 9050-019, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Greco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residencial Greco, ideally situated in one of the main streets of Funchal, offers their guests a warm and suitable environment for family vacation, friends or even for work. Its excellent location and quality of their services, allow comfortable and economical stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residencial Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Greco Hotel Funchal
Residencial Greco Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Greco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.