We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a welcome break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Tea House

Magic Tea House
R. Ponta da Cruz, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 422 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Cambridge England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“a welcome break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nicely situated on the coastal walk in Funchal The Magic tea room is clean and comfortable with free newspapers and some really good cake. We visited a number of times and were pleased with the good tea and service. note smoking is permitted on the terrace and so I'd say get a smoke free seat inside if this worries you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nice cafe to relax a while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a pleasant stopping place when walking along the from Lido area to Ajuda and further. They serve drinks, light meals and make a really good pot of refreshing tea (can be rare here). They have English papers and you can sit in or out. A nice corner spot near to Pestana Grand.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relax after walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lovely place to sit and relax during a 10km levada walk. China cups and a tea pot, gorgeous scones and cakes and tasty sandwiches. A wonderful panoramic view of Funchal. What more would a visitor require?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Western Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea and a walk in the garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nice place to have afternoon tea with scones och a full English breakfast or just a drink. Afterwards you can step in to the small but very beautiful garden behind the Magic Tea House.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“secret surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Discovered this Magic Tea House by chance a short walk from our hotel the Regency Cliff Hotel last year. We stopped for a glass of wine and found we could go round their lovely gardens which we greatly enjoyed so of course we took a return trip recently and can report still a delight to visit. Beautiful plants and flowers, reguarly looked after.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Tea House also viewed

 

Been to Magic Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Tea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.