We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Mirabela

Save Saved
You added Quinta Mirabela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Mirabela
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho do Monte 105-107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 91 hotels in Funchal
somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked this trip rather late and got a good offer, the hotel was absolutely spot on, service was excellent, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was excellent with a choice of hot and cold and really good choices. Facilities were excellent too. It is places like this that make so many others seem mediocre. Looks down on the city and ocean, giving beautiful views, the price one pays for this is staying on a mountain side, but with your own transport it doesn't create a problem. There is good public transport, but one has to walk up a steep hill for a short distance, so if you have walking difficulties, a hire car is a must, unless you can work around the twice daily hotel transport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    37
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
9
109
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I should have written this review back in February/March but forgot - must be an age thing.

If you are contemplating going to Funchal, and you do not mind a bit of exercise (or getting buses/taxis), then this hotel is a MUST.

A boutique hotel but with the service and quality you would expect for a larger, luxury brand hotel.

The hotel manager was a god send - helped us out no end when we hit problems with our flight home.

The room was lovely, very clean and wonderfully serviced each day.

Our evening meals were wonderfully cooked and presented.

I would be very surprised if we returned to Funchal (been there, done that - and it's a whole big world out there), but if we ever did, then I would return to The Quinta Mirabela.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maldon essex
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The new part of the hotel is sleek designer with beautiful decor in the lobby.

We only called in as we were on the way down from Monte and were caught in a monsoon type Madeiran rainstorm which can soak you to the skin in 30 seconds flat.

Was very impressed by the friendliness of the concierge who welcomed in two very wet walkers and seemed not to turn a hair at the puddles we caused on the polished floor.

If the hotel's service is as friendly as the welcome we got then I would say go there.

There was also a very impressive view over Funchal from its balcony.

Our only comment was that if you stayed there you would need to rely on taxis or have a car as the road in which the hotel was in was very very steep!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FUNCHAL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had an excellent time, the restaurant had a wonderful dinner and breakfast, the hotel had many
amenities beyond our needs with a beautiful view. I highly recommend them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were recommended to eat here for the Saturday night June fireworks. The menu offered did not sound too exciting on the telephone but the price of Euros 25 was amazing. How could we go wrong? The hotel is just superb, modern styling and very restful. We were shown to our table on the terrace and the view was magical.

Service and dinner was totally excellent. Ceviche of swordfish, superb chicken soup, duck breast on spiced rice and fresh fruit with zabaglione complete the offer!

We were given a tour of the bedrooms and would have no hesitation staying here in 2013. OK it is a taxi ride from the town centre but it is well worth the effort. Peace and tranquility await - even the chiming Church clock has charm

P.S. The clock is turned off at night!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the de-luxe rooms. The view is magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

A lot has been written about the Quinta Mirabela already, including some more negative comments. Some of those are true, others just depend on what you want. Yes, it's beautifully located above Funchal, which means that it's up a very steep road - that's just how Funchal is laid out. The design is modern and original and makes fantastic use of the location on the hill, with it's multi-level implementation of different terraces and all rooms have sea view. It's an oasis where one can easily while away a few days - it's quiet and private (with only 24 rooms), and has plenty of faculties (a nice spa, gym, small, but well equipped gym, large pool table, etc.). And it has a great restaurant, though that's also almost needed - there are no alternatives within any degree of walking distance. The menu, though, was amazing, adn we must have sampled most dishes in the week we were there, and found it surprisingly good value for a 5* place. They even have a special pizza over, with very good results. Perhaps the only thing that convince impress us was their home-made icecream.
Others have commented on the breakfast, and the selection not being very extensive. That is true, but then again they are only catering to less than 50 people. Thus there is no waffle station or other special things many modern 5* places provide. But we enjoyed it, there is prosecco included, and it's nicely small and familiar.
Reaching the place on foot is not really an option - the road outside is really just too steep. The hotel offers a free shuttle to town twice a day though, which we used - best way to reach Funchal. We also rented a car for the same rate we would have paid in town, and had the car brought to and picked up from the hotel, great service. For those with good shoes it is possible to walk down to a road intersection about 150 m down, from where you can catch a bus. Thus it works.
The rooms were very nice and we through they were very clean and well-kept. True there was no fruit basket or complementary water, as others have pointed out, but that didn't bother us. What I missed was wifi, though there are 2 free-of-charge PCs in the public spaces of the hotel, and they told me wifi is currently being installed.
Somewhere it said that the pool would be heated, but that was unfortunately not the case. We went in early June, and the water was still quite cold.
All in all, we loved the place and have already been recommending it. For a week or so it's great, especially if you are not into a beach vacation.

Room Tip: all water facing. There are some facing the pool with a balcony, which is not for everyone. We had o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trikala
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

+view,very friendly staff(excellent behavior), clean, luxury, good rooms, nice swimming pool, nice terrace view, design, free parking, hydromassage (water massage)


--no wi-fi (just a pc in the lounge room
-simply breakfast (still satisfied)
-far from the cinty center (DEFENITELY NEED A CAR!)

definetely recommend it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Mirabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Mirabela

Address: Caminho do Monte 105-107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Mirabela 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Quinta Mirabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Mirabela Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Hotel Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Mirabela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.