We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with breathtaking views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estalagem Eira do Serrado

Save Saved
You added Estalagem Eira do Serrado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estalagem Eira do Serrado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eira Do Serrado | Curral Das Freiras, Funchal, Madeira 9000-421, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 91 hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with breathtaking views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights in July 2013 in this beautiful hotel with breathtaking views. Rooms are very clean and the staff very friendly. The restaurant offers the best garlic bread in Madeira but meals & drinks should be slightly cheaper. The hotel is very quiet & relaxing. I will definitely come back for those amazing views.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schweiz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Since it was off-season the hotel was nearly empty and the price unbeatable. The rooms are spatious and very clean. The surrounding is breathtaking, the view from the big balcony just amazing. The winter-garden (part of our room) is a luxury. The staff ist very friendly and obliging. The food in the restaurant of top-quality. So why not 5 Stars?
The promised Whirlpool was not in service since not yet built (so they told us...) and the isolated location (which is adorable) makes it nescessary that you need a car if you want to move freely (allthough they have a pick-up service as I'm informed).

Room Tip: Take the mountain-view rooms, allthough I don't think there's any others! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have stayed here about 5 years ago and there has been some beneficial remodelling of the bedrooms and restaurant. I don't really understand some of the negative comments re the location of this place as it must be obvious that it is totally isolated above Curral do Freiras since the new tunnel has been built and a car is almost a "must". I would say however that probably a 2-3 day stay would be a good idea as most walks originate in the vally below and it does take a little time to get to/from either Curral/Funchal or wherever at the start/end of each day. Furthermore it shouldn't be a surprise that most Madeiran roads built prior to the last 15 years are of the steeply inclined, bendy and narrow variety - as dictated by the geography. The route to/from this hotel is no exception and is part of the experience !
The view from the adjacent miradour over the "Nun's Valley" is truly spectacular, as is the view from the restaurant (much of the old open air terrace is now behind glass).
This is a regular stopping point for tourist buses so the attached shop/cafe can get busy during "peak times", but early morning and evening is much quieter. However the location is such that the venue is popular for wedding receptions so we'd recommend avoiding a weekend stay.
Regarding the view it should be emphasised that this hotel is in the mountains and as is typical of Madeira, clouds can be attracted to the high peaks from mid afternoon. Whilst this can sometimes obscure the valley view it can oftain provide a wonderful view of Curral being covered in cloud whilst the hotel and surrounding peaks are in glorious sunshine.
All staff helpful and restaurant pretty good. A frequent niggle of mine is that whilst free wifi internet was accessible in reception and restaurant this didn't extend to the bedroom.
Overall to be recommended for a 2-3 day stay and we will return.

Room Tip: Bedroom views on lower floors can be impeded by nearby trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were staying in Funchal for 3 weeks and booked a weekend at this hotel and it was a super addition to our holiday. We arrrived early - no problem, a phrase the staff use a lot and sincerely. Our room was great, the view magical by day and night; it was kept sparklingly clean. The staff could not have been more helpful and were fun. The restaurant which we used both evenings of our stay was top notch, the rabbit (order 24hours in advance) was the best meal we had in Madeira, other dishes were excellent and the wine good and not expensive. Breakfasts were extremely good, the fruit cocktail yummy. We are walkers and found enough to do during the day but if walking is not your thing or you are planning a longer stay a hire car is essential.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Staff were very friendly and healpfull, the room was very clean and confortable, and de view from our window was great!
I do recomend!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Overall we were very disappointed with this holiday. Hotel too remote, up long mountain road with hair-pin bends and often rocks on road. Not a lover of sheer drops, I hated this journey and by the end of the week my nerves were jangling. Once back at the hotel there was nothing to do and nowhere to go in the evening. Also a lot cooler than down in Funchal. HB basis and the food was poor; just two choices for starter and main at evening meal and as a non-meat eater I was sick of espanda (black scabbard fish) by the end of the week. Puds were poor too. The vegs were overcooked and my husband was serverd undercooked chicken and rancid steak. Most nights we were on our own in the restaurant and it was quite chilly. On the plus side, the staff were lovely. We hoped to walk levadas in Nun's valley but rep advised against this as they are quite treacherous and yet the proximity to levadas is one of the main attractions given for this hotel. Two nights maximum would be enough at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We arrived the Monday after the worst of the fires on Madeira, hotel had just reopened but were welcomed warmly. All the staff are exceptionally friendly, food was good but a little basic if you are on the half board menu (drinks not included but not to expensive). Hire car is a must here. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estalagem Eira do Serrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Eira do Serrado

Address: Eira Do Serrado | Curral Das Freiras, Funchal, Madeira 9000-421, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#38 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem Eira do Serrado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Estalagem Eira do Serrado e um moderno e confortavel hotel do campo de 4 estrelas. Rodeada por uma paisagem impressionante, a Estalagem Eira do Serrado vai impressiona-lo com a beleza das suas fascinantes montanhas e vistas impetuosas que se estendem aos exuberantes vales em baixo. A natureza esta presente a partir de todos os quartos e zonas publicas do hotel. E o local perfeito para umas ferias, calmas, romanticas e inesqueciveis na Madeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Estalagem Eira do Serrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Eira Do Serrado Hotel Funchal
Estalagem Eira Do Serrado Funchal
Estalagem Eira Do Serrado Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estalagem Eira do Serrado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.