We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“black sand beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Praia Formosa Beach Madeira

Praia Formosa Beach Madeira
Estrada Monumental, Funchal, Madeira Funchal 1000, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 101 things to do in Funchal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“black sand beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The largest beach on Madeira island, with a few bars/restaurants, wc facilities, showers and parking space. From downtown take bus No. 1 to get there, you will need to walk a few minutes from the bus stop (on-board ticket 1.90 Euro). The beach is black sand/rock. On December 30 and 31, 2013 water in the ocean was pretty warm - around 20 degrees, so you could even take a swim. The air temperature was similar. The best swim of the year :-)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
249 attraction reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“large boulders nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

at the end of the long pedestrian walk all along the hotel-zone you,ll find this rocky beach with a fine view of cabo girao,the high cliffs of madeira,s south shore

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Black Sandy Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Whilst on our recent holiday in Funchal , we walked from the Lido to Camara De Lobos along the coast .
After reaching Doca dos Cavacas Restaurant we had a drink there before going through the tunnel and along a footpath to the Yacht Bar ,where we stopped again for a drink !!! The first part of the beach had large pebbles and was quite difficult to walk over until we reached a boardwalk to Praia Formosa Beach .
The main part of the beach was a flat stretch of black sand which was busy with local families .There are cafes , toilets and showers and I was able to go swimming in the sea before continuing on our walk to Camara De Lobos which provides stunning views of this stretch of coastline .
Well worth a visit .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Long natural black sand and pebble beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This beach is on the south coast between the tunnel (where the natural swimming pools are at the Doca dos Cavacos restaurant) and westwards towards Camara de Lobos. Very popular with locals and tourists who like to swim, the beach is steep with large pebbles at the eastern end by the Yacht Bar and The Restaurant by the Sea but has level flat black sand at the other where there is a small rocky outcrop headland. At this end there are beach umbrellas and families with children making sandcastles and playing games. There are also popular cafe bars on the esplanade here and a good seaside buzz. Also nice clean public showers and loos provided. Reach the beach by car or bus off the Estrada Monumental just west of the ugly hanging angel monument. We go down to this beach almost every the evening of our stay as our hotel overlooks the beach. We don't go to swim there- although many do in the evenings -but to watch the spectacular sunsets in the early and later seasons and eat at the excellent fresh fish restaurants . On the coast walk/ esplanade, you can walk all the way east through the tunnel towards the Funchal Lido and now also westwards all the way into Camara de Lobos fishing village. The only bit of the path missing is along the edge of a cleared former commercial site near the Yacht Bar (that the Madeirans have been hoping to develop into a tourist area for some years) but its easy enough to detour around it using the road by the ByThe Sea Restaurant and then back to the beach. The pebble end of the beach does get storm damaged in some wild winters and the tunnel closed, but they always bulldoze the pebbles back into place and its business as usual and very promptly. A great place to visit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mechanical Mayhem”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel was adjacent to part of the beach (actually stones) was being repaired and the tunnel through the caves was closed and isolated from the promenade. Dust was flying about, it was noisey
outside the hotel all week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praia Formosa Beach Madeira also viewed

 

Been to Praia Formosa Beach Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praia Formosa Beach Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.