We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit to a fabulous hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Mirabela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Mirabela to your Saves list
Quinta Mirabela
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho do Monte 105-107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Alnmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Second visit to a fabulous hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We love Madeira and have stayed on the island several times, but we love Quinta Mirabela so much that we were tempted back for a second time. The location is wonderful... we love to have a room with a view on holiday and the view of Funchal from here is magnificent. Located on the Caminho do Monte, almost at the end of the famous Madeira toboggan run, there is lots of fun to be had watching the carreiros and guests hurtling down the very steep road in their wicker baskets and listening to their whoops of excited laughter.

We also love to be looked after and it was with great delight we met up again with Nuno who remembered us from the previous visit and even knew which wine we had chosen to have with dinner the last time and brought it again for us! Amazing! You can imagine how special that made us feel! Especially as he insisted on reserving our "special" table for dinner each evening, even if he wasn't around, and offering words of encouragement as I tried to speak Portuguese (I'm still learning and not everyone can be bothered!)

On arrival we were greeted by Narciso and were offered sparkling wine and petit fours and an upgrade to a superior room, which was fabulous, beautifully designed and spotlessly clean, with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and the wonderful view of Funchal harbour. The hotel is select and its surroundings are luxurious and a joy to be around... we loved the spa, especially the jacuzzi which we never had to share with anyone else so it felt like our own personal treat, and we made use of the airy gym which is well-equipped, and has the most wonderful view of the city... you can watch cruise ships sailing into port whilst using the treadmill! The hotel has lots of quiet relaxation areas, lovely garden areas and a fabulous terrace overlooking the panoramic view.

The A La Carte menu in O Refugio do Monte restaurant is excellent with lots of choice and wonderfully cooked and beautifully presented food... we would recommend staying half board here as the food really is so enjoyable and great value for money, and the service is tip top as we've already pointed out.

A hire car would be useful for the location, and of course to explore the island itself, but we managed just as well without, walking everywhere and using the local bus (No 19) from the city centre to bring us back up the hill for a couple of euros... the bus lets you off at the end of the toboggan run and a short (very steep) walk gets you back to the Quinta in no time.. Madeira certainly keeps you fit!! The hotel offers a courtesy minibus service twice a day.

Our grateful thanks go of course to Nuno, who made our holiday so special once again, and this time to Narciso and his lovely staff who made us feel so welcome at this lovely hotel.... think twice about staying in the Funchal hotel district as you're really missing out on a treat!

The Quinta Mirabela is first class, fully deserving of its 5 star rating... we would not hesitate to return for a third visit and can fully recommend a stay here as we know you won't be disappointed... Nuno will see to that!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a superior room for that extra touch of luxury and a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    45
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
9
122
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic weeks holiday in Funchal. Staying at the Quinta Mirabela was amazing. A good healthy walk up from Funchal, this boutique hotel is a must, It exceeds the 5 star rating. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean and furnished to the highest standard. The traditonal building has been restored to the highest standard, with an extension to the front with a modern design which complements the traditional.
The views from the room where spectacular.
The staff are warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them, being our first visit to Funchal, we daily asked for adviice on where to go and what to see and which ever staff was on reception they would always be as helpful a they could.
Breakfast was plentiful, offering a self service continental range, so you could eat whatever you wanted, however you could also have hot if you wanted, There was plenty of fresh fruit on offer daily.
I would highly recommend Quinta Mirabela, whether it is for business or pleasure, it exceeds expectations.
Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday stay perfect, we could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the Marina, with spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked this trip rather late and got a good offer, the hotel was absolutely spot on, service was excellent, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was excellent with a choice of hot and cold and really good choices. Facilities were excellent too. It is places like this that make so many others seem mediocre. Looks down on the city and ocean, giving beautiful views, the price one pays for this is staying on a mountain side, but with your own transport it doesn't create a problem. There is good public transport, but one has to walk up a steep hill for a short distance, so if you have walking difficulties, a hire car is a must, unless you can work around the twice daily hotel transport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I should have written this review back in February/March but forgot - must be an age thing.

If you are contemplating going to Funchal, and you do not mind a bit of exercise (or getting buses/taxis), then this hotel is a MUST.

A boutique hotel but with the service and quality you would expect for a larger, luxury brand hotel.

The hotel manager was a god send - helped us out no end when we hit problems with our flight home.

The room was lovely, very clean and wonderfully serviced each day.

Our evening meals were wonderfully cooked and presented.

I would be very surprised if we returned to Funchal (been there, done that - and it's a whole big world out there), but if we ever did, then I would return to The Quinta Mirabela.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maldon essex
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The new part of the hotel is sleek designer with beautiful decor in the lobby.

We only called in as we were on the way down from Monte and were caught in a monsoon type Madeiran rainstorm which can soak you to the skin in 30 seconds flat.

Was very impressed by the friendliness of the concierge who welcomed in two very wet walkers and seemed not to turn a hair at the puddles we caused on the polished floor.

If the hotel's service is as friendly as the welcome we got then I would say go there.

There was also a very impressive view over Funchal from its balcony.

Our only comment was that if you stayed there you would need to rely on taxis or have a car as the road in which the hotel was in was very very steep!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FUNCHAL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had an excellent time, the restaurant had a wonderful dinner and breakfast, the hotel had many
amenities beyond our needs with a beautiful view. I highly recommend them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were recommended to eat here for the Saturday night June fireworks. The menu offered did not sound too exciting on the telephone but the price of Euros 25 was amazing. How could we go wrong? The hotel is just superb, modern styling and very restful. We were shown to our table on the terrace and the view was magical.

Service and dinner was totally excellent. Ceviche of swordfish, superb chicken soup, duck breast on spiced rice and fresh fruit with zabaglione complete the offer!

We were given a tour of the bedrooms and would have no hesitation staying here in 2013. OK it is a taxi ride from the town centre but it is well worth the effort. Peace and tranquility await - even the chiming Church clock has charm

P.S. The clock is turned off at night!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the de-luxe rooms. The view is magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quinta Mirabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Mirabela

Address: Caminho do Monte 105-107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Mirabela 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Quinta Mirabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Mirabela Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Hotel Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Mirabela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.