We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building and staff, cost cutting non existant management.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardim da Serra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Quinta Jardim da Serra to your Saves list
Quinta Jardim da Serra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sitio da Fonte Frade, Jardim da Serra | Camara de Lobos, Funchal, Madeira 9325-134, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Faversham, Kent
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely building and staff, cost cutting non existant management.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked this as it was described as quiet and 5 star. Well it is quiet and very isolated. It is by no means 5 star, the food is awfull and despite complainiing it did not improve so after the first 2 nights of a 10 night stay we ate out. There is a good selections of restaurants and snack bars in Funchal and Camara de Lobos, you can get here either by the hotel bus or the local one.
The positives to this hotel is the building and the pool but mainly the staff. Unfortunately one of the best ones seem to be leaving. They are trying very hard to cover up the appaling management who only seem concerned with cost cutting. For example the air conditioning has not been turned on for much longer than our tay here. Also the lift has not worked since August (confirmed by a member of staff)!. The atmosphere reaks of anything to save money. The hot plates are not tuned on so all the plates are cold. The hot buffet is not on but small hot dishes holding cut up hot dog sausages, thin bacon, baked beans, tomatoes and tinned mushrooms. This food is cold when put in. I complained after 3 days and then hot water was put in the dishes and the plate warmer turned on for 2 days, but off again this morning. The gardens are magnificent but very neglected, you can see why they have won an award for them but now they are unkempt and sad.
Basic mistakes are being made to cut costs, try increasing revinue! There is never any staff in the bar, so you have to ask for a drink, same thing with the pool area, you have to ring the reception. If the food in the restaurant is appaling people will not buy it. It was cold, precooked and served on a cold plate. The service staff were very attentive and I felt embarressed by the standards of the cooking. There is obviously junior, inexperienced kitchen staff using cheap ingriedients and it shows. We got drinks from local shops and had those as it was easier than waiting for someone to get ours. However we would have ordered them here if someone had been on hand.
We book out tomorrow and fear this is a failing hotel that will close. A couple came 2 days ago and booked out this morning to another hotel.
There is only internet access in the reception, a fridge in your room is not a mini bar, and only a bar of soap and some shower gell in your room. Not 5 star at all. The gardens are full of fresh fruit but non evident in the hotel. What a waste. Rooms were uncomfortably hot at night due to no air con and the local dogs very vocal. The matress was the hardest I have ever slept on and the staff told me this was a problem in all rooms. They put some extra blankets on to try and soften it but this did not work. The heat at night, hard bed and old fashioned bedding meant I slept very badly. If they are not going to push hot drinks then they could at least give tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. There is a small shop down the hill that will open up amd sell you water etc. Again very nice. I would hate to bring children here, no pool attendent ever, terraced garden not suitable for them as you would be on edge trying to entertain children. Also this is a good hour from Funchal on the public bus and I would say a 45 minute drive, if you are brave enough! Sat nav does not work up this far and the roads are challenging to say the least. Unless you are a very experienced, confident and brave driver I would stick to the busses!

Room Tip: The sea views are great, if distant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The gardens were lovely, the trip to the town center is nowhere near walking distance but there is a free shuttle bus throughout the week provided by the hotel to funchal and back. The new chef made some hit and miss meals, some were absolutely beautiful such as the cod and blackberry dish I had on my first night and the stuffed octopus with black spaghetti on the last night. Really enjoyed the fresh fruit and vegetables used in the food grown locally. The staff I thought were absolutely lovely, a little short staffed perhaps for such a big hotel but they are all really friendly and helpful, particularly Joyce the young chinese girl working at the resturant, Agnes on reception as well as all the other reception staff and I believe the name was Vitor of the waiting staff in the restaurant who also provided excellent service. The food did take too long to arrive on occasion in the restaurant and sometimes there were no staff around at all but I didn't mind too much as they were so friendly anyway. The pool, jacuzzi, turkish bath and sunbathing areas were lovely and relaxing and never too full to enjoy. You almost always had the pool to yourself to share with whoever you were with. Also some excellent spa and reiki treatments available. Staff were very accommodating and helped to get us British folk a kettle for our room when were dying for a cup of tea and also ironed my clothes for me free of charge. Rooms were beautiful, decorated simply but stylishly and were clean with balcony. I really recommend this place for a good rest, perhaps not if you want to be close to the center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have just stayed for a week and had a wonderful time. The hotel, grounds, staff, facilities, cleanliness, food, rooms, etc were all very good, no complaints. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We wanted a nice, quiet hotel to take a much needed break and we will go again. Fiona and Dave

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Although I've lived in Madeira for 15 years, my daughter suggested that my wife and I spend a couple of nights with herself and her husband in the Quinta Jardim da Serra.
I must confess that this simply an amazing place to chill and enjoy the Madeiran mountains.
Don't be put off by the isolation of the Hotel, as the views (and grounds) are a well kept secret.
The pool and hot tub were impeccable, and design / layout were well thought out.
On arrival, we were treated to a bottle of bubbly, chocolates and towels shaped as swans.
It the little things that make the difference.
Contrary to other reviews, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
We will definetly be making a trip to the Quinta Jardim da Serra an annual event...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I have been back to this lovely hotel. It's peacefull, has all I need, rooms are cosy and modern, views are wonderfull! Has a great heated indoor pool, jaccuzy and Turkish bath, and my personal favorite, the gardens! Woderfull, colourfull Camelia trees, and lots more! It's very quiet, staff is always at healp, not many but very hands on! Only downside, the driving to get there, it can get a bit confusing at first but it's well worth the effort. Nice Levada walks and amazing View points. Just a place i recommend i will go back for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms at the top side for a better view and modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Despite some of the adverse reviews about the sevice, all the staff here were extremely helpful and polite. We stayed for one week which just flew by. We hired a car from the airport, (an absolute must) for around £130 which gave us the freedom to come and go as we pleased. We took our own sat. nav. which worked ok, but with the constant road upgrades, didn't always work out right. The drive to the hotel was a scary journey as the sat. nav. took us up some dead ends and some really tight steep bends. My advice would be stay on the main roads and just keep going up! After a few times we got the hang of it. The hotel runs a free mini-bus service to Funchal and back, but if you miss it or want to stay longer, although there are plenty of taxis, I think they are quite expensive.
The room we had was large with a fridge, super-king size bed, (a bit hard for us), on the third floor overlooking Camara Do Lobos harbour in the distance. The swimming pool is just like the photo, but not very warm, but the sauna/turkish bath was out of service.
The games room has a pool table next to Henrys Bar which was free with some card tables and games.
The resteraunt was nice with a buffet style breakfast serving a variety of hot and cold dishes, english and continental. We only had one evening meal here, which was good, but worked out quite expensive. There are a few supermarkets close by to stock up with cheap wine and food to take back to your room. The hotel staff are ok with this.
Lots of good restaraunts in Funchal, with a cheap multi storey car park near the coach station and taxi rank (All day parking less than 6 Euros). Some cheap and good restaraunts under the cable car run.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

It was about my fourth time in this hotel and certainly not the last... Excelent arquitecture with a superb indoor pool. The rooms are facing a beautiful variety of amazing trees... Never had dinner but found the staff quite friendly. Take a nice book and your girl and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of true Madeira Quinta...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Jardim da Serra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardim da Serra

Address: 1 Sitio da Fonte Frade, Jardim da Serra | Camara de Lobos, Funchal, Madeira 9325-134, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardim da Serra 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta Jardim da Serra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardim Da Serra Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardim Da Serra Funchal
Quinta Jardim Da Serra Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardim da Serra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.