We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary at the Quinta Jardins do Lago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Anniversary at the Quinta Jardins do Lago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I chose the Jardins do Lago based on Trip Advisor feedback and we have in no way been disappointed. We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and were delighted to find on arrival that we had been given an upgrade to the Presidential Suite. This made our anniversary truly special which was made more special by the arrival of a cake and champagne to our room.
We have nothing but praise for the hotel; it provided everything we had hoped, but above all, the peace and quiet we were really looking for. The hotel is located in a gorgeous setting; the gardens are wonderful and provide an air of tranquility and splendour. The hotel staff were outstanding; friendly and helpful.
We miss our morning breakfast in the garden and our daily "good morning" to Colombo the resident Tortoise.
The restaurant provided excellent food and the bar created some nice pre-drink cocktails.
Overall, we had a wonderful week and can highly recommend the hotel to anyone seeking a quality establishment in a relaxing and peaceful setting.

Room Tip: Top floor; the views are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    75
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
571
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Two weeks in paradise ,from the welcome at recption on day one we were treated to a great experience ,beautiful public areas fantastic room with great views of the most wonderful garden you could wish for ,first class food in the Berisford restaurant terrific pool with first class poolside service and fresh cooked food ,great wine list ,terrific bar staff ,live music twice a week by truly professional entertainers (the management even put on an extra evening to suit our requests many thanks for this ) At the start of week two my cousin and her husband arrived to surprise us there secret was known and kept by all the staff and was a great source of fun for one and all (well done and thank you to all )I could go on and on listing the little things that made such a special place .We will be back if the hotel will have us ????? One final very big thank you to everyone

Room Tip: Third floor room for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If I return to Madeira this is the hotel I will go to. It is beautifully appointed and kept spotlessly clean. Because of the lack of children it is very peaceful and the pool often had no-one in it.

There was a very wide range of food for breakfast including eggs to order. we were a little disappointed with the a la carte dinners but once we switched to table d'hote it surprisingly improved and was excellent value and with some good wines to drink.

Our bed was enormous, 8 or 9 feet wide, with high quality bed linen. Drinks by the pool are reasonably priced.

The grounds are a delight and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

The courtesy bus runs every day and a taxi back in the evening is only 6 or 7 Euros.

There was good wi-fi reception throughout the hotel including the pool.

My only criticism would be the live music two nights a week which was poor and I was much happier when there was none.

I am so glad we went here and not to one of the hotels in the 'hotel zone'.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a wonderful trip here. The gardens and the house are beautifully kept, and there are breath taking views from some parts of the grounds. It is just far away enough from the main part but in a taxi takes a few minutes to the harbour.
We normally eat out and enjoy going to different restaurants, but the food here is exceptional, and high end and we found ourselves eating here most of the time. This is a good place to chill and distress, a proper grown up holiday and not an inflatable in sight!

Room Tip: the junior suite is spacious and worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a stunning place with great staff, gorgeous grounds, the largest tortoise i have ever seen, a lovely pool area and a management team that were so friendly, helpful and true gentlemen!!

My finance and I stayed here for a few days R&R after a very busy start to the year. After we discovered British Airways Holidays were now flying to Madeira we booked our flights and set off to Funchal. From the moment we arrived we were met by the management team who almost seemed like long lost family! They were so welcoming and whisked us straight to our room. We were greeted with fresh flowers and a gorgeous view of the gardens and the ocean in the background.

The room was spacious and offered everything you would expect from a 5 Star hotel including speedy free wifi. The food was great and the pool area was just peace on earth. Thank you to everyone at the hotel, Duarte - what a team you have!!

We will see you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recommended by friends we chose this tranquil hotel (we did check the trip reviews too).
We were not let down, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the food excellent and the gardens beautiful.
If you love first class service, with stunning walks this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and we could not fault the overall service. The breakfasts and evening meals were of excellent quality and plentiful. Overall, a very comfortable hotel and we particularly enjoyed walking around the gardens and making friends with Colombo, the resident tortoise!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.