We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunny maderia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Gardens

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Gardens
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9000-543, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“sunny maderia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a lovely friendly hotel with seaview rooms giving panoramic views across Funchal.
The breakfast is good with the usual English scrambled eggs etc and various continental foods.
The dinner can be a bit hit and miss. Some of the food is similar to school dinners and some is good.Overall though its good value for money but not a gastronomic treat.
It is on a hillside and for good walkers Funchal centre can be reached within 15 mins, or take the bus (close by) and be in in 2 mins.

Room Tip: well worth paying extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    262
    78
    14
    5
See reviews for
13
614
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
redditch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We are a 40 something couple who like the quiet life which we found at the savoy gardens. No loud music around the pool. We had no problems with the steep hill location and regularly walked up it. We walked into funchal and back again but if you have mobility problems this location could be an issue. We had a mountain view room on the third floor and again if you spend a lot of time in your room then it would probably be worth paying for a sea view. We only used the room for changing and sleeping so lack of view was not an issue for us and we had gardens to look at. The breakfasts were lovely with a huge choice. Evening buffets had a good choice in salads and sweets. On the whole the mains were good but there were occasional hit and miss but keeping food palatable in hot plates is always going to cause problems. They do list the buffets every morning so you know what theme you are getting but what we took into account is the price we paid for the hotel half board is what some hotels in Madeira charge for bed & breakfast. Top tip, the air con does work but you have to make sure all your doors are fully closed including bathroom and even if your patio door looks shut we had to really push to kick start the air con. I cannot comment on the entertainment as we did not partake but I can recommend the roof top terrace and jacuzzi where we spent our days and the spa is good too! We were lucky because the wifi was free whilst we were there as they were having problems and I drink green tea so did not require the replenishing of the tea/coffee supplies but I could see this would be annoying for people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I would just like to say what a fantastic holiday my husband and i have had in Maderia.
Savoy Gardens is really nice, food very good ,rooms very good ,but for the extra i would have a sea view room.Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful two weeks staying at the Savoy Gardens Hotel.
The hotel is superb,very tastefully refurbished with modern furnishings and beautiful paintings.
The food was excellent and all the staff extremely caring and helpful.
Whilst uphill from the centre, there is a convenient local bus service from just outside the hotel (Bus No. 24). It's pleasant to walk to the centre and return by bus, although we did walk back on several occasions.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this extremely well run hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel command a super view and a balcony that gets sun all day. Well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had our eighth visit here and it is as good as always. The only rooms to have are the seaview rooms, they are worth the small extra they charge. Food is just average but some excellent local restaurants around and not that expensive.

Given the popularity with package holiday guests, this is a wise choice and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSSEX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have been to Madeira 10 times before but not for 8 years so it was great to be back.
Not the best transfer, we were dropped off some way from the hotel and had to walk up a fairly steep hill with our hand bags to the hotel entrance with little help from the transfer rep.
Our rooms were not ready so after some delay we made our way unassisted to our rooms.
OK so a bad start but things got better. The rear room on the 4th floor had a nice views of the Hotel garden, rural Funchal and mountains beyond.
The breakfast and evening meals were good what i would expect from a buffet at a 4 star,Hotel food was always hot, and each evening there was a different country theme the waiters were friendly, willing to help and fun to be around. All the other staff in the Hotel are fantastic. I had tooth ache and the receptionist got me an oppointment and taxi all in 5 minutes 10 minutes later i was sorted thank you so much.
Our main reason for comming to Madeira is levada and mountain walking, for the first time we had guided walks with MADEIRA EXPLORERS see their report. For anyone new to madeira there is an easy levada walk just behind the hotel. go up a steep narrow road between the hotel and its car park, on reaching some steps go up and turn left on the Levada dos Piornais
This water way can be followed for one or two hours or to the start of walk 1 in the sunflower landscapes series.
We were concerned after reading press reports about Dengue Fever just before we left, There was no advice in Thomsons web site and in responce to emails said they follow government guidelines and it is safe to travel. Not very helpful Thomsons. So armed with insect repellent we leave expecting to see loads of mosquitoes around every bend waiting to pounce. But nothing was the DEET that good or was this little problem all blown up out of preportion.
Our walking guide said yes we do get a problem now and again but its not that serious if they are about use the spray, so dont be put off comming to Madeira.
The Christmas lights and decorations the two weeks before Christmas are fantastic and the farmers market that went on all Sunday night was great I think everyone from Madeira was there, dancing, singing, a little drinking, It certainly put us in the mood for Christmas.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are larger, more furniture, bigger bathroom face south so sunny all day, but this ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Read.the.reviews before we went

Hotel was lovely

Lots to see and do on Madeira, with only a week.we d recommend the tour of the west and the.tour of the east sides.of the island
We had a great time and will.definitely go back there
No kids.. Heaven............

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga da Casa Branca, Funchal, Madeira 9000-543, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Gardens 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Hotel Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.