We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of money spending on it !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gorgulho

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gorgulho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gorgulho
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho, 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-450, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs a lot of money spending on it !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed there in early March 2013. The location is good being a bus ride or decent walk from the centre of Funchal but also with easy access to the promenade and a lovely walk overlooking the sea westwards. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was ok for a 3 star hotel but only two choices of main course for dinner. However, the first room we stayed in was on the 10th floor on the south-western corner and the weather was windy and so the cold air was coming in between the SINGLE glazed windows and the walls ! Walking into the little kitchen you might as well have been outside ! The bathroom was poor with plaster crumbling around the walls at the top of the bath. Having survived one very noisy and cold night we asked to move rooms and were offered a double glazed room on the 4th floor on the south-eastern corner. We had, however, to forfeit the kitchen which we had booked and paid for but were only to pleased to be in a quieter and more modern room. The purchase of an electric kettle and mugs to be able to make hot drinks was a bit galling ; especially as our travel kettle was in the cupboard at home !
NB They do not provide kettles in their kitchens - you either heat water on the antique cooker or in the microwave ! This was our third visit to Madeira and we love the island but definitely wouldn't use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to get a refurbished room with double glazing and a newer bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    57
    58
    22
    21
See reviews for
24
89
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poringland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Yes,this hotel does need a bit of TLC but the rooms are adequate and the food is excellent, the staff are friendly and welcoming and all rooms have a balcony with a sea view .this is a central hotel and just yards from the local bus into the centre though its only a 20 minute walk. I would recommend this hotel and will be going again next year hopefully

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room for splendid views over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 for a week while visiting friends and family. Being originally from Madeira I knew what to expect. The Hotel needs updating and their food is not great but you pay peanuts, so don't expect caviar. Overall friendly Staff and clean room, that was the only think I need it.
There are plenty of good restaurants and bars in the area which is one of the bests in Funchal so you can go to a different one every night. Don't put your expectations too high and you won't be disapointed.

I would stay here again if the price is similar to what I paid.

Room Tip: Don't put your expectations too High.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had 3 weeks there last month, Jan 2013 there were seven of us in our party and we all enjoyed it, yes the hotel needs some TLC but the views were glorious from our balcony and the food was good if not a lot of choice, rooms clean and spacious, staff were exceptionally helpfull and friendly especially the dining staff and one reception lady who had been there since the hotel was built she was a mind of information. so if you want value for money and a good basic base the gorgulho hotel is a fair opption.

The Haines Richmond Bateman Allingham ( GANG)

Room Tip: higher floors have better views we had 709 707 807 609 and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Arrived lunchtime Friday transferred to another Hotel by Saturday am. Rooms filthy and smelly. Bed linen dirty and stained. Pillows smelt of stale urine. DISGUSTING DISGUSTING DISGUSTING. The Locals all agree that this Hotel should be closed and is locally regarded as a "Cancer" of the area, the locals words not mine. This hotel may only be graded as a basic 3 star Hotel but cleanliness surely is a necessity not an optional extra.

Room Tip: Don't even bother choosing a room. Select another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Studio had 2 hotplates and full sized fridge, but no kettle, toaster or microwave. However we managed very well with the limited equipment and would book again if money was tight. Staff were helpful, towels and bedding changed every other day. Plenty of sunbeds at the pool, pool towels supplied.

Room Tip: Third floor and above have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not the prettiest of Hotels to look at from the outside and once inside very basic and functional, no frills. So basic in fact there was no ceiling fan or air conditioning in the room which at 27-30 degrees would have been nice.
I went to reception on the first day to inquire about access to a little kitchenette the we had seen in the rooms when booking and had found behind two locked louvre doors only to be informed that we had only booked a basic room and if we wanted access it would cost 35 euros for the week.
The balconies for each room were small square concrete things with tilled floors and concrete walls that were discoloured and grubby looking.
The rooms were cleaned daily and kept nice however the communal areas needed the same attention. They were grubby with flakey paintwork and in need of some fixing up.
The breakfast was reasonable with a good choice of breads and jams, eggs (scrambled or fried) baked beans and the usual hotdog style sausages that hotels seem to serve in hot countries. There was also ham, cheese, fruit and cereal each morning all layed out buffet style.
The best thing this hotel had going for it was the location. There were several mini markets within a couple of minutes walk and some excellent restaurants. There was also a bus stop just around the corner with plenty of buses to take you the 10 minute journey into the main town centre.
With hindsight I would of paid a little extra for one of the other hotels in the same location and would not recommend this one unless you are on a tight budget and don't expect too much or aren't too fussy as you just need a place to crash and shower while you spend the day exploring.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gorgulho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorgulho

Address: Rua do Gorgulho, 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-450, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorgulho 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Gorgulho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorgulho Hotel Funchal
Hotel Gorgulho Madeira/Funchal
Gorgulho Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gorgulho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.