We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wicker Toboggan Sled Ride

Wicker Toboggan Sled Ride
Monte Palace / Church, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 78 Activities in Funchal
Attraction details
Leicestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is an absolute MUST do whilst in Funchal, it was exhilarating & I would have happily gone back & done it again. We really dropped on in Funchal as we had the good fortune to be driven around for over four and a half hours by a lovely taxi driver named Jose Nelson Marques Da Silva who only charged us 70 euros and took us all over. He was very informative about the island having been born there & he spoke excellent english as he had spent many years in England, he stopped at many places so that I could take photos, he waited for us whilst we went into churches, botanical gardens, the markets etc, he even took photos with my camera of us at the wicker baset ride so that we didn't have to buy the one that they take, (although I did just to prove to family & friends that I had done it!!).We went to a cliff top where we stood on a glass platform 580 metres above sea level which terrified me but the views were fabulous. He made our trip to Funchal really special and I would look out for him if we ever go back to Madeira.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    87
    48
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Must but be prepared to be ripped off with Taxis at the end”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We enjoyed our toboggan sled ride, it is a fun experience. We were lucky and only had to queue for about 15 minutes. It had rained heavily the night before and there were plastic sheets over the seats as the fabric cushions were sopping. Our photo was taken as we got going and a souvenir photo frame and CD was available for E10 when we got off the sled after our 15 minute ride.
You get off halfway down the hill which is a pain. There are many taxis waiting here and we were approached quickly and offered a taxi for E25, we bartered this down to E15, but only after walking away and the taxi driver ran after us. To be honest, the route was much longer than I thought it would be and the E15 was a fair price I suppose.
Overall, it was expensive for the whole experience but we had been unable to do this on our last visit to Funchal and had regretted not doing it earlier. We would recommend doing it once.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull,England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific Toboggan Ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I agree wholeheartedly with everything the previous two reviewers have said about this experience, having done it myself yesterday. It was just a fantastic ride and a one-off that you would not be able to do anywhere else. We tipped the toboggan drivers, as we felt they deserved it and we bought the photo too. It will remind me that I grinned like a Cheshire Cat all the whole way down and would have gone back up and done it all again if I could have! We walked back down the hill into town in about 25 minutes and it was very pleasant (although my calves know about it today). If you are thinking about doing it, I would say stop thinking and just do it - it really is great fun!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a great thrill, but walk down afterwards!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

exhilarating, but only takes you 1/3 of the way back down. Very pleased we said no thanks to the taxi's and walked back down the hill into Funchal. It is steep, but no problem in flat shoes and well worth doing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
“A-a-a-a-a-a-ahhhhhh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

What a thrill, I screamed almost all of the way down the hill & it was absolutely fantastic! We paid 15 euro each for this 7 & a half minute trip, but I didn't mind as it was on my list of stuff to do in Madeira. Although the lads cheekily asked for a tip at the end, & I gave them one as there was some dragging involved & between us we ain't no lightweight. We walked the rest of the way down the oh so steep hill, although you can get a taxi or the bus down. I wouldn't have missed the ride for anything, I just wished it had gone on longer & the hills were steeper.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicker Toboggan Sled Ride also viewed

 

Been to Wicker Toboggan Sled Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicker Toboggan Sled Ride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.