We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estalagem Eira do Serrado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Estalagem Eira do Serrado to your Saves list
Estalagem Eira do Serrado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eira Do Serrado | Curral Das Freiras, Funchal, Madeira 9000-421, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“No problem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were staying in Funchal for 3 weeks and booked a weekend at this hotel and it was a super addition to our holiday. We arrrived early - no problem, a phrase the staff use a lot and sincerely. Our room was great, the view magical by day and night; it was kept sparklingly clean. The staff could not have been more helpful and were fun. The restaurant which we used both evenings of our stay was top notch, the rabbit (order 24hours in advance) was the best meal we had in Madeira, other dishes were excellent and the wine good and not expensive. Breakfasts were extremely good, the fruit cocktail yummy. We are walkers and found enough to do during the day but if walking is not your thing or you are planning a longer stay a hire car is essential.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Staff were very friendly and healpfull, the room was very clean and confortable, and de view from our window was great!
I do recomend!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Overall we were very disappointed with this holiday. Hotel too remote, up long mountain road with hair-pin bends and often rocks on road. Not a lover of sheer drops, I hated this journey and by the end of the week my nerves were jangling. Once back at the hotel there was nothing to do and nowhere to go in the evening. Also a lot cooler than down in Funchal. HB basis and the food was poor; just two choices for starter and main at evening meal and as a non-meat eater I was sick of espanda (black scabbard fish) by the end of the week. Puds were poor too. The vegs were overcooked and my husband was serverd undercooked chicken and rancid steak. Most nights we were on our own in the restaurant and it was quite chilly. On the plus side, the staff were lovely. We hoped to walk levadas in Nun's valley but rep advised against this as they are quite treacherous and yet the proximity to levadas is one of the main attractions given for this hotel. Two nights maximum would be enough at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We arrived the Monday after the worst of the fires on Madeira, hotel had just reopened but were welcomed warmly. All the staff are exceptionally friendly, food was good but a little basic if you are on the half board menu (drinks not included but not to expensive). Hire car is a must here. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

LOCATION: The main drawback of this hotel is the location. It is NOT within walking distance of anywhere and the local bus service is awful. The hotel is situated in the hills and accessed via a steep winding road traversed by regular coach trips. You will need to book a car. The hotel has an excellent souvenir shop attached to it - best prices in Maderia for a Morrocan cow-boy hat :)

FOOD: Restaurant was expensive, and the food ok. Better was the snack menu - eat outside on the veranda. Beware, at weekends it seems to be a popular wedding venue and the main restaurant is NOT accessible when a wedding is on, although you can order food.

ROOMS: Adequate with air con (working and not extra). Huge balcony. Clean sheets and towels. Very quiet at night.

HOTEL GROUNDS: Nicely presented. NO SWIMMING POOL ONLY A JAQUZZI. Excellent views, near to a local and very impressive scenic beauty spot. Massive balconies.

OVERALL: Decent enough for the money, and I would go back to this hotel again but probably not back to Maderia.

RESORT: I found the island a little boring and expensive. Best restaurants are in Funchal - but they are pricey as you are sharing the island with the Cruise ship crowd. 10 days in Maderia was LONG.

DO: Whale watching and visit the Blandy's Sherry factory. Go walking - be warned the walks are HARD unless you just want to stroll the promenade. There is also an island located nearby that is inhabited only by Tarantulas (there are no Tarantulas on the main island). Do expect fantastic views and challenging hiking type walks. There are also some great and historic little towns on Maderia built by the Portugese.

