We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professionally run, very clean hotel in a quiet (rather steep!) location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Gardens to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Gardens
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Governorate of Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Professionally run, very clean hotel in a quiet (rather steep!) location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Thanks to everyone for all your reviews. Savoy Gardens Hotel is a really nice hotel. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Free safe, small fridge, kettle and decent-sized cups were useful in the room. Housekeeping service was unobtrusive and efficient. The buffet selection was varied and plates and food were always hot. The food on the 'Gala' night was also very good.
Our only small gripe was the 5 Euro per hour charge for wifi (which is free in the Dolce Vita Shopping Centre and many other places on the island).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    298
    87
    17
    5
See reviews for
17
730
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west country
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

hotel and staff good. reps and entertainment good . steep access not suitable for the less able

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Great hotel, great staff, great food, great weather, very clean and fantastic entertainment!!
What more can be said really? Well we booked last minutes with Thompson and their Reps were great on site and very helpful. The hotel is so friendly and we loved our week and only came back 12th November 2010. The highlight if there had to be one was Jonny and his entertainment team who where the best we have seen especially D&A (singers) who were first class. You wont go wrong booking here at the Savoy Gardens as we couldn't find a negative.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

If accommodation is important to you then i would recommend a sea view room at this Hotel, otherwise I think you would be dissapointed, because it was our ist time in Madeira we decided to book the Trips through thomson while at the Hotel, we did the West Coast, East coast, and Nunns Valley, we paid around 200 Euro's for the 2.5 day trips well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Excellent hotel! The hotel staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The thomsons reps encouraged everyone to get the most from their holiday. The only thing to beware of is the hill to the hotel, however there are plenty of buses and (cheap) taxis so don't be put off. A special thank you to the dining staff for their hard work and patience while we learnt a few words of Portugese!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed for two weeks at the Savoy Gardens and it was great. Our room (707) was one of the suites and it was just superb, our balcony was the envy of the other guests. A clean, comfortable and friendly hotel we loved it. The reception staff were extremely obliging and informative with any question we asked. Infact ALL the staff were lovely including Mr Grumpy behind the bar, we got used to him.
The food although not a great selection was of a good quality and cooked very well. The Thomson entertainment team were very very good and quite made the holiday with their evening shows.
Our wedding anniversary was the day before we left and my husband asked if we could have breakfast in our room. It arrived complete with a glass of champagne - compliments of the hotel, it was a very nice touch and we had a happy anniversary card from them.
The hotel is on a steep incline but even with recovering from a knee op I managed it ok.
We went on more trips than usual ('cos of my knee) and they were good value for money and the guide(s) were very informative. The Western tour was in our opinion much better than the Eastern tour (more to see). 45 mins at the fishing village was far too long, wasn't even pretty.
Maderia itself is a lovely island and the people really appreciate it when you attempt to try their language.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

A lovely, well-run hotel. Food excellent with plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. Staff very helpful and friendly. Extremely steep around hotel but buses and taxis easily available.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Hotel Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.