We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic small hotel with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic small hotel with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We have just returned from a week at the Quinta Jardins do Lago.The service in the hotel was excellent and always friendly. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and although we don't usually dine in the hotels where we stay, having sampled the a la carte on our first night we were more than happy to dine in the restaurant most evenings. The bar area with many sofas and armchairs was a relaxing place to start (and sometimes finish!) the evening. The pool area and gardens were wonderful, never crowded, with plenty of sunbeds, garden seats etc. We stayed in a superior garden room on the second floor. It had an excellent view, was a good size and comfortably furnished. If we return we would ask for a top floor room as the wooden floors meant we could sometimes hear guests in the rooms above. The hotel is 20 mins walk from the centre of Funchal, perhaps a little longer on the way back!! The route is easy to find but VERY steep in places. The hotel does run a minibus service several times a day if you don't fancy the walk.
A great find, highly recommended

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    74
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
555
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a week here as our first time in Madeira and it was wonderful. Great location, fantastic grounds and pool. Excellent staff, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Particularly Vitor and the young lady on reception and the truly lovely Ana who seemed to work everywhere and the restaurants always with a laugh and a smile!
We had a historic suite which was large and spotlessly clean. The furnishings are a bit dated as other reviewers say, but they are not worn and a full refurbishment could put it out of our price bracket. The breakfasts are very good and the restaurant very nice. The food in the evening was variable and a little over fussy for us but we had one good meal and ate out a lot anyway. Taxis we thought were cheap despite forum comments. There is a great supermarket 10 minutes walk with good great value wines. Prices are very good whilst you are there. The only down side to Madeira is the ridiculously high price of flights from the UK. Thomson Fly, the main carriers are robbers by the time you have added on luggage etc.
We will certainly return to this great hotel!

Room Tip: Upper floors for a sea view. The beautiful gardens block lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here again over Easter this year, this time taking our adult family with us. As ever, everything which was done was to a very high standard and all of the staff are friendly and helpful but also efficient and thorough. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our first visit and we were absolutely delighted with all aspects of our stay. We took the half board option and the five course evening meals were well presented and prepared. It was good that a proper effort had been made to include Madeiran specialities in the menus. The public areas of the hotel were beautiful and the staff a true delight!
The pool area was superb and our bedroom was roomy and well furnished. We'll certainly visit again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel set in fabulous gardens and including the historic Quinta building which has the public areas. Views of Funchal exceptional. We enjoyed dining in the Quinta. The food is excellent, as is the service. Room (superior) was spacious and well appointed. Lovely marble bathroom. Size of hotel is lovely and we got to know quite a few fellow guests. Reception staff are very helpful so take advantage of their local knowledge. We hope to return.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Words are not adequate to convey the beauty of the gardens, the tranquillity of the hotel, the efficient yet friendly manner of all the staff and management and the excellence of the food and the bonus must be Colombo !! We hope to return many times in the future.

Room Tip: We prefer the third floor but all the rooms have excellent views and are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quinta Jardins do Lago is heaven on earth. The house, rooms, staff, food, gardens and pool are all superb. This time we travelled as a family of four adults and two (6 month) babies. We were given adjacent rooms, one with every facility imaginable for the children. This meant that we could spread the care between parents and grandparents - and give the parents some real rest and space.

The Quinta staff are like a big family. We know them all and they are wonderful to us. Three visits is definitely not enough and we shall be returning soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are of an equally superb standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.