We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a romantic getway...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Mirabela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quinta Mirabela to your Saves list
Quinta Mirabela
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho do Monte 105-107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a romantic getway...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel with fantastic views, perfect for a romantic weekend... Very relaxing atmosphere & very well decorated. Very good prices compared to other lower quality hotels. Very well connected to the centre of Funchal, however not to close so you get a sense of peace & quiet that you don't get when staying in the traditional "touristic" areas... Would highly recommend for a couples romantic break... Staff is always willing to help & very welcoming.

Room Tip: ask for a room above the restaurant the views are fantastic....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    40
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
9
110
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at Quinta Mirabela for 10 days in March, and had a lovely time. The staff is professional, and keen to provide good service. We booked our tickets with a "no refund" rule, but got our money back since we were one day late because of a strike. We had a standard room without a balcony, but the view is simply amazing, and there is always the huge terrace to sit in the sun and enjoy a beer or a glass of wine. There is also a small balcony on the 4. floor, big enough for two persons if you would like some privacy.

Really good breakfast. You pick the bread, they make the eggs and bacon for you, so you wont have to get it out of a sweaty heater on the table.

I see a lot of people complain about noise from dogs, and I really can't say that it was anywhere near a problem. In the 10 days we heard dogs maybe one or two times, and not loud at all. The church, which is 100 meters from the hotel, is more of an annoyance than the dogs, since it plays a melody every hour. Gets a bit annoying the 20th time you've heard it, but no big problem at all.

The only downsides I have with the hotel is that it is small, which also in a way is a good thing, but it means that the bar closes an hour before midnight, and that you have to call for service wherever you are (playing pool, in the spa, at the pool, etc.). The staff is always happy to help, but it would be better to not have to call everytime you need something.

Also, the location. The view is amazing, and it's really nice to get off the main hotel strip. But it is quite a walk to get to town. Walking down is ok, takes about 20 minutes, and must be said to be good workout for your legs. Walking up takes double the time, and can be quite hard if you're not fit. a taxi home from town is about 10 euros. There is no supermarkets or kiosks around the hotel which are open a lot. Some really small kiosks, but couldn't figure out the opening hours.

All in all, a really nice hotel, with proffessional and nice staff, great view, clean and modern. But a bit far from the city center and everything really.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

wonderful location halfway up Monte, great to watch the men in baskets running down the hill! The hotel has regular buses in to Funchal which is great. Wonderful design hotel. My husband and I are probably younger than most visitors to Madeira so looking for an up to date hotel was not easy in the slightest. This hotel ticked all the boxes for us. It was a boutique hotel, the staff were so helpful and utterly charming they could not do enough for you. Wonderful. The food was good, decent selection at breakfast. It was the rooms which was the clincher for us. After staying in hotels that really needed a spruce up, this was such a delight. Wonderfully modern and well designed rooms. We felt right at home. Our room overlooked the bay of Funchal and the sparkling pool, we had a terrace which was lovely to have a drink and watch the boats come in. Absolutely wonderful and we will be back very soon.

Room Tip: Get one with a terrace, maybe 1st floor so that no one looks into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the hotel. First and foremost, I should mention that the hotel manager is a gem! We had a slight glitch while on holiday which meant that we had to stay for an additional night and our flights back to the UK needed to be changed. The manager was quick to help but without his help, we could have had a very stressful experience. For the additional night, we were charged the same rate - which was very much appreciated.

You will NOT be greeted with champagne - but you will be greeted with sparkSPARKLING WINE which is also on offer at breakfast. This is a nice gesture anyway.

Breakfast is standard fare with regards to most hotels whether 3 or 5 star but there will not be a chef on hand to rustle up a 'personalised' hot breakfast for you. There is a standard choice of about 5 different hot breakfasts (boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon and fried eggs etc). Probably due to being in low season, the waiting staff (numbering one) is not always visible as he/she is probably busy out in the kitchen but when they do appear they are very, very customer orientated and nothing is too much trouble.

