We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Savoy Gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Gardens to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Gardens
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Thank you Savoy Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Really enjoyed our weeks stay, 28th Feb - 7th March. Hotel was spotless and the staff could not be faulted. We had a sea view room with a large double bed, sofa and 2 armchairs. Tea and coffee making facilities but only supplies for the first night so take your own tea and coffee. Bath with shower over which was quite small, the shower curtain keep wrapping itself around your body, would be better perhaps with a shower screen. Balcony was rather small but had 2 chairs and a table, it got the sun all day, when it was shining! Boy, can it rain in Madeira, that is why it's so green. The food was varied and a good choice but drinks are rather expensive. Behind the hotel is a small garden which is lovely. The internet was free all the time we were there. TV lounge in the basement showing Sky Sports. The outside pool was heated and was enjoyable. Didn't partake of the evening entertainment (not our scene) but sat and chatted. Thank you to everyone we met, a lovely mix of people.There is a bus stop outside the hotel which will take you as far as the cable car station, just be patient, the bus will come. We would normally walk into Funchal and get a taxi back, which ranged in price from €3 to €7 for the same journey?

Booked our trips with Madeira Happy Tours, very good value and excellent guides, we did the West tour, Nun's Valley and booked the catamaran to see the dolphins, just wish the weather had been a little better, it was cold on that boat. Visit the White House pub for extremely good value and lovely food, don't forget to see Joe for good prices. Directions:- turn right out of hotel, cross road and go down jitty to main road, turn right, White Horse is on the right, at the fork go left, Joe's is on the right, carry on down to the Lido, turn right and in the small shopping centre you will find Happy Tours, don't go too early in the morning, they open a bit later.

Loved Madeira, even so early in the year, there were still quite a lot of flowers to see.
Would we return to the Savoy Gardens, yes but later when all the flowers are out.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    338
    95
    20
    5
See reviews for
20
843
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I really liked this hotel as it is clean , very friendly and all the team at the hotel try really hard to make sure you have a good time. Our room was a junior suite and was a good size. It had two balconys( one sea view and the other mountain view, it was a corner room), bedroom and small sitting room. Two flat screen tv's no less, quess this room could be used for a family of four.
The rooms and indead the whole of the hotel is very clean. The roof top terrace is lovely , the views wonderful.
The food in hotel was fine, they have a special night every week and that was excellent. Most nights we enjoyed it but found it a little bland some of the time.
Now onto Thompsons staff and I have to say Jan and Paula really excell thenselfs, they cannot do enough for you, I have been treated well in the past but they really do go the extra mile(well done to you both).Go on the trip to Nuns Valley as the scenery is lovely, we also went on the East trip and West trip of the Island which were good , you got 3 course meal with wine and coffee. We did all three but found it a little to much for one week as the East and west trips were full days, still they were enjoyable.
The entertainment team also try real hard, I enjoyed myself on the few occasions that I went as did many other poeple, not my thing though for every night. The only down side to this hotel is the location, great when your going into town , dut a real killer going home. We walked every where and stopped for a drink on the way back, proberly should have taken the bus. However we are in our early fiftys and fit, there were many older quests and they seemed to manage. Maderia is a lovely Island, we went in Feb and got a week of good weather, only one day of light rain. I would like to visit in Spring and summer because when all the flowers come out it must be lovely. Hope this helps, also you get free water in your room which will be good in the summer months

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

This hotel is clean but the beds very uncomfortable.It advertises itself as four Star hotel but is clearly not. It has recently achieved Thompson 'Gold' standard, (whatever that means) but lacks the basic amenities you would expect in a Travel Inn such as an iron and tea and coffee facilities, charging an extra 8 Euros for a top up for tea and coffee after after day one. Internet access was offered at 34 Euros for the 11 night stay, although we escaped that as there was no access for the whole of our stay (although there was a 'team' working on it!!, nothing to do with the hotel it was the Cable Company we were told.), so we used the many FREE access points around the island. Parking your hire car at the hotel is a lottery as the allocated spaces are also used by the staff who frequently block you in. Tours offered by Thomson are overpriced and local operators charge less than half for similar routes. In my opinion this is an overpriced hotel that fails to deliver 4 star quality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Desperate for winter warmth and sunshine, we felt that we could cope with the food and location criticisms mentioned by some reviewers. However the food turned out to be very good – well cooked with an excellent variety of interesting salads and frequently offering a Portuguese/Madeiran dish. Breakfast choice was excellent. The location has advantages as well as disadvantages mentioned in reviews. Hotel rooms have good views and the area is quieter. There is a testing uphill walk back to the hotel (but you can reduce this to 30 metres if you use the bus that stops outside the hotel). It is a hilly island! The hotel is relatively small, clean and modern (ignore the poor review comments – these are well out of date). Sea view rooms are south facing so balconies get early and late sun. Restaurant wine and bar drinks prices were similar to UK prices. Finally, staff, reps and guests were invariably friendly, considerate and polite. One of the advantages of a more mature clientele perhaps?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We have just arrived home from this fantastic hotel.The staff are very friendly ,The food was fantastic with plenty of choice and a different theme each night.The breakfast was very good too.The hotel is very clean and quiet,
Paula and jan the thompson reps were great they were friendly and always willing to help.we went on a few trips which we enjoyed and found them very good value for money.
My only criticism was the location which we found a little out of funchal,but having said that the walk into funchal is down hill and a taxi ride back was about 5 euros or there is a local bus stop outside the hotel.
we didnt go out at night as the hotel entertainment was great.
we will definately be going back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a 7 day break at the Savoy Gardens Hotel which we very much enjoyed. The Hotel, a Thomson Gold Hotel, was excellent and worthy of it's 4 star rating however the location is not 4 star as it is situated up quite a hill which is no problem when going down, to either Funchal town centre or the Lido, but the walk back is quite a strain and you would be well advised to get a taxi (one of the few things that are cheap in Madiera). Enterntainment team at the Hotel are excellent however all drinks are expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Savoy Gardens where we had a sea view room, which was beautifully clean and well maintained throughout our stay. The hotel is in a good position, just 15 minutes walk to Funchal and about 10 from the Lido, but it is at the top of a steep hill which may be a problem for some. There is however a bus stop just outside the hotel for those who need it.

Both breakfast and dinner are buffet style, with a wide selection of foods which were generally pretty bland and at best tepid in temperature. At breakfast there was an omelette station where chef cooked to order, and they were excellent. Although the dinner theme changed every night, it did leave a bit to be desired and we just wished that we were on bed and breakfast rather than half board.

The grounds of the hotel are very lush and well cared for with a lovely pool area where the entertainment staff do quizzes and the like during the day if that is your thing. The evening entertainment in the club was not to our taste, but others seemed to enjoy it – there was dancing and cabaret with games requiring guest participation – a bit hi de hi really, but each to there own.

All in all we had a good holiday on a lovely island although we will probably look for alternative accommodation on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Hotel Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.