We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gorgulho

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gorgulho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gorgulho
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho, 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-450, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A basic 3 star hotel that does what it says on the tin. Definitely 70's engineering that coul do with a bit of a facelift. However the staff were friendly, very helpfull and always had time to assist with any issues we had. Also while eing old the hotel was immaculately cleaned as was the pool which we sw being cleaned and maintained almost daily. The location gives excellent views over the bay but can be a little noisy in the evening/morning due to traffic. We were B&B and the breakfasts were of a good standard with a choice of continental or cooked - all on a self-serve basis and included in the price we paid. On the doorstep there are a hadful of decent cafes/restaurants the best of which we found to be the Pizzeria La Tricolore where the food was excellent as were the staff. All in all a good hotel which provides value for money with all the basics catered for. If you want the Ritz this isn't it - but if you are after a sound decent quality base to explore the lovely island this will do nicely.

Room Tip: For great views ask for a sea view on a higher floor (there's 10 floors in all)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    57
    58
    22
    21
See reviews for
24
89
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Made a 5 days trip to Madeira and i choosed Hotel Gorgulho.
Great location, friendly staff, reasonable breakfast according to an 3 stars Hotel. Nice sea view, clean and quiet.
However this Hotel needs a urgent mantainance. First day the toilet lever broked, our fridge did not work properly.
I would choose again this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is very basic and quite old, however the location is fantastic and staff is very helpful and friendly. It can be noisy, especially the rooms facing the Lido area, as you can hear the entertainment coming from the pubs at night time and you can hear the traffic in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Me and my partner arrived back from here on wednesday and was very pleased with the experience. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. The place does need a refurb in some areas of the complex, however this did not dampen our stay. The pool area was never too busy so you could relax and work on your tan! We choose the bed and breakfast package and I was pleasantly pleased with the choice of food, i.e; hot food, cereal, fruit, various rolls and bread.......etc. Also the maids made the beds and stock your bathroom supplys everyday, however, if you are looking for a good nights sleep, then you may not find the beds very comfortable. The walk to Funchal city centre took about 45 minutes, so best to get the bus back after a long day sightseeing. Overall, we were pleased with the hotel in general and would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We got this hotel as a part of a last minute offer, so it was my own fault. This hotel looks like a prison from the outside and the inside has not been cared for since the 1960's. Personnel in reception were very nice, but that's just not enough. Smell of mold, no aircon, stuffy, dark and depressing.
After the first night we upgraded to a very nice place across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Spent 14 days here in february 2012 and was quite happy with the hotel overall. The prices at this hotel are exceptionaly reasonable, particularly if you book direct. The hotel overall is quite old and the decor tired, but there are no issues with cleanliness or staff helpfulness - in a nutshell if you are happy with the standards you would experience in a travelodge in the UK then you would be happy with this. Towels are changes as often as you wish and bed linen three times a week. The position is perfect for anything you wish to do and views from the hotel are quite stunning from higher up.
Breakfast is adequate with reasonable choice, but if you are looking for the "full english" then be aware that the cooked food is a choice from fried eggs, scrambled eggs, baked beans and hotdog sausages and this doesn't vary, but there is an ample choice of other buffet foods. We did dine in on one occassion in the evening, but found the choice lacking compared with the fare and variety offered by many of the surrounding restaraunts.
Only real criticism we had, and this is not unique to this hotel, is that the dining room was really cold in the mornings, and likewise the bedrooms at night, there is no heating and none can be purchased on the island (We tried!!!)
We were overall very happy with what we got for our money and would certainly consider a return to this hotel - albeit when the mornings and evenings were warmer.

Room Tip: Get a west facing room to get the afternoon sun or ideally one at the front of the hotel and go high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have just returned from my third stay at this hotel- it may not look as up to date and modern as other hotels on the island- but what it is lacking in looks - is made up by the fabulous welcome- friendly and helpful staff- excellent food and very clean rooms.

The view from the balcony was stunning- the location is perfect- an easy walk into town- or bus stops outside the hotel- local shops and supermarket across the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gorgulho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorgulho

Address: Rua do Gorgulho, 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-450, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#84 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorgulho 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Gorgulho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorgulho Hotel Funchal
Hotel Gorgulho Madeira/Funchal
Gorgulho Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gorgulho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.