We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and functional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria to your Saves list
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Pimenta Aguiar, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9000-026, Portugal   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean and functional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Sao Paulo and enjoyed it.

Incorrect distances:
The home page of "Arpartementos Sao Paulo e Alegria" falsely states that the two hotels are located 30 m apart. If Googlemaps is given the addresses: Sao Paulo, Rua Pimenta Aguiar 2, and Alegria, Rua da Alegria 1, the result given for auto is 700 m (which is probably nearly correct), however the result given for walking from Sao Paulo to Alegria is 140 m, which is false too, because Googlemaps points at a false address, namely Rua Pimenta Aguiar 6. Somewhere on the internet you may even find the distance from Sao Paulo to Alegria as 120 m. All false.

Correct facts:
The walking distance from Sao Paulo to Alegria is 100 m from door to door.
A bird might fly 45-50 m from Sao Paulo to Alegria.
The first part of Rua da Alegria (from Rua da Carreira to Rua Major Reis Gomes) is 32 m alongside a tall garden wall to the SE.
The walking distance from Sao Paulo downhill to the supermarket "Pingo Doce" in the bottom of the underground 3-storey shopping center "Dolce Vita" is 250 m. From Alegria you walk downhill 190 m.
By the way: "Alegria" meaning "joy" does not indicate a whorehouse, but means joy in a biblical sense.

Each of the two hotels are corner buildings.
The free corner of Sao Paulo (Rua Pimenta Aguiar 2/Rua da Carreira) points to SW.
The free corner of Alegria (Rua da Alegria/Rua Major Reis Gomes) points to NNW.

Sao Paulo boasts of a roof terrace. The problem with elevated viewpoints is, that you are looking down into people's back yards and at the back side of houses.
Most of the streets in mid-town Funchal are quite narrow, so don't expect other views from your windows than the wall and windows of the house opposite.

Well, with these facts in place, Sao Paulo is a nice, clean and well-maintained hotel, built in the early 1940'ies, and renovated with white thermos windows opening inwards, and green plastic venetian blinds opening outwards.
Having been repeatedly varnished over the years, the parquet floors of the hotels have obtained a delightful Japanese lacquer finish.

Sao Paulo and Alegria are indeed mid-town hotels, located in narrow one-way streets, where the traffic would hardly be able to pass a parked car. The sidewalks are narrow too, 0,5 m in many places. On the other hand, one-way streets have less traffic noise.
The traffic (from left to right, as seen from Sao Paulo) in Rua da Carreira, does not bother Sao Paulo very much, since the majority of cars (many taxies) turn down Rua da Alegria to the boulevard Rua Dr. Brito Câmara, or down Rua Major Reis Gomes, alongside Dolce Vita, where taxies are waiting in queue for customers.

Our room was comparatively big. At the end of the bed we had 2 m space, and in the kitchen area there was ample space for a small dining table.
The furniture is not elegant, but sturdy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    48
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
35
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nice, little hotel. Cleaning every day. Good location nearby Dolce Vita -shopping center.
Rooms seems to be renovated, flat LCD-television with cable and 40 channels.
Only things I would do, is adding a dish washing machine. Then it's perfect.

Would use same hotel again :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just came back from a business trip and am already planing to go back with my family in the Summer. I was not sure what to expect as I travel a lot and have come to expect the worse but this place was really impressive especially given the price. The big things such as cleanliness and location are all there but I was mostly impressed with the little details such as fresh towels every day, different theme in every room and the willingness of the staff to help out. I do not speak Portuguese but they are multilingual and seemed to enjoy what they were doing as opposed to the drab and miserable people I have encountered in other locations.
There was also a fine selection of breakfasts available and I made sure to try something different every morning.
I will go back with my family as the place also seemed child friendly as was stated by another guest whom I got chatting to one morning.
The only downside I had was that I was too busy with work to explore the natural beauty of the island but hopefully I can remedy that next Summer.

Room Tip: Just ask the manager to view what they have available as each room is very different and carries a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in November.. It is in a ideal location and is in within 10 mins walking distance to the harbour and the main shopping area. A very clean hotel and everyone is so helpful in every way. The room was cleaned every day with clean towels always. Cannot write anything negative about this hotel. The only thing I would advise is that I would not recommend this if you have young children, but is ideal for couples who want a base to work from. It hosts a very nice private little balcony where you can go and sit overlooking some beautiful views of Funchal. Would return there with no hesitation whatsover. Hope this is helpful to anyone who is trying to make a decision.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

W£e need somewhere for a one-night stopover. We checked in at about 11am rather to the surprise of the lady doing the cleaning. I had sent an email and was under the impression from Booking.com that check in was 10 am onwards. Anyway, this was not a problem, we were asked to put our cases in our room while it was cleaned and to take a stroll for an hour or so. We went to the nearby Dolce Vita shopping centre -so convenient. You get an annexe with kitchenette, comfortable beds and a sizeable room. For the money, excellent value. Only downsides are it is a bit noisy from traffic, and thge shower could have been cleaner. Not enough negatives to stop us using it next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at the apartments in September and they were perfect for what I wanted - somewhere clean, comfortable and safe. I was in the second set of apartments, not the main ones.

The apartment exceeded my expectations in some ways - the towels were changed every day, there was a separate kitchen, a dinky balcony (plus a sun terrace if I wanted to lay in the sun) and satellite TV.

As a solo traveller I also appreciate feeling secure, and I did in this apartment, I had a fantastic time here and I will definitely return.

The location is good with a supermarket almost a stone's throw away and the town about 10 minutes walk, depending where you want to go.

The apartment owner was extremely welcoming and helpful. What more could you want???

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

It’s in the Centre of the city, so traffic noise exists but it’s not overwhelming. Old town is within walking distance. A shopping centre is 5 minutes away with a Pingo Doce supermarket.
We had rooms on the top floor (numbers 19 and 20), so we had a magnificent advantage: the roof terrace with great views of Funchal, the terrace has tables and chairs so you can eat outside. These apartments have 2 rooms, 4 individual beds and the possibility for 2 extra beds; 2 bathrooms with shower and hairdryer. Furniture is a little bit outdated but in good condition. Change of towels is done every day. A small kitchen with fridge, microwave and the essential kitchenware is also available. Cable TV is available on both rooms. Good breakfast included, with various breads, cheese, ham, cereals, fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and tea, etc. Free WiFi is available and also free Internet corner at the lobby. No AC available.
If you plan to go walking on “levadas”, like we were, the manager is very helpful, he knows the trails because he himself does it .The staff is very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria

Address: Rua Pimenta Aguiar, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9000-026, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sao Paulo e Alegria Hotel Funchal
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.