We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best apple pie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Vela Branca

A Vela Branca
Rua Simplicio P. Gouveia FR, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
291934494
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 417 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best apple pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Four of us have just returned to England and are missing the lovely Rita and her apple pie. This is an extremely well priced restaurant with great service and atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    45
    3
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent, well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were staying in the Porto Mare hotel opposite this restaurant and chatted to the front man on the way to the supermarket. He was not pushy or intrusive but explained their food in a relaxed and friendly manner. He then gave us a voucher for the evening which entitled us a free bottle of wine, and a free starter each of curried shrimp (prawns as we would say).
We visited that evening and It seemed to good to be true but it was not, the food was excellent the wine was amazingly good and the service was very friendly and efficient. The portions of the main course were so large we felt guilty as we had to leave at least a third, however the waitress stated that is what they built their reputation on.
Long may they bask in there success, they work hard and deserve it.
Visited again that week and will definitely visit next time we are there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds UK
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“give it a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Comfortable room, we had scabbard fish, two fillets each and loved the FIVE fresh vegetables plus potatoes. Not expensive, good house wine. Very near Porto Mare (underneath Grandmas house)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Second time we have eaten here .....excellent food. Gretted at the door and taken to the table quickly. Then the service gets slow, but worth waiting for. eat the bolo caco bread and olives whilst waiting. Starters was a plate of cheses then I had 6 fried moules and chips, husband espada bana, wine and water, desserts and it came to 42.20 euros. Very good value

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eat here if you are very hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

As already advised, this is a new location for the restaurant. The room is very bright and, when full, very crowded. They could do with removing a few tables. The chef flambés various dishes in front of you. We only had one course, luckily, as you get huge portions. Food is well cooked, service was a bit slow as we didn't have a starter and the place was packed. Worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Vela Branca also viewed

 

Been to A Vela Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Vela Branca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;