We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Gardens to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Gardens
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Another wonderful visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was our second visit and it lived up to all our expectations.
This hotel is a couples only and for those of a certain age who may wish to have a relaxing break this is the place to stay.
The staff are superb friendly and attentive.
The buffet breakfast and dinner have a good selection for all tastes. The quality is of a good standard.
Rooms with a sea view are spacious and maintained to a high level.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for posting your kind review regarding your recent stay. We were delighted to read how your second stay with us was consistently good and thank you most sincerely for your continued loyalty. Your kind comments regarding the staff being friendly and attentive will of course be shared with everyone here.
We really hope we can continue to welcome you back many more times.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    300
    88
    17
    5
See reviews for
18
733
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just returned from a week on a B& B basis at the Savoy Gardens .Sea facing room on the 2nd floor cleaned to a high standard with a very large double bed ,complimentary tea / coffee on arrival ( which can be purchased for the week at 8 euros ) fridge and small balcony with 2 chairs and table . Excellent buffet style breakfast selection ( both hot and cold) , and even counter with diabetic choices . We choose B& B as this was our 7th visit to the island and it gave us the opportunity to get out and try the numerous restaurants in the City and surrounding ' hotel zone' . Internally there are 2 bars with waiter service , one being the Mimosa lounge where there was usually a resident duo or something similar most evenings . Outside there is a large pool , although last week it was pretty chilly - not sure whether it was supposed to be heated or not ! Adequate number of sun loungers , and surprisingly didn,t see them all covered in towels at 6.00 am !! Further area to the side of the Hotel with table tennis , deck quoits ,large chess / draughts and practise putting area . A nice surprise was on the roof , with additional sun loungers , jacuzzi and 'honesty bar ' plus fantastic views over the city and port with the coming and going of the cruise ships ! All in all a very pleasant stay once again in Funchal , and would certainly consider using this hotel on future visits , *and thanks to all staff :)

Room Tip: Higher floors = better views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for posting your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to read you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our Madeiran hospitality.
We are particularly delighted to know that you will certainly consider returning on future visits and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again, sometime soon.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I loved this hotel.Spotlessly clean.It did'nt have the clinical hospital smell the Royal Savoy has.Service just amazing..Very very nice lady on the bar (Matilda?)I've marked it down a notch for location,but the number 24 bus passess the front frequently and takes you into town and back again from very early morning to quite late evening.(I recommend the experience of a TUK-TUK to get you back from town as well !!)
I'm terrible for running fingers over everything in the room upon check in but I can honestly say I could find nothing.The room was immaculate.
Buffet breakfast was fantastic and plenty of choice.This is my 6th visit to Madeira,(first time in this hotel,and no rude elderly English tourists!!).Very welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are surprisingly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you ever so much for your positive comments on our hotel and delighted to learn how good the services was. Your kind comment on Matilde is much appreciated and she will be very happy to know that she has been mentioned.
We are most pleased that you enjoyed your recent first stay with us and hope we can welcome you back to the Savoy Gardens hotel next time you are in Madeira.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here for a week with my girlfriend in mid-October. The hotel was more or less what we were expecting and the food from the buffet was excellent both at breakfast and in the evening. Considering the terrain of this area (very steep uphill sections from the town centre), somewhat surprisingly most guests seemed to be in advancing years and at 38 and 33, my self and my girlfriend felt about 30 years too young. That said we did enjoy ourselves and the island tours through Thomson (we did the West Coast) are recommended. You can get trips cheaper in town, but these may not work out quite as cost effective when you consider the price of lunch which is not included with others.

My only real complaint would be the sunbeds which really looked like they would benefit from a thorough scrubbing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback further to your recent stay. We were particularly pleased to read that the food quality served at both breakfast and dinner made a positive impact.
However, we were concerned with your comments relating to the sun-beds and will duly address this point with our pool team for immediate action.
Once again, our sincere thanks and hope we can welcome you back again.
Kind regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here on a half board basis January 2014. Hotel was very good, an excellent and spacious sea view room, which was cleaned to a high standard every day. We had a gigantic bed, which I'm sure would have slept four people.
The restaurant staff were very friendly and efficient. Most of the food was good but could do with being hotter.
All in all a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for posting your kind review and we are very pleased to know that you had a good stay with us.
Also, we do appreciate your constructive comment on food temperature and will address this point with our restaurant and kitchen team so action can be taken immediately.
We hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Freedom as we decided to leave the teenagers at home, back in Novembe,r for a week to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.

Had great weather and 6 sunny days out of 7. The roof top terrace and hot tub made our mornings of relaxing in the sunshine special. It was never full up there and nobody ever reserved the sunbeds, they were big and comfy too. Great views of the cruise ships coming in.

The room we had was on the side of the hotel so we were lucky as we had a mountain and partial sea view, The balcony was small so we didn't use it, apart from to dry the beach towels that were supplied by the hotel. Didn't use the pool, just looked at it every breakfast and thought that's nice dear.

The bed was comfy and I was happy to find that we had a safe in the room with a pin number, so it was free of charge, We also had a fridge in the room at no extra cost which was a bonus for the odd bottle of white wine or cold beer.

The shop was a bit of a trek down hill, so take a rucksack and you'll need flat shoes to get back up the hills and maybe an oxygen mask if you're unfit.

Most tables are set up for couples so it was always stress free in the restaurant to find a table. A different theme on most nights in the restaurant and you could always find something nice to eat.

No cash is needed in the restaurant as you just pay the bill at the end of the week. Very friendly hotel staff and you feel safe there too.

I would go back here every winter as Madeira is laid back and it maybe full of the older generation but it beats lager louts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you ever so much for such positive comments of the hotel and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent "stress free" holiday with us.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Booked spur of moment trip for New Year via local Thomson agent . Rare 'package holidayers' it was a breeze for us to have a travel agent arrange everything including car parking for us. We chose Funchal as we travel extensively on long haul and wanted a short flight with hopefully some sunshine. We had a choice of only 3 remaining hotels with Thomson and opted for SG. We weren't disappointed! Hotel clean, staff and service excellent , room nice (sea view) , location good ( but on a steep hill). Minor gripes , pool too cold, wine choice poor , food quality could be better at dinner but plenty of choice and there was no gym. The positives certainly out weighed the negatives. Would stay again and would recommend this hotel. Majority guests aged 60 + and well catered for by Thomson's reps but there were some young couples staying too. Did not have to pay additional cost for NYE gala which was well organised and great fun . Had fab view of fireworks from roof top balconies.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Hotel Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent positive review. We were pleased to read that you were very happy with the holiday arrangements and on this particular occasion enjoyed our New Year's Eve celebrations as well as the privileged views of Madeira's famous fireworks display from our roof top terrace. Your constructive comments related to the pool temperature, choice of wine and food quality will be addressed in our next management meeting.
Your comemnt will be shared with all the staff members.
We hope we can welcome you back to the Savoy Gardens Hotel in the future.
With kind regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Hotel Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.