We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convent vist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Clara Monastery

Santa Clara Monastery
Funchal, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 49 Attractions in Funchal
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convent vist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A real gem hidden up the back streets and very reasonably priced considering it included a guided tour of some private parts of the Convent

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    16
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A glimpse of the closed life in Funchal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Thought this could be fitted in just before evening meal and after the hill climb managed to join the final tour group at 4.30pm Saturday. Located under the tiled cupola with wooden entrance doors. ( Knock twice and ask for....?. ) For 2 Euros the English-speaking guide whisked you around the convent ( quickly I thought, but you could slow her down with a question or two about the present inmates etc. ) The interior is sadly in need of some TLC in parts ( what do those nuns do all day ? ) The C17th azulejos tiles were worth the trip - magnificent, compared to those at the downtown Hotel Ritz. Best to read up on some aspects of the convent's history first esp. the touching story of Sister Maria Clementina which you could readily imagine in this secluded context.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A steep climb - but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We visited what we knew as the Santa Clara Convent. After the very steep climb from the town of Funchal you reach the Convent. As advised before, you have to ring the bell and the door magically unlocks for you. You are immediately met by friendly, charming ladies who give you your tickets (still only two euros each) and having discovered what language you are happiest with a guide joins you. We were taken round this fascinating, very old convent and church by a very pleasant elderly lady who spoke English perfectly. She 'glided' around the many parts of the buildings giving us information on all aspects of its history, occupants etc. We found everywhere so beautiful and well kept. There are many paintings in excellent condition and the tiled walls and floors are beautiful. Parts still need renovating but I guess it will take a long time for the 2 Euros to mount up! A private kindergarten is now run in part of the property but apart from seeing a small playground and children's paintings in one area there was no sign of children - just a very peaceful atmosphere. Well worth the climb.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Santa Clara Monastery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Perhaps not for everyone but if you like old beautifully decorated churches, this is for you. Our tour lasted about 3/4 hour and we were taken around various rooms, many in their original state as there is not much money for maintenance.. Our guide spoke both English and French and was able to answer straight forward questions. At 2 Euros, it was a pleasant visit. I found it difficult to locate but once you know where it is, it is obvious!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Littel Gem Hidden up a Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A little historical treasure run by nuns who run the entry desk and show you around. You have to ring the bell on the main gate and you will be let in

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Clara Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Santa Clara Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Clara Monastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.