We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming small country house hotel with excellent service and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Save Saved
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A charming small country house hotel with excellent service and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We planned to stay for three nights, but as a result of air traffic control problems and then gale force winds, ended up staying for a further four and this delightful hotel more than compensated for our disrupted plans. First impressions on arrival are that the hotel is in a somewhat suburban environment, but once through the door its elegance is revealed and the well-fitted and good-sized rooms all look out over magnificent tranquil gardens. Meals are served in the old part of the original manor house and are of excellent standard, although the menu could become limited if staying for more than one week. However, as we discovered, individual requests to vary the a la carte dishes were dealt with most obligingly by the restaurant staff who were universally friendly and efficient as were everyone we came in contact with. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    54
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
413
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

It was our third time at Jardins Do Lago. This time with our daughter of 14 months old. We were a bit nervous and didn't know if we could enjoy the stay. We booked for 2 weeks and really... again it was too short.
Again the exceptional service, the well-kept spacious rooms, the nice panorama, the nearness of Funchal (but not in the touristic part of it), the gastronomic kitchen (at evening), the small but nice snacks at the pool, the marvelous cocktails.... and ooh so much more. Every year I go visiting other hotels, just because I'm rather curious. You choose this hotel for the rest, the beauty, the nice swimming pool... The photos above are like it is. No fake, but real paradise. The thing is that the team is making the difference! If it is the head of the team or one of the managers or the housekeepers, they are one by one so service-oriented and they really do the best to feel you at ease and at home. That's why we allways go back. This is not a Club hotel where children are shouting and making a lot of noise, even that there are children. The guests and also the staff are doing their best to respect the rest in the hotel. When I come back of my holidays, my batteries are loaded to go for it again. I thank the whole team for this!
If you ask me to tell something that should better: 1/ the accomodation at the swimming pool (chairs) should be revised. 2/ the breakfast : there is a lot of choice, but I would prefer that during 2 weeks it isn't every day the same. 3/ the hotel gives the possibility to choose between soft and hard matrasses. They don't communicate about it and I must say this is a great plus. The advantage is that if your partner likes a hard one, you can take a soft one.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

An understated family feel hotel of excellent quality. There was nothing actually we could fault, Beautiful public rooms giveing a feel of an elegant bygone age. Everything spotlessly clean. The beds a little firm for our taste. The staff were delightful and did everything possible to ensure we enjoyed our holiday. The gardens are quite magical with wonderful unusual plants.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We spent a week here and would go back every year, the staff went out of their way to help. The little touches - chocolates on the pillows at nigh,' bowls of fruit and champagne on ice when we arrived after a 4hr delay at Gatwick . The gardens with Columbo the giant tortoise and the pool were an oasis. After a hard days walking the huge bathrooms with jacuzzi was heaven followed by an unhurried dinner. Definately one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely 10 day stay in this wonderful hotel. The service is excellent and very friendly. We stayed in the basic garden room but it was very spacious and couldn't be faulted, I think the only reason for upgrading would be for a sea view, but the view of the gardens is lovely. The breakfast buffet was excellent and it was nice to have a choice of inside, terrace or outside to eat breakfast depending on the weather. All areas of the hotel and grounds are very well maintained and kept scruplously clean. We ate lunch by the pool on several days and that was excellent if slightly expensive. We had dinner in the hotel on four evening - the standard is very good and beats most of the restauarants in funchal hands down. many have said that the one drawback of this hotel is the location- it is not in the centre of funchal and the walk back from the town is very steep, we knew about this in advance and it was not a problem, for visiting Funchal during the day we timed our outings to fit in with the complimentary minibus which runs four times a day to and from the centre. In the evenings we used taxis - about 5 euros a trip. We also hired a car for part of our stay and there is ample parking at the hotel. If I was to return to Madeira I would stay at Jardins Do Lago again without hesitation. The hotel is very quiet after dinner, there is some entertainment twice a week which was pleasant, we were quite happy to simply relax with a drink, but I would say this hotel may not be for you if you are looking for lively entertainment, but for a wonderful hotel in which to relax it is spot on.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We reviewed trip advisor prior to booking and found the positive comments to be in keeping with our experience. The hotel is located in beautiful gardens and gives a good blend of old colonial and something more modern in the hotel itself. We stayed in a junior suite and had bed and breakfast, choosing to eat in the hotel from the a la carte menu on 5 occasions. We found the staff and service to be excellent and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to those who want a quiet holiday away from the centre of Funchal. Having said that walking distance is about 15 minutes downhill and 30 - 40 uphill! Taxis however, were reasonably cheap - about 6 euros back from Funchal.

We hired a car for 3 days but frankly it would have been better all round to have hired a taxi as and when required. The roads (apart from the Rapidos) are quite challenging!

Climate pleasantly warm without being over hot. Some heavy showers.

If we had any negative comments about the hotel it would have been that our bed was harder than we are used to and the a la carte menu did not change in the 2 weeks we were there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

A great location, very friendly and professional service and really good food. It is expensive but it's worth the extra because it's small and friendly so feels far more relaxed than the larger hotels. The staff are excellent, helpful, kind and efficient. Only downsides - the rooms are not terribly well soundproofed so you can on occasion hear people walking in the room above you and the lighting in the dining room needs to be warmer. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel and HostelBookers so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.