We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartementos Sao Paulo e Alegria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apartementos Sao Paulo e Alegria to your Saves list
Apartementos Sao Paulo e Alegria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Pimenta Aguiar, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9000-023, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice, little hotel. Cleaning every day. Good location nearby Dolce Vita -shopping center.
Rooms seems to be renovated, flat LCD-television with cable and 40 channels.
Only things I would do, is adding a dish washing machine. Then it's perfect.

Would use same hotel again :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
30
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just came back from a business trip and am already planing to go back with my family in the Summer. I was not sure what to expect as I travel a lot and have come to expect the worse but this place was really impressive especially given the price. The big things such as cleanliness and location are all there but I was mostly impressed with the little details such as fresh towels every day, different theme in every room and the willingness of the staff to help out. I do not speak Portuguese but they are multilingual and seemed to enjoy what they were doing as opposed to the drab and miserable people I have encountered in other locations.
There was also a fine selection of breakfasts available and I made sure to try something different every morning.
I will go back with my family as the place also seemed child friendly as was stated by another guest whom I got chatting to one morning.
The only downside I had was that I was too busy with work to explore the natural beauty of the island but hopefully I can remedy that next Summer.

Room Tip: Just ask the manager to view what they have available as each room is very different and carries a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in November.. It is in a ideal location and is in within 10 mins walking distance to the harbour and the main shopping area. A very clean hotel and everyone is so helpful in every way. The room was cleaned every day with clean towels always. Cannot write anything negative about this hotel. The only thing I would advise is that I would not recommend this if you have young children, but is ideal for couples who want a base to work from. It hosts a very nice private little balcony where you can go and sit overlooking some beautiful views of Funchal. Would return there with no hesitation whatsover. Hope this is helpful to anyone who is trying to make a decision.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

W£e need somewhere for a one-night stopover. We checked in at about 11am rather to the surprise of the lady doing the cleaning. I had sent an email and was under the impression from Booking.com that check in was 10 am onwards. Anyway, this was not a problem, we were asked to put our cases in our room while it was cleaned and to take a stroll for an hour or so. We went to the nearby Dolce Vita shopping centre -so convenient. You get an annexe with kitchenette, comfortable beds and a sizeable room. For the money, excellent value. Only downsides are it is a bit noisy from traffic, and thge shower could have been cleaner. Not enough negatives to stop us using it next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at the apartments in September and they were perfect for what I wanted - somewhere clean, comfortable and safe. I was in the second set of apartments, not the main ones.

The apartment exceeded my expectations in some ways - the towels were changed every day, there was a separate kitchen, a dinky balcony (plus a sun terrace if I wanted to lay in the sun) and satellite TV.

As a solo traveller I also appreciate feeling secure, and I did in this apartment, I had a fantastic time here and I will definitely return.

The location is good with a supermarket almost a stone's throw away and the town about 10 minutes walk, depending where you want to go.

The apartment owner was extremely welcoming and helpful. What more could you want???

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

It’s in the Centre of the city, so traffic noise exists but it’s not overwhelming. Old town is within walking distance. A shopping centre is 5 minutes away with a Pingo Doce supermarket.
We had rooms on the top floor (numbers 19 and 20), so we had a magnificent advantage: the roof terrace with great views of Funchal, the terrace has tables and chairs so you can eat outside. These apartments have 2 rooms, 4 individual beds and the possibility for 2 extra beds; 2 bathrooms with shower and hairdryer. Furniture is a little bit outdated but in good condition. Change of towels is done every day. A small kitchen with fridge, microwave and the essential kitchenware is also available. Cable TV is available on both rooms. Good breakfast included, with various breads, cheese, ham, cereals, fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and tea, etc. Free WiFi is available and also free Internet corner at the lobby. No AC available.
If you plan to go walking on “levadas”, like we were, the manager is very helpful, he knows the trails because he himself does it .The staff is very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 20 days over the Christmas/New Years period. Great location, clean and very friendly staff. They will provide advice on which sights to see, arrange car rentals, etc. It is a 5 minute walk to a shopping centre with a large super market. Food prices are good, and with the apartment's stove, microwave, fridge and dishes; you can eat well on a modest budget. Complementary wireless internet is provided in all rooms -- fast and reliable.

Breakfast is included, and it was good with various breads, cheese, cereal, fruit, coffee and tea, etc.

If you rent a car (we did) inexpensive parking is provided across the street. Madeira is not small, so if you are comfortable driving a standard shift, as all rentals are here, that is the best way to get around. If not, one of the main bus terminals is 5 minutes away and will take you to most of the major attractions on the island.

You can pay more and stay at a luxury hotel, but if you want the flexibility of doing most of your own cooking and enjoying the central part of traditional Funchal, you will be hard pressed to beat this place.

We really enjoyed our stay at Apartamentos Turisticos Sao Paulo e Alegria, and we highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartementos Sao Paulo e Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartementos Sao Paulo e Alegria

Address: Rua Pimenta Aguiar, 2, Funchal, Madeira 9000-023, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartementos Sao Paulo e Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Apartementos Sao Paulo e Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sao Paulo e Alegria Hotel Funchal
Apartementos Sao Paulo e Alegria Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartementos Sao Paulo e Alegria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.