We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have just returned from my first visit to the Quinta Jardins do Largo and I hope I will be able to return again and again. From the smiles of the Reception staff to the beautiful food I can not fault this hotel. The room I had was on the ground floor but had a balcony to sit on and views of the lovely garden. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in in a hotel and the lovely soft pillows added to the comfort.

The bar staff make a very good Margarita and other cocktails at a reasonable price and the atmosphere is very relaxing and gentle with laughter being the most noisy element.

I feel that for all the sections of the hotel to be run so well and by such charming people the senior management/owner should be congratulated as I feel attitude starts at the top and filters down be it good or bad and in my opinion in this case it is very good.

However, if you would like to stay in a Hotel with lots of facilities and entertainment in to the wee small hours then this would not be the right choice for you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    61
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
77
479
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I wrote to the hotel to ask about availability and prices. They responded quickly and well. Then, however, they called the next morning at 8 am, knowing we have a small baby but obviously not thinking this would be an inconvenient time, to accuse us of not respecting the confidentiality of the email. They said we had mailed it (including the rate quoted) to a competitor. We did not do this, but they did not verify this before making the accusation; nor did they believe us when we denied the charge. We only received a reluctant 'sorry for bothering you' after we denied the accusation a second time. I'm sure they would have liked the business in December, when we were planning on staying, but they have certainly lost ours.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

After endless internet trawling and agonising for days over which hotel in Funchal to choose we finally opted for the Quinta Jardins do Lago when we saw the pictures of the beautiful gardens & Colombo, the gorgeous giant tortoise on the hotel website. We were not disappointed - the pictures cannot capture the scent of the flowers, the gentle warmth of the sun & the way grown men go weak at the knees when they see Colombo shuffling across the grass towards them. The hotel is spotlessly clean, staff are all extremely friendly, food good. The atmosphere exudes relaxation and calm so if you are looking for a restful break in beautiful surroundings the Quinta Jardins do Lago is ideal. It is above the town in a residential area so a car is useful - also to explore other parts of the island although there is a courtesy bus from the hotel and taxis are easy to come by. If you like walking it is a pleasant walk down to Funchal & great for toning the muscles on the way back! When we saw the hordes of tourists walking through Funchal's hotel zone to some of the huge modern hotels we were glad we had booked the peaceful oasis that the Quinta Jardins do Lago represents. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

If like us you’ve travelled a reasonable amount and stayed in different hotels, whether on holidaying or through business, you get a feel for what you like to see and be in a hotel. We were on a belatedly wedding anniversary and enjoyed a wonderful upgrade to a premier suite, on the third floor and for us Quinta Jardin do Lago just about did it all. The Quinta is not too big not too small, 42 rooms I believe, just perfect in every aspect and detail. Previous reviewers have commented about the beautiful elegant appointed rooms, the botanical gardens, the wonderful restaurant, the pool area, all very, very, lovely and beautifully maintained with a colonial design and feel, the pictures on the website “do not” do it justice. For us there’s one thing that stands out above all with the Quinta Jardin do Lago “the people running and working in the hotel”. There are too many to mention by name but certainly every member of staff we dealt with or spoke to could not have been more pleasant, helpful, friendly or efficient especially all on reception. Everyone at some time on holiday will possibly have a problem or issue but when that’s dealt-with sincerely and dependently you really can’t ask for any more than that. This hotel doesn’t have a lively bar with music blaring and a TV showing the sports channel it has a quiet beautiful elegant comfortable lounge where you meet new friends and enjoy a chat and drink before or after dinner. We decided to eat in Funchal one evening and in the hotel the following evening, through our stay, and were never disappointed. The Hotel is happy to recommended and made reservations for you arranging you taxi etc. My wife we’ll always say never go back it will never be the same and let’s try and go somewhere different, each time we holiday. Having been once we’ll definitely return knowing it’ll be like visiting old friends and really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Many thanks all again, at Quinta Jardin do Lago, for a wonderful visit and a lovely stress free holiday see you all again soon.

Room Tip: We viewed several rooms all looking over the gardens on different floors and all look very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, Kent, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Madeira and had the pleasure of staying in Quinta Jardins do Lago. Having read the excellent reviews and having looked at the beautiful images on their website, we chose this hotel for a much needed break after a rather challenging year. Often the reality fails to match up to the photographs, but the beauty of this hotel way exceeded our expectations. The pool area is idyllic and the botanical gardens around the hotel, even this late in the season, were breathtakingly beautiful. It quickly became part of our routine to say 'hello' to Colombo, the giant tortoise, after breakfast every morning! We were on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the garden and the sea on the horizon. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean but, most important of all, the beds were blissfully comfortable with lovely soft piillows. Breakfasts are delicious and varied with almost anything you might wish to have for breakfast and it was delightful to be able to have breakfast either on the veranda or the garden patio. Dining in the Quinta Jardins do Lago is also excellent. The food is beautifully prepared and the waiting staff are very attentive. The only minor disadvantage was that the menu did not change during the week and it would have been good to have had some fresh choices during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the Reception staff who were informative and helpful and who assisted us by booking taxi tours of the island and lavada trips etc. The hotel is situated in the hills above Funchal nestled into the local community. The hotel offer a complementary shuttle bus to town several times a day, but it is easy to walk down the hill into the centre of Funchal. However, unless you are very fit, it is advisable to catch one of the numerous taxis for the return trip (cost about 5 Euros). I know we will be returning to Madeira and we cannot imagine staying anywhere else other than Quinta Jardins do Lago.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are beautiful and face south, but we feel a room on one of the higher floors will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was a great experience to stay in this magnificent old Quinta set in its own botanical gardens. We were upgraded to a Junior suite in the old house and really appreciated the quality of the accommodation. The food was excellent, the staff freindly and helpful. The library and games room were very pleasant and the pool area was a most relaxing place to while away a few hours.
It all made such a pleasant change from the larger hotels. We would certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Previous reviews of this hotel rightly tell the same story. The comfort of the rooms, the beauty of the gardens, the lovely pool and the helpfulness of the staff. I would only add one word. Accuracy. Whoever owns and runs Jardins do Lago had a very accurate eye of how things ought to be for a holidaymaker staying at an hotel. It is not fussy, pompous or over the top. It is simply just right in every respect. Full marks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.