We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lince Hotel Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lince Hotel Madeira to your Saves list
Lince Hotel Madeira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 274, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent hotel great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

we spent a week at this hotel mid june 2013 ,the location is very close to buses right outside and the centre is about 30 minutes walk .
staff are very helpful and friendly. the rooms are spacious modern and clean with air conditioning .
breakfast was excellent, plenty of good quality food .
evening dinner was of high standard . served with very polite waiters.I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room in quiet side of hotel as it fronts on to busy street. Also ask for sea view as some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    53
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
91
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

the hotel is situated opposite a bus stop to get into Funchal or a 25min walk. It is surrounded by good quality reasonably priced resaurants such as La Bamba and O Dradoeiro which are to the left of the hotel and up the hill. A 3course tourist meal can be bought for 15.90euro, the only drawback is the wine costs the same as the meal.We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis so cannot coment on the evening meal, but we found the breakfast perfectly acceptable with a selection of fresh fruit,yogurt, and hot and cold food The hotel itself has spacious bedrooms comfy beds and very pleasant staff. The pool and public rooms are kept spotlessly clean. My only complaint is a shortage of coat hangers(take your own] and the bathroom has one of those awful shower curtains that stick to you, a wastebin in the bedroom would be useful too.
For our trips round the island we used Lido tours (turn right outside the hotel, next to four views monumental] We couldn't fault the standard of the tours, in an 8 seater mini bus with Marco as our guide.
In Funchal itself a visit to both the Botanical and Tropical Gardens are not to be missed. The farmers market is very interesting as it has many exotic fruits [samples freely available] and unusual flowers. We purchased lots of bulbs which were on sale, whether they grow is another matter. For a cheap snack and drink cafe concerto in the municipal gardens is in a very pleasant setting. A very enjoyable holiday with lovely weather; the only down side is the crowds coming off the cruise ships.

Room Tip: ask for a high room as there is a lot of road noise, but not a problem when doors shut and air con o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed 10 day's. Good size rooms although ones at the back would be best for light sleepers. Incredibly friendly staff,nothing was to much trouble. Buffet breakfast was fine providing plenty of choices. All in all a good choice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

we spent seven nights at the Lince (Madeira Lido Atlantic Great Hotel), from 19 - 25 April 2013. The location is very good, it is in what is called the 'Hotel district' of Funchal, around 20 minutes walk to the old town.The roads to the centre, go up and down, but the walk is lovely.
We chose half board. The evening meals, were on the whole good. They were three course dinners which varied each night. Although the menu is fixed, their is room for some flexibility - they will always try to accommodate your needs.The chefs are creative, trying new things on a daily basis.The Waiters work hard and are attentive.
The rooms are clean and spacious.There are small televisions on the walls. There is a small cooler in each room - these are not sufficient to chill a bottle of water. We had a room on the third floor, which was at the side of the main road. The road is busy, but we did not mind the noise as we sat on our balconies.
Overall the staff are approachable, friendly and always available, should you need advice.
There is WIFI and a computer in the reception / lounge area. This could be improved because you have to be in this area to be able to get on the internet.

Overall, this is a good hotel, which will not disappoint you.

Room Tip: If a quiet sleep is what you are after, try the highest floors away from the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

booked on the web.The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. About 25 minute walk into the centre of Funchal. There are a number of really good restaurants within a 10 minute walk. the airport bus stops outside

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The rooms are large and kept very clean. The staff are very helpful. The view from the outdoor pool on the forth floor is good. Unfortunately the down side to this hotel is the location being by a busy roundabout so sitting out on the balcony listening to the traffic is not so good.
Also the breakfasts being a buffet style catering for continental and English are a nice idea but for some reason don't keep the cooked food warm even when it opened at 7:30. The only items that are warm are the toast you do yourself and the coffee.
Another down side was the hotels policy decision to turn off all the air conditioning for the whole floor/hotel because a single couple (who were staying a month) said it was to cold. One option was to keep the door to the balcony open so you could get a cool breeze along with the traffic noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked the hotel on an internet deal which made it incredibly good value. The hotel was modern, very clean and is located a short bus ride from the centre of town (about 10 minutes) with a stop of the Aero bus to the airport literally on their doorstep. Our room was big and modern and was kept clean throughout, as was the bathroom. We had a big balcony with double glazing, on to the side street but still with a view of the sea. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and replied promptly to our emails before we got there and once we were in Funchal of great help arranging taxis to drop us in walks. The room came with 600 free internet mins that came in handy when checking timetables and checking-in for the flights. Will (and have done) recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lince Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lince Hotel Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 274, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lince Hotel Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Lince Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lince Hotel Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lince Hotel Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.