We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, well worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Vela Branca

A Vela Branca
Rua Simplicio P. Gouveia FR, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
291934494
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 413 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent, well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were staying in the Porto Mare hotel opposite this restaurant and chatted to the front man on the way to the supermarket. He was not pushy or intrusive but explained their food in a relaxed and friendly manner. He then gave us a voucher for the evening which entitled us a free bottle of wine, and a free starter each of curried shrimp (prawns as we would say).
We visited that evening and It seemed to good to be true but it was not, the food was excellent the wine was amazingly good and the service was very friendly and efficient. The portions of the main course were so large we felt guilty as we had to leave at least a third, however the waitress stated that is what they built their reputation on.
Long may they bask in there success, they work hard and deserve it.
Visited again that week and will definitely visit next time we are there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    51
    3
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds UK
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“give it a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Comfortable room, we had scabbard fish, two fillets each and loved the FIVE fresh vegetables plus potatoes. Not expensive, good house wine. Very near Porto Mare (underneath Grandmas house)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Second time we have eaten here .....excellent food. Gretted at the door and taken to the table quickly. Then the service gets slow, but worth waiting for. eat the bolo caco bread and olives whilst waiting. Starters was a plate of cheses then I had 6 fried moules and chips, husband espada bana, wine and water, desserts and it came to 42.20 euros. Very good value

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eat here if you are very hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

As already advised, this is a new location for the restaurant. The room is very bright and, when full, very crowded. They could do with removing a few tables. The chef flambés various dishes in front of you. We only had one course, luckily, as you get huge portions. Food is well cooked, service was a bit slow as we didn't have a starter and the place was packed. Worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Good location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went to this restaurant twice for lunch; it is very conveniently situated in the lido and the staff is very welcoming. we had limpets, the speciality of the island, to start with; they were very tasty; my husband had lamb chops the first time, steak the second time; the meat was very copious and so were the accompanying freshly cooked vegetables and potatoes. I had espada, another speciality of the island, the first time; it was rather dry to my taste. I had rabbit in wine sauce the second time; it did not look appetizing, the pieces were not correctly cut and therefore there were plenty of small sharp bones which I did find unpleasant; both my dishes were served with lots of potatoes and fresh vegetables. At the end of the meal we were offered some passion fruit liquor which was very nice. We will most probably go back next year as the staff is extremely friendly and also to try their flambes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Vela Branca also viewed

 

Been to A Vela Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Vela Branca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.