DONT: Go into ANY gift shops - the sales people are VERY pushy. Don't expect large sandy beeches - there aren't any.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights towards the end of March 2010. After the recent damage to the Island we were hesitant about going, but were encouraged by the local reports and blogs from the Islanders. We both enjoy walking and as this was our first trip to Madeira we wanted to stay somewhere outside of the many Tourist Hotels in and around Funchal, hence the reason for choosing this Hotel. Our first impressions were how steep the terrrain on the Island was, the Hotel is perched on a large flatish ledge that overlooks the Curral Valley, approx 800m above it , so the views down to the valley floor and the surrounding mountains are breathtaking. There are only 25 bedrooms in the hotel, which are split over 2 floors below the main reception floor, all the bedrooms are at the back of the hotel which overlooks Curral Das Freiras, they all have balconies of some sort, so the views from your room are wonderful. The front of the Hotel is geared up to receiving the hoards of day trippers off the Cruise Ships, which come up the narrow roads throughout the day to take in the views. Adacent to the Hotel is a bar and large shop selling local hadicrafts. The Day Trippers make the place seem busy, but they don't interfere with the general operation of the Hotel. From outside the Hotel entrance there are steps up 50m or so to a viewing platform, which seems to hang over a precipice! The Public areas in the hotel are quite spacious, with lots of comfy chairs to relax in, and a Pool Table on the lowest floor. However, we found that during the evening the lights here were never switched on (there is a switch in the fuse box on the wall), and there was no heating, and as it was late March it was still rather chilly in the evenings at this altitude. As for the other Hotel's amemrties, the Sauna was never working, and the water temperature of the Jacuzzi was only 32deg, so not really hot enough to relax in. The Restaurant is very good, meals were well presented and not overpriced, though the menu didn't vary from day to day, so if you were staying for a couple of weeks you would soon work your way through it. There is nowhere else to eat in the locality. Breakfasts were good, with fresh fruit, eggs, bacon etc, plus the usual bread/rolls/jam./cheeses, can't really be faulted.
For walkers like oursleves, a lot of the Tourist Guides do not recommend that you hire a car, as most of the walks are linear so you generally dont end up where you started. The alternative is to use the local buses on the Island, which are frequent and cheap. The Bus service that servers the Hotel area is #81, which goes form Funchal to Curral Das Freiras, a few of the buses (3 per day each way) divert to call at the hotel, otherwise it is a 3km walk down to the main road below to the bus stop. However, the buses from here are frequent and run into the late evening, which is not the case in other areas of the Island. The trip down the hairpin bends down to Funchal can be hair-raising, It generally varies from exciting, to reckless, or suicidal, depending on the driver. The late evening buses are probably the scariest, as there is little other traffic on the roads, so the drivers just assume they have the whole road to themselves and go for it!
There is a decent track down from the Hotel to Curral Das Freiras, which takes around 75 minutes, a bit longer back up. The local Levada walks in and around Curral are all closed due to the recent damage, so we ended up catching an early bus into Funchal every day after breakfast, and then another bus to our Levada starting point, this required some degree of planning the night before, as you have to co-ordinate the start and end points of your walk with the bus services. Overall it was an enjoyable holiday, the views from the hotel are fabulous, but be prepared for lots of waking if you dont have a car.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Great location for two nights. No lounge bar in the evenings or anything else to do.You have to hire a car to get back to Funchal down the hairey scarey road. Take a corkscrew to have a glass of wine on your balcony. Take warm clothes for the evenings. No faults with the hotel but after two days youve done it all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estalagem Eira do Serrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Eira do Serrado

Address: Eira Do Serrado | Curral Das Freiras, Funchal, Madeira 9000-421, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#33 Family Hotel in Funchal
#37 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem Eira do Serrado 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Estalagem Eira do Serrado e um moderno e confortavel hotel do campo de 4 estrelas. Rodeada por uma paisagem impressionante, a Estalagem Eira do Serrado vai impressiona-lo com a beleza das suas fascinantes montanhas e vistas impetuosas que se estendem aos exuberantes vales em baixo. A natureza esta presente a partir de todos os quartos e zonas publicas do hotel. E o local perfeito para umas ferias, calmas, romanticas e inesqueciveis na Madeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Estalagem Eira do Serrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Eira Do Serrado Hotel Funchal
Estalagem Eira Do Serrado Funchal
Estalagem Eira Do Serrado Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estalagem Eira do Serrado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.