We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laurel Forest Levada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Levada Walks

Levada Walks
C. C. Monumental Lido 1st Floor, Shop 23, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 78 Activities in Funchal
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Laurel Forest Levada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We knew we wanted to do at least one levada walk while we were in Madeira. We choose to walk in the Laurel Forest (Laurasilva). It was a really nice, easy walk through the woods, with several peek-a-boo views out to the surrounding hills. One of the reasons we choose this levada is because we knew it would be easy and cool, due to the trees. We were not disappointed. We loved it! We wished we had had time to do another walk while we were there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    21
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Avoid the guided tours and DIY!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went on an easy walk with a guide at a cost of 23 euros each. Frustrating having to keep stopping every 5 minutes for a observation of local flora in multiple languages and then lots of stops for little sales pitches. Very little actual walking! Next time will definitely do it on our own with a map.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Easy but interesting walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We tried the half day easy levada walk and wished we had time to try the moderate one. Our guide, Sophia, was knowledgeable and stressed the safety aspects, though the levada walks are safe having paths at the side of the levada (which are irrigation channels). It is advisable to take a waterproof, water and walking boots/strong shoes. One of the best things was that Sophia informed us about all the vegetation we met along the route, telling us the problem invasive plants as well as the natural flora and fauna. A drawback is that there is no toilet available except at the end of the walk, which ended in a lovely little cafe where some of our group sampled the local drink-poncha.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The guided lavada walks are a must for anyone visiting Madiera. The guides are extremely knowledgable, not only about the history and surroundings of the Lavadas but importantly how to stay safe ! The fauna and flora and the views are just stunning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Rabacal to 25 Fontes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a MUST do walk...

Hike Boots or sturdy walking trainers are highly recommended (as is a torch!) with a packed lunch and plenty of water as you will walk the narrow, steep levada 11 km pathways to the 25 fountains flowing into natural pool within the rocks.

The scenery and plants are exceptional along the way.

The water is very cooling and as you walk along you can see the young rainbow trout darting upstream along the levada beside you.

Our guide Sophia was excellent!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levada Walks also viewed

 

Been to Levada Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Levada Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.