We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new restaurant from an established team” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna Da Esquina

Taberna Da Esquina
Rua Santa Maria N0119 a 125, Funchal, Madeira 9060-291, Portugal
291 231 720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 421 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant from an established team”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent quality fish restaurant in the Old Town, not far from Gavio Novo of the same management.

Stunning fresh fish and genuine (and illegal) laurel skewers for their quality Espedata.

Friendly and classy service. Comfortable ambiance.

Quiet so far but this one's a winner :-)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    95
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit for good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

New on the scene this restaurant gives you a very warm feeling and they have created a lovely atmosphere. Very nice decor with calming colours and natural stone walls. Service was excellent. We had some very nice home made bread which was a nice touch and a good talking point. The olives very nice, with an excellent Portuguese Wine List at sensible prices. Starters are a little expensive but main courses are on a par with other restaurants. Food was of a very good standard, nicely presented and the Espetada was cooked exactly as requested. Finished off with a superb coffees. Will go again and take our visitors.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A fine addition to the Madeiran dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have been to this new restaurant twice and had a good experience there on both occasions. On the first occasion I had onion homemade onion soup followed by filet steak (blue) with a pepper sauce. Both steak and sauce were perfect to my taste. On the second occasion I had Limpets (Lapas) as a starter followed by Espetada Filet Steak (rare) cooked on a laurel stick, from which it was removed to serve on the plate. The espetada steak was excellent, again perfectly cooked to my taste.

These days for health and safety reasons the Lapas served in Madeiran restaurants all seem to be frozen whereas there were some, in past years, that served them fresh. The difference is that it seems not to be possible to cook frozen Lapas without their being of a slightly rubbery consistency when served.

There is an excellent wine list at this restaurant and though the setting is formal the Staff are friendly and helpful. On both occasions I dined in the courtyard at the rear of the premises. On my first visit I had no difficulty in moving tables when I realised that my back was too warm from the barbecue and on the second occasion having asked to sit on the road side of the restaurant, I quickly asked for a move when I realised that there was a problem from fumes from cars passing in the narrow street on the other side of the screening.

A first class restaurant at reasonable prices with a lovely ambience and good service. On the way out I sneaked a look at the kitchen. Impressive and state of the art.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A new venture from the owner of Gaviao Novo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A newly and beautifully restored exceptionally large restaurant for the area with a large inner courtyard, 'The Tavern on the Corner' in Rua Santa Maria is a new venture by Rui, the owner of the nearby Gaviao Novo, with a new and more upmarket cuisine but similar pricing and the same high standard of cooking one has come to expect from the smaller place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First class restaurant excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant in the old town of Funchal and decided to give it a try. The food was the best we had in Madeira freshly cooked, beautifully presented and extremely tasty. We returned 2 nights later and were greeted warmly by the friendly staff and again had an excellent first class dinner. In our opinion this restaurant compares to top restaurants in our home Island of Guernsey. Well done and wish them every success. Martyn and Ann Seabrook

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Da Esquina also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Taberna Da Esquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna Da Esquina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.