We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a winter break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Gardens to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Gardens
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great for a winter break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Savoy Gardens offers exceptional value for money when you book out of season. We did not pay a supplement for either a sea or mountain view but were impressed by our room which had plenty of afternoon sun and a partial sea view. The room was a good size, with a large bathroom and was well equipped with both a refrigerator and a slim line TV.
Both breakfast and the evening meal are 'buffet style' and provide a wide range of foods. Breakfast offered a range of fresh fruit and cereal, together with the usual cooked offerings as well as individually cooked omelettes. Likewise the evening meal had an excellent array of salads, along with a good choice of hot meals. Desserts were also excellent.
During our stay guests did not 'book' sunbeds in the early morning as there were more than enough for everybody. The rooftop sun terrace is a suntrap; the double sun beds are very comfortable!
During the evenings, Matt and Sarah offered some superb entertainment; the best we have seen in any hotel/resort of this type.
As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is on a hill and the walk back from Funchal can be tiring but if you are reasonably fit, you can return from the town centre in 20 minutes. Alternatively, a public bus service passes the hotel to go into town.
A bonus for us was the annual carnival along the seafront - a marvellous display of sound, colour and dance.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference for the Savoy Gardens Hotel and for posting a review on your experience. We were pleased to read that your overall stay was most enjoyable and thank you for your positive comments on our facilities, the food and our team. Also, your recognition on the effort and dedication demonstrated by Matt and Sarah, our resident musicians, is greatly appreciated and your compliments will be shared with them.

We were particularly pleased to note that you too, enjoyed the annual carnival festivities and hope we can welcome you back again to enjoy another of the numerous special events that are held in Madeira all year long.

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    299
    88
    17
    5
See reviews for
18
732
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

this hotel is located high up on a steep hill and your calf muscles soon know about this.It is a fair walk to the harbor but taxis are cheap and easy to come by and the drivers very helpful. We found the food alright but some times a bit dull and boring. The staff in the buffet restaurant were attentive but not always happy ,also the tables for two were too close together and impersonal for a quiet meal for two especially as this is a couples holiday destination. We sat on a table for four to the disgust of the waiters!! the room was immaculate at all times but to say it has a mountain view is stretching the imagination a bit (which cost extra).
The bar staff were amazing and always ready for a challenge making cocktails. The front of house staff were exceptional and very efficient.
The outside pool was heated, well depends what you call heated - we found it cold.
There are some fabulous trips to go on and our favorite was on a Catamaran to watch for dolphins whales and turtles. We saw lots of dolphins on our first trip and had to go back as it was amazing,the second time not only did we see dolphins but we were lucky enough to see Whales as well. We also went on a trip to the East side of the Island the guide was very knowledgeable but certain stops we would have stayed longer and some lesser so very tied to the timetable.
We were lucky enough to be there for the carnival a spectacular event and worth going to, the atmosphere was incredible.
Would we return - not sure,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Savoy Gardens Hotel and for posting your feedback with attentive observations and comments on our services. We do apologise for the aspects which did not quite reach your expectations. Please rest assured that your feedback will be fully reviewed and will be used in a constructive manner to help us make improvements in the service we offer our guests. We thank you for your compliments towards our bar and reception staff and will be delighted to share this with the team.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Madeira and in particular, the spectacular Carnival Festival. Madeira is a beautiful Island, it has so much to offer to our visitors including numerous events, year-round, as well as activities & sightseeing to be enjoyed and experienced from the Air, the Mountains and in the Sea.

On your next visit to Funchal, please contact us directly as we would very much appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and ensure your stay meets your expectations.

With kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for our anniversary in February. We were the youngest couple in the hotel but everyone was lovely to us. I was very impressed with how Anna greeted us as we arrived and waved us off as we went. Matt and Sarah's music was fantastic. Sarah says she is nervous but you would never know. The food was great although some waiters could have smiled abit more. The panoramic views were great and we were able to jump in the hot tub straight without waiting. We loved playing giant chess and curling. It's nice to see a pool table that you don't have to pay for. Although Thompson are there to guide you with booking excursions, we found the best excursion that we went on was with a company called 'Up mountain Madeira' #1 on tripadvisor. Great holiday and everyone was lovely!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were very honoured with your preference for the Savoy Gardens Hotel for your anniversary in February and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your experience with us. We were so pleased to read that our attentive service and facilities made your stay a memorable anniversary. Rest assured that we will share your wonderful comments as this is a valuable source of motivation for us all to continue to do our very best everyday in order to succeed our guest's expectations.
We look forward to having the opportunity of serving you again in a near future.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Funchal, we returned on 3rd March after a fabulous week at The Savoy Gardens our 1st visit to this hotel and will certainly go back again, lovely room,balcony,very clean.The food was really good plenty of choice, all fresh, plenty choice of fish, a theme every night, something for everybody, we were recommended this Hotel by a friend of ours.The roof top terrace was spectacular for relaxing in the sunshine and the views out of this world of the Harbour etc.The staff were lovely and friendly and the entertainment team of Anna Natalie Matt and Sarah we enjoyed the shows and quiz nights.We were very lucky to see the Carnival on the Saturday night in Funchal. The Hotel is high up on a steep hill but we did know this before we booked. We had a very relaxing week and love the Catarina Park sit by the lake and watch the world go by. We hope to come back again and see the Christmas lights in December with our family.We enjoyed the hidden vistas half day trip as we had been on the other trips.Fantastic weather for late Feb early March plenty of sunshine.We also enjoyed playing the outdoor games, this hotel has something for everyone to enjoy.You are certainly looked after by the staff.We will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and for posting such a positive review of your stay. We were extremely pleased to read that our services and facilities made such a positive impact to your first visit to the Savoy Gardens Hotel and will proudly pass your kind words of praise to the entire Savoy team. We would like to express our sincere appreciation for your preference and look forward to welcoming you back together with your family for the festive month of December.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just got back from a 2-week stay at this hotel and we were very impressed. The staff were so friendly, the whole hotel was spotlessly clean and the food was lovely. We didn't like the hill much, but we were aware of this when we booked and it wouldn't stop us coming again.
We really enjoyed the entertainment, Anna. Natalie, Matt and Sarah did a fantastic job every night and were so personable, we enjoyed chatting to them every night before dinner and during the evening and it was nice to have something to watch. Matild from the bar was a lovely lady and really looked after us-my husband particularly enjoyed the 'cocktail of the day' every evening! We were lucky enough to be here for carnival week and enjoyed seeing the parade. We did the east and the west tours - wear your trousers when you go up into the mountain as it is cold. Came as a couple, would definitely visit again but would book for even longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review titled "Great Time", on this website. We were so pleased to read that you were impressed with our hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also, for mentioning the notable service from our staff members - your kind words of praise will be shared with them, as this will also make a great impact upon their job satisfaction.
We were pleased to know that you enjoyed the Carnival Festival in Funchal... now, preparation are underway for the next annual event, which normally falls after Easter, The Madeira Flower Festival, scheduled this year for the 3rd and 4th May. In fact, Madeira Island features an official Festivity and Entertainment Calendar and practically we have one and even two fantastic events each month of the year. Should you wish to receive more details, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
We were particularly pleased to note that you intend to return, so, and as the Island is a year round destination, why not return to experience Madeira at a different time of year.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Madeira is just beautiful and as part of the renowned Savoy Group, with whom we have stayed before, we were looking forward to our break at the Savoy Gardens, although we had not realised how far out of town it was, nor that it was such a steep walk up and down to the resort. Lovely welcome and a good sized room with a nice balcony and the hardest mattress and thinnest duvet ever ! ( I actually thought, at first, that it was just the top sheet ) Had to ask for extra blankets. Breakfasts were fine but the dinners - ! I realise being in the business makes one super critical but whoever thought white fish, white cauliflower and mashed potato looked appetising should go back to catering school. Lukewarm, overcooked and for a garden island, why serve frozen carrots.
The good were the staff who were friendly and Anna and Natalie from Thomsons who so bouncy and enthusiastic, they just made you happy.
Best weather we have had for a while in February and we will certainly return to the island but not to this hotel. And as a final comment, can somebody buy muzzles for those blooming dogs.






The weather was some of the best we have had here, so we will return to the island

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly, thank you for your renewed preference and loyalty to the Savoy Group-Madeira. Also, we do appreciate you for taking the time to post your review with helpful comments on your recent stay with us. We were happy to read that your stay was generally pleasant and particularly pleased to know that our staff members made the difference - your kind compliments will be shared with everyone here. We do however, apologise for the aspects which you found disappointing on this particular visit and will address your constructive comments with our food & beverage team so immediate action can be taken. Your comments are very important to us and we would like to inform you that the Savoy Gardens Hotel (part of the Savoy Group-Madeira) was completely renovated in 2009 and is situated on an oceanfront hillside, just 2 km from the city centre. Also, the hotel possesses mattress toppers for extra comfort for those guests who find our new mattresses too firm.
Once again, our apologies for the disappointment. The staff and management sincerely hope that this will not deter you from visiting one of our hotels again in the future.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Late booking at this Thomson Couples hotel (no children) was excellent value for money. Our double room was spacious albeit with a small balcony (just big enough for two chairs and a table) overlooking the pool and sea view. 360 degree views from the rooftop sunbathing area (where there's also a jacuzzi) are impressive.
Location is up a fairly steep hill but there is a bus stop nearby.
Buffet restaurant offered good variety of food.
Staff (reception, cleaning ,bars) generally very good. Entertainment was limited but enthusiatically performed.

Room Tip: Most, but not all, rooms enjoy sea views - the higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and review of your stay. We were particularly pleased to read that we were able to offer you an enjoyable holiday with us. The hotel's location benefits from all-round stunning panorama views of the ocean, surrounding mountains as well as the beautiful bay of Funchal and harbour and we were very pleased to note that you too, found our rooftop terrace a great feature and enjoyed the vast and impressive views from this terrace.
For future reference, we inform that the Savoy Gardens Hotel features different room sizes and categories; all rooms are complemented with a balcony and of different category - regular balcony; Juliet balcony or large terrace-balcony.
Once again our sincere thanks and hope we can welcome you back on many more occasions.
Yours sincerely
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Hotel Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.