We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cafe...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sessanta Caffe

Sessanta Caffe
Rua da Queimada de Cima no 60, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 422 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Coventry, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great little cafe...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stumbled accross this small cafe whilst looking for somewhere to eat and drink. Located in a small back street, there are plenty other cafes in the area but this one caught our eye. Sitting area outside, with friendly service. Great for people watching and relaxing. There are also seats inside.
Good coffee and and choice of panini's. My wife thought the red "house" wine was that good she purchased a couple of bottles !!.
Great overall value for money

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otilia F, Propriétaire at Sessanta Caffe, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank's, hope see you soon

Otilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in Funchal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

After several visits to Funchal we found Sessanta Coffe to enjoy our morning cup of coffee. Sessanta also offer excellent cappucino and latte, the best coffee in Funchal. Sessanta is a small and very clean place with a friendly atmosfære. They also serve tasty small meal for lunch. Sessanta is located in a small street between the Cathedral and the Town Hall. Easy to find, enjoy your coffee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otilia F, Propriétaire at Sessanta Caffe, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
thank's
hope see you soon

Otilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee, friendly service and very clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not impressed by Delta coffee, which seems to be sold almost everywhere in Funchal, we searched around the town and found Sessanta, selling Illy coffee. A very good find. Although small inside, there is seating outside with quite a bit of room. Having discovered the place, we went there every day and also had a very nice lunch. It is spotlessly clean, the food is freshly prepared (I saw it being done) and on one occasion, having accidentally left a sweater there on the back of a chair, I returned a couple of hours later to find that they had it on a coat hanger in the storeroom waiting for me. Not easy to find, it is best described as being in one of the streets running parallel and behind the Zara shop.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otilia F, Propriétaire at Sessanta Caffe, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
thank's
hope see you soon

Otilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Funchal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a small and very smart cafe. The coffee was delicious, the best we had tasted in town, better than the newly opened The Ritz.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otilia F, Propriétaire at Sessanta Caffe, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
thank's
hope see you soon

Otilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sessanta Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Sessanta Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sessanta Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.