We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Save Saved
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Having read previous reviews we were certainly not disappointed! Very comfortable hotel in amazing gardens, with a superb swimming pool.

The staff were all very efficient and friendly and we loved all meals - breakfast al fresco (most mornings) and very ample evening meals.

Could not find a better place to stay in Madeira! We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    529
    59
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
452
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a superior panoramic view room, on the top floor (rm 307) definitely a good choice as the views were stunning - the beautiful gardens with the ocean beyond. This hotel has everything you need for a relaxing and pampered stay - not a place to bring children, although there are facilities, but I wouldn't feel comfortable breaking the peace and quiet! The staff were, without exception, courteous, helpful and happy. Special mention for Lui and his amazing cocktail - the Lui Lui :-) The pool is beautiful and amply warm enough to swim on a sunny February day. Location is excellent - a nice downhill stroll into Funchal and you can get a bus back (number 15) if you don't fancy the steep walk, although that earns you a cocktail! We would recommend that you ask the hotel to order a taxi from the airport for you, and ask for Aldo - a really lovely local man - he will tell you all about Madeira, and for a reasonable fee he will take you around the island for the day, stopping at some 'off the beaten track' places and making a very relaxing day out. What more can we say, exempt when can we go back?!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We returned for our second year to the Quinta Jardins do Lago and what a good decision it was. What a delight. Hotel is beautifully presented, helpful and friendly staff, wonderful gardens with an elegant pool. Very good food, an excellent chef. It is rare for us to revisit a holiday location but this is an exception. We shall continue to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Quiet, clean Hotel set in amazing gardens. Friendly and helpful staff who are knowledgable and can assist with bookings and excursions.

Great breakfasts in the garden with panoramic views to the mountains, Funchal and the sea. Large spacious rooms with wifi and sat TV.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived to be told our room had been upgraded - a delightful surprise. From that moment on Quinta Jardins do Lago proved why it deserves every one of its five stars. It's quiet, peaceful, unobtrusive but helpful and friendly staff made the stay perfect.
There was no problem dealing with special dietary needs. The rooms were spotless and the grounds immaculate
It is about a mile from the centre of Funchal - uphill. For us that was no problem but may be for anyone with mobility issues. Its location away from the city centre in beautiful grounds is what makes it so attractive.
We would stay there again without any hesitation

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our second visit to Maderia but first to the Quinta Jardins do Lago. From the moment we arrived for the whole of our two weeks stay the facilities, staff, food and surrounds were all all 5 Star. An exeptional experience of colonial service. As gathered from other guests comments. The hotel`s location does not favour pedestrian walking into Funchal. The courtesy bus would be better run to a regular time table (say hourly) without having to book the return trip. In saying that the cost of a Taxi from Funchal was 5 euros.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor Superior room was worth the addition cost. Very quite and a Sea view on a good day! AM s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay in JdoL, so it is now a 'tradition' that we will go every year. Returning guests get a bottle of champagne delivered to their room as well! There is really not much more to be added to all the positive comments, but one thing I noticed is that the hotel seems to listen to its reviewers. The only complaint I had last year was about the hairdryer (tube from the wall); this year there was a proper hairdryer in the wardrobe. I have read complaints about having to pay for cappuccino at breakfast, well, you don't now. Out of seven breakfasts one was a bit chaotic because there were a lot of demands for room service breakfasts, so they were a member of staff short. It was also Ana's day off...but, seeing we were sitting outside, in a fabulous garden, in February, I can't say I was overly bothered.
Luis the barman is one of the highest ranking cocktail makers in the world, and they are GOOD.
The strength of this hotel is its staff, there is a family atmosphere and the interaction with the guests is brilliant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.