We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled Traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Gardens

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Gardens
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9000-543, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disabled Traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Anyone who complains about the staff and hotel are obviously very hard to please. The staff are very friendly and as far from being miserable as stated by another reviewer as you can get, they work very hard at making everyone comfortable and happy. The rooms are large and spacious and very easy for me to get around in my wheel chair; I wasn't in the disabled room but didn't find it an issue: I was able to get into the bath with assistance from my husband and was able to use the loo easily. We had a sea view room and the view was amazing.

A table in the restaurant was reserved specifically for my use for our weeks stay. The food is very good and I particularly enjoyed the scrambled eggs which were cooked the way I like them.

I found the hotel very assessable overall but couldn't use the honesty bar as the lift didn't reach the floor it's on, but that wasn't an issue for me.

Madeira is a naturally hilly country, but I got around fine on the mobility scooter the hotel hired for me.

The hotel does seem a little sedate for some people but we kept the bar staff company until the small hours! The entertainment was very good and we particularly enjoyed the Madeiran dancers and the Strictly come dancing dancer's, my husband was the only man brave enough to dance with one of the female dancer's, an experience he really enjoyed!

There will always be those that will find something complain about, but we had a lovely, relaxing
holiday. It was our 7th holiday in Madeira and there will definitely be an 8th.

Room Tip: There is a disabled room available, but if you have some mobility there isn't really an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    263
    79
    14
    5
See reviews for
13
617
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week from 9 - 16 September here. Lovely hotel, very clean, food was plentiful we never found it repetetive, we found it was better to go into dinner as soon as the restraunt opened or leave it until 8pm when guests began to leave. Rooms were large and spacious as were the bathrooms, small bars of soap were provided, and a pump action body wash, both were replenished, there was no shampoo/ conditioner provided. Free safe which was very large, you could pack lots into it. We only used the pool area once, we found the pool a bit cool, we preferred the roof top terrace with jacuzzi. All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful as were the Thomsons staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ainsdale, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

pretty much a good all round hotel nice big clean modern rooms maid service excellent free fridge safe coffee tea in your room nice and quit at night time freindly staffall through the hotel cant think of anything to complain or moan about

Room Tip: corner suites give you more privacy or as its put( with a mountain view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

having always had a lovely holiday at Thomson couples i am sad to say this hotel was definitely not 4.5 star as reported, roms were not ready when arrived all kept waiting by pool till they got organised the hotel staff apart from the housekeepers were miserable, the food was of poor quality the scrambled eggs were slop everyday, if you eat fish you were fine.a number of people complained

the pool area was small and the beds uncomfortable. no comfortable seats by the pool in evening just lunchtime iron chairs, the downstairs room was damp and smelled once was enough

the Thomson holiday rep Paula was all about herself and and not helpful or around enough.the entertainment team well if you call them that were never around apart from evenings Josh and Laura are good singers but the others not worth it.

this is a fifty's plus hotel if you are younger than this don't bother, is quite a walk into funchal and all down hill but a long hard walk back up if you are not fit. we are professional persons of early fiftys but this hotel was old for us, and was unacceptable for what we paid.

Maderia is a beautiful island i cant say it isn't but we will not be returning.

Room Tip: dont pay extra for seaview as apart from road and approx 20 roofs sea in in distance, best view is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at about lunchtime and were greeted by the reception staff and our book in was dealt with very efficiently. The staff were very polite and spoke English perfectly. We were able to go to our room early which is always a bonus after the flight and transfer. The room was beautifully cleaned and laid out with a note from the cleaning lady to introduce herself and how to contact whoever if there were any problems.( There weren't any) We went for a walk around the hotel to get our bearings and get some food at the afternoon food bar. There are daily specials on offer and the food is very good. See Matilde who will look after you extremely well and help you with anything she can. The restaurant offers a vast range of foods to suit all tastes and it is always well presented and very good quality. The staff are very efficient and the room is very well run. The evening entertainment team put on a good variety to suit most people. They are great fun and work very hard to make the whole thing a pleasant experience. Once again the staff are excellent and will look after you very well. Use this Hotel if you want a very very good holiday experience.

Room Tip: The rooms at back of the hotel don't have much of a view but how much time do you look out of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Arrived Monday had lunch expensive then in room . Clean coffee tea water provided . After that you pay 8 euros for week top up. Better going to local shop better value. Tuesday walk to centre long and hard on legs.
Nice lunch cheap. Back to hotel drink expensive . Found pub not far great name White House.
Wednesday trip west fantastic organised. Hotel food and service great. Then Thursday got taxi cheap all on meters . To cable car then tropical gardens great . Best getting taxi to gardens them single car down cheaper by 30euros .
Friday tour great wine BBQ fantastic even crush your grapes.
All in all a great week. But small things could just make it fantastic.
Entertainment average small lounge . Tea coffee better in rooms . And cost of extras dear .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Chose this hotel after (as always!) reading reviews on Tripadvisor!
As a result had no shocks or suprises, staff, food, room and all amenities as previously described and all very good!
Yes the location means the walk back to the hotel is "work ou"t but Maderia is one big hill so if you go down you gotta go back up!
To coin a phrase from a popular TV advert "it does exactly what is says on the tin"
Just a comment and no ones fault in any way but found the clientele age profile although all very friendly meant as a middle aged couple we were either too young! or too old! to really relate to our fellow guests! Apart from Daz & Helen "we are the mods"
Would and have happliy reccommended to friends

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are fine but pay the extra and take a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9000-543, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Gardens 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Hotel Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.