We ate every night in the hotel. I would like to see the menu change just a bit or to have a daily special. If I was staying for a further few days, then I would probably give the hotel a miss and go into the town seeking something different to eat. However, the food itself is well presented and of good quality, and very reasonably priced.

The rooms are a fair size - we stayed in room 402 and had an amazing view over the bay. You will not find a trouser press in your room nor tea/coffee making facilities (as you would in most 4 and 5 star hotels).

The gym and spa area were probably a bit underused during our stay but again, this was probably due to being in low season. However, it was quite nice to have the place to myself. A quick call to reception was all that was needed to fire up the sauna and the turkish baths. There is a jacuzzi pool too!

The gym has a treadmill, rowing machine, cross trainer, bike and a multi-functioning weight machine. The water fountain in the gym had a small amount of algae growing in the container probably due to low usage and it's positioning in the gym - all easily resolvable.

The ONLY problem is the location! If you take a walk into town from the hotel it will take you easily 30 minutes if not slightly longer. Both my husband and I tend to strut it out but it was a bit of a challenge walking down hill with some almost at a 45 degree angle. It will certainly keep you fit. Even if you get the No 19 bus back from the town to the junction of the road with the hotel, it is an uphill challenge. The manager assured us that it is about 80 metres and I do not doubt his estimate but if you walk up to the hotel then be warned - it is not for the faint-hearted. It is a good work-out though! Taking all things into consideration, I feel that if this hotel was more centralised, then guests would be paying much, much more. It's a case of taking the rough with the smooth but this hotel, it's staff, it's customer service and everything else, is worthy of 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My family and I (with 5 year old son) stayed for one week in February. The Quinta Mirabela is a good hotel, is professionally run and is a interesting choice if you are looking to stay outside the tourist zone in Funchal.

The hotel's located around two thirds of the way up the steep hill to Monte, in a hillside residential area, sway from any busy roads. (Funchal's famous toboggan rides start at Monte, directly passing the street next to the hotel, before terminating a short distance further). The hotel enjoy's a panoramic, sweeping view across Funchal and the ocean. Rooms are located either in the converted main building (a former villa), or in a purpose-built block on a lower level. The newer rooms have balconies; those in the main building largely don't. There's a small central courtyard with some table and chairs, as well as a wide, sweeping sun terrace from which to enjoy the fantastic views.

The hotel has a contemporary feel, without being pretentious. The staff in the hotel are generally well trained, courteous and professional. The cleaning staff are truly excellent and the whole place was spotless. The breakfast was good to average, though selection a little limited.

Room sizes were ample, with corner rooms being more generous in scale. Our room was simply furnished and spotless. The hotel has a number of facilities, though these seem to be hardly used, as most guests spent their time out. The facilities include a smaller, unheated outdoor pool, as well as indoor Jacuzzi and sauna/ steam room. The hotel also has a decent little gym.

All good so far, so what's wrong with the place? First, I don't rate Quinta Mirabella as a true 5* hotel, when compared to 5* hotels in other countries. This is not a criticism of Quinta Mirabella - which is a fine little hotel - but more a comment on Maderia's generous Hotel ranking system. Quinta Mirabella is not luxurious enough to be a true 5* hotel and would probably ranked 4* in any other city. This is also reflected in the prices charged by the Hotel.

Second, Im not sure Quinta Mirabella is for everyone. If you dont hire a car, then the hotel's location up the hill is a major inconvenience. As mentioned, the hotel is in a residential area, necessitating a ride into town to eat. I did walk up and down to the town centre a couple of times and regretted it - i'm a fairly fit 42 year old. The hill is very steep and becomes more tortuous the higher you go. That said, the hotel does lay on a limited shuttle bus, though I don't think it's frequent enough to be convenient.

While the hotel does have some facilities, these are fairly limited and small in scale. This is not a resort hotel and I could not imagine being confined in to the hotel itself for more than a couple of days. So if you are looking for a relaxing hotel with facilities, then you are better off in the Tourist Zone.

