We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium . Thomson Gold award hotel excelled all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Gardens

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Gardens
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9000-543, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Premium . Thomson Gold award hotel excelled all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Would recommend the Savoy Gardens 110% to all & sundry. We were treated like royality from the start of holiday until we booked out..Our room was spotlessly clean massive & view to die for.

We had sea view room..you have to pay extra for but worth every penny..
The staff were attentive to your needs. They could not do enough for us to make sure we enjoyed our stay. .We had lovely table every night for dinner..( pool view) it was reserved for us
by head waiter. Food was lovely..Pipping hot..alternitivly you could have cold buffet..

Our bed linen was changed every two days with our fluffy white towels changed every day..
Could go on & on about hotel...Check it out for yourselve & you will see what I am on about.
Having been to Maderia 5 times before...will be going back in the near future.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms Level 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    280
    81
    14
    5
See reviews for
16
672
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just arrived back from Madeira and a week's stay in this hotel. The literature we saw in advance made a great play on the "recent" refurbishment, so that must have been around for a while. However, the standards of decoration throughout are pleasant but unadvenurous; clean, tidy and well maintained. It is typical of hotels catering for mature europeans, mainly british package holiday visitors, with the added advantage of being closed to children(a personal view), the disadvantage being that it occasionally feels as though you are getting an early feel for what later life has to offer. The hotel employees are thorough, efficient, helpful and friendly throughout. The restaurant has an a la carte option but the vast majority of guests are on a package and are fed from a buffet arrangement. My disappointment with this was the almost total lack of anything akin to local cuisine style. The menu was unadventurous and bland (see earlier comment on the nature of most guests).
All in all, conveniently located, well run but nothing to rave about or set your tastebuds alight. The bar prices are high and the wine list limited to mediocre wines charged at a huge mark up.

Room Tip: opt for the sea view over the mountains and take your own comfort items as the hotel charges to top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel was good on the whole: clean, very friendly, efficient staff. Breakfast was excellent with a large variety of options. Dinner was very disappointing, however. Food was never more than lukewarm, sometimes tasteless, not interesting in flavour or appearance. The hotel would not be a convenient location for people with mobility problems - though there is an hourly bus service from Funchal centre - but we enjoyed the walk in and out each day. I would have given a 'very good' rating if the evening meals had been better. We plan to return to Madeira but not to this hotel, only because of the food in the evening.

Room Tip: Our room lacked an interesting view but this was not a problem to us. It is possible to have a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

First time visit & we had a great holiday in this lovely hotel & agree that it is worth paying for the superb views. Rooms are lovely & the hotel staff are friendly & helpful. The entertainment team did a fab job & we found the bar staff in the Magnolia suite to be fun as well as efficient. The walk up is hilly but options to take bus/taxi at reasonable price if you are walked out! We found the buffet fine for breakfast but disappointed in the quality of the buffet evening meal which does not reflect the hotels 4star rating. Food kept warm warm is not enticing or particularly healthy. Great pool & facilities & Thomson team were always on hand.

Room Tip: Rooms higher on 5/6th Floor Front have supplement but have great seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a lovely friendly hotel with seaview rooms giving panoramic views across Funchal.
The breakfast is good with the usual English scrambled eggs etc and various continental foods.
The dinner can be a bit hit and miss. Some of the food is similar to school dinners and some is good.Overall though its good value for money but not a gastronomic treat.
It is on a hillside and for good walkers Funchal centre can be reached within 15 mins, or take the bus (close by) and be in in 2 mins.

Room Tip: well worth paying extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We are a 40 something couple who like the quiet life which we found at the savoy gardens. No loud music around the pool. We had no problems with the steep hill location and regularly walked up it. We walked into funchal and back again but if you have mobility problems this location could be an issue. We had a mountain view room on the third floor and again if you spend a lot of time in your room then it would probably be worth paying for a sea view. We only used the room for changing and sleeping so lack of view was not an issue for us and we had gardens to look at. The breakfasts were lovely with a huge choice. Evening buffets had a good choice in salads and sweets. On the whole the mains were good but there were occasional hit and miss but keeping food palatable in hot plates is always going to cause problems. They do list the buffets every morning so you know what theme you are getting but what we took into account is the price we paid for the hotel half board is what some hotels in Madeira charge for bed & breakfast. Top tip, the air con does work but you have to make sure all your doors are fully closed including bathroom and even if your patio door looks shut we had to really push to kick start the air con. I cannot comment on the entertainment as we did not partake but I can recommend the roof top terrace and jacuzzi where we spent our days and the spa is good too! We were lucky because the wifi was free whilst we were there as they were having problems and I drink green tea so did not require the replenishing of the tea/coffee supplies but I could see this would be annoying for people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I would just like to say what a fantastic holiday my husband and i have had in Maderia.
Savoy Gardens is really nice, food very good ,rooms very good ,but for the extra i would have a sea view room.Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9000-543, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Gardens 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Hotel Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.