Finally - a small niggle and a "pet" hate of mine. Dogs...... The average Madeiran seems to keep a dog chained up in their garden. Every sunset all the neighbourhood dogs launch into a cacophony of howls and barks. Although most quieten down as the night wears on, we were awoken by barking dogs, in the middle of the night, on several occasions. This is no real fault of the hotel and just a fact of life in the Funchal suburbs. I dont want to exaggerate the problem, So if you are light sleeper, I would perhaps think twice about staying.

Finally, Finally, I would recommend the hotel for couples and singles and not families. While the staff made us welcome, the hotel is not really suited to younger children, as it lacks the facilities. We were aware of this when booking, though didn't mind, as we spent most of our time out and about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We love Madeira and have stayed on the island several times, but we love Quinta Mirabela so much that we were tempted back for a second time. The location is wonderful... we love to have a room with a view on holiday and the view of Funchal from here is magnificent. Located on the Caminho do Monte, almost at the end of the famous Madeira toboggan run, there is lots of fun to be had watching the carreiros and guests hurtling down the very steep road in their wicker baskets and listening to their whoops of excited laughter.

We also love to be looked after and it was with great delight we met up again with Nuno who remembered us from the previous visit and even knew which wine we had chosen to have with dinner the last time and brought it again for us! Amazing! You can imagine how special that made us feel! Especially as he insisted on reserving our "special" table for dinner each evening, even if he wasn't around, and offering words of encouragement as I tried to speak Portuguese (I'm still learning and not everyone can be bothered!)

On arrival we were greeted by Narciso and were offered sparkling wine and petit fours and an upgrade to a superior room, which was fabulous, beautifully designed and spotlessly clean, with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and the wonderful view of Funchal harbour. The hotel is select and its surroundings are luxurious and a joy to be around... we loved the spa, especially the jacuzzi which we never had to share with anyone else so it felt like our own personal treat, and we made use of the airy gym which is well-equipped, and has the most wonderful view of the city... you can watch cruise ships sailing into port whilst using the treadmill! The hotel has lots of quiet relaxation areas, lovely garden areas and a fabulous terrace overlooking the panoramic view.

The A La Carte menu in O Refugio do Monte restaurant is excellent with lots of choice and wonderfully cooked and beautifully presented food... we would recommend staying half board here as the food really is so enjoyable and great value for money, and the service is tip top as we've already pointed out.

A hire car would be useful for the location, and of course to explore the island itself, but we managed just as well without, walking everywhere and using the local bus (No 19) from the city centre to bring us back up the hill for a couple of euros... the bus lets you off at the end of the toboggan run and a short (very steep) walk gets you back to the Quinta in no time.. Madeira certainly keeps you fit!! The hotel offers a courtesy minibus service twice a day.

Our grateful thanks go of course to Nuno, who made our holiday so special once again, and this time to Narciso and his lovely staff who made us feel so welcome at this lovely hotel.... think twice about staying in the Funchal hotel district as you're really missing out on a treat!

The Quinta Mirabela is first class, fully deserving of its 5 star rating... we would not hesitate to return for a third visit and can fully recommend a stay here as we know you won't be disappointed... Nuno will see to that!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a superior room for that extra touch of luxury and a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic weeks holiday in Funchal. Staying at the Quinta Mirabela was amazing. A good healthy walk up from Funchal, this boutique hotel is a must, It exceeds the 5 star rating. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean and furnished to the highest standard. The traditonal building has been restored to the highest standard, with an extension to the front with a modern design which complements the traditional.
The views from the room where spectacular.
The staff are warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them, being our first visit to Funchal, we daily asked for adviice on where to go and what to see and which ever staff was on reception they would always be as helpful a they could.
Breakfast was plentiful, offering a self service continental range, so you could eat whatever you wanted, however you could also have hot if you wanted, There was plenty of fresh fruit on offer daily.
I would highly recommend Quinta Mirabela, whether it is for business or pleasure, it exceeds expectations.
Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday stay perfect, we could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the Marina, with spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Mirabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Mirabela

Address: Caminho do Monte 105-107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Mirabela 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quinta Mirabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Mirabela Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Hotel Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Mirabela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.