We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - will keep going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic - will keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just returned from our sixth visit to Jardins Do Lago and its still as good as ever. We are amazed at how consistently good this hotel is in every aspect and its no surprise that that they now hold the #1 ranking on Tripadvisor. They have a genuine welcome for both new and returning guests and in addition to a complimentary bottle of champagne this time we also received a free room upgrade which made us feel very special indeed. A huge "obrigado" to the manager and staff from two very happy guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    64
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
79
513
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel ,all the fantastic staff and a paradise of charm in every aspect.
Just book it and you will not be disappointed. Special thanks to Luis on the front desk for making a fantastic holiday. Hope to go back again next year.

Room Tip: Any room as all great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved this hotel! The gardens and pool are beautiful, the staff are friendly and so helpful and the hotel itself is spotlessly clean. Eating was always a pleasure as all tastes are catered for. I have no hesitation in recommending Quinta Jardins do Lago!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is set in the most beautiful gardens. All the staff work hard to ensure that your stay is perfect, nothing is too much trouble. We made good use of the shuttle bus which runs at regular times throughout the day. Having done the walk back up the hill it was definately the better option. Whilst the hotel is small it does not detract from its 5* rating and only adds to its appeal. The pool area is stunning but as already mentioned some guests did become very possessive over the sun loungers. There are plenty of other seating areas around the gardens so this did not affect our stay. We went into Funchal most days and explored the town, a trip on the cable car is a must, would also reccomend the yellow tour bus, 2 routes for the price of 1 over a 48hr period. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I realise that in "only" giving giving Quinta Jardins do Lago a 4* rating I'm rather going against the flow, and I'll state from the outset that we would be very happy to return (and doubtless will) in years to come. It is a charming hotel with some excellent staff, good food and lovely gardens and we had a very happy family holiday.

The service we received from the main reception staff was outstanding: an upgraded room for our daughters on arrival in order that they could be near us on the top floor was welcome (they subsequently managed a second upgrade for the final night to the fabled Room 201, best described as Narnia!), as was the ease with which they managed to arrange a hire car at short notice, a special pick-up in town by the hotel minibus, etc. Nothing was too much trouble.

Our rooms were also excellent: large, spotlessly clean and with great views over the city and sea. Improvements might include a better hairdryer (or so my wife tells me!) and a top-up of the fruit basket, but these are minor quibbles really.

Although we ate out most evenings, we did use the restaurant on the day of our arrival and enjoyed an excellent meal with unobtrusive service; likewise, lunch by the pool was good (nice chips!). Cocktails are fantastic by the way, especially the Beresford.

The one disappointment was breakfast, both in terms of the arrangements (getting a table for 4 generally meant waiting around for others to finish, moving tables and chairs around, or waiting for tables to be cleared), speed of service (eggs and coffee sometimes slow, or forgotten entirely) and choice of food (arrive after 9:35 and much of the good stuff has gone). Also, for my taste the eggs (scrambled, omelette) were rather poorly cooked. Yes, it was lovely to be able to sit outside or on the veranda, but the overall experience left a bit to be desired.

The gardens are beautiful, though it's a shame to see caged birds in any setting, and a little disappointing that the tennis court is no longer in use; the "gym" is by most hotel standards a bit of a joke, but unless you're like me and like to exercise a lot, that won't matter. Columbo is a star, though, and loves his breakfast bananas!

Over the last couple of years we've stayed at Reid's twice and now the Quinta. I have a personal preference for Reid's, which in certain respects (breakfast being one, gym and setting being others) is some way ahead, but clearly you will pay a hefty premium to stay there and it's size won't be for everyone.

So, I do recommend that you stay at Quinta Jardins do Lago, but just make sure you're early down to breakfast and maybe take your own hairdryer...if you still have any hair!.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel comes as near perfection as one could reasonably expect: quality and attention to detail, friendly, quietly efficient, but not intrusive service, beautiful gardens and a delightful pool. Every aspect of our stay at the Quinta Jardins do Lago was first class.
This is a relatively small Quinta tucked away in residential streets above the centre of Funchal, high enough to provide a lovely view of the mountains and a peaceful, green retreat from the city bustle, but close enough to allow a brief taxi ride to the main attractions. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service to the centre, which is run by the staff themselves rather than being shared with other hotels. This reflects one of the keys to the success of Quinta Jardins do Lago: it is small enough (c. 40 rooms) to offer a personal and individual service. Staff take a real pride in ensuring that their guests feel like true guests, rather than customers (while of course there is a bill to be paid at the end of the stay!).
The building itself is a smooth combination of the traditional (with the original Quinta as its core) with modern comfort. The bedroom wing where our spacious room was situated has been renovated, with high quality bathrooms and furnishings that seemed new, and in perfect condition, but in keeping with the traditional feel. The wooden panelling has been retained throughout the hotel, perfectly restored.
Breakfast is served in the airy dining room with the option of a verandah and further tables outside in the sub-tropical gardens - a lovely way of starting the day. Again, the small number of guests (although the hotel seems to be full all the time) meant that we were never disappointed in finding table outside. From breakfast, it is a gentle stroll down to the pool, cleverly designed with both a covered and open area, again surrounded by the lush gardens. It seemed to us that most guests simply move from restaurant to pool, to poolside bar (fantastic apple cake, among the varied menu), to balcony and then drift down to dinner - there seemed no need to go anywhere else in Funchal. Well, actually we did have one quibble: despite the civilised atmosphere provided by the hotel, some guests were less than well mannered, indeed fiercely territorial, in their attitude to the sun loungers round the pool. The convention of placing a towel, a hat, or even a single book on a lounger, as a sign of ownership, and then strenuously defending your little kingdom against all comers, even whilst spending hours away from the lounger, did spoil the equable atmosphere - and was the only element that threatened to sour our otherwise idyllic stay. We learned to fight dirty of course, with my husband rushing down to the pool as soon as he woke in the mornings, to claim any free loungers he could find - but others had always been there before him, so we never got the best location. How sad that travellers with the discernment to choose this elegant and refined Quinta, could be so selfish and petty - proving, perhaps, that it truly was human nature that put an end to Adam and Eve's stay in the Garden of Eden.
However, it seems that nothing can disturb the equanimity of Columbus, the 60 year old Galapgos tortoise, who has been resident at Quinta Jardins do Lago since well before most of the paying guests were born - and he has the prospect of another 60 years of life to enjoy these beautiful surroundings. Lucky Columbus!

We did take a couple of trips out - one to view the old fortress a little way down the street, which has fantastic views of Funchal and the port below; and the other to the Botanical gardens, which are a curious mixture, some areas quite neglected and others carefully tended - with an amazing display of cactuses being the highlight for us. But you might want to miss out the "Bird Park", within the Botanical Gardens, which is a forlorn and depressing series of little cages occupied by miserable looking parrots and parakeets, with scarcely a green leaf between them all. On a previous trip to Madeira, we had been to the Palace gardens at Monte, above Funchal (easiest reached by cable car), and I would recommend these instead of the Botanical Gardens (which are still up high, but well below Monte itself).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor or above (there are only 3 floors), as the ground floor balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Do Sol, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We live in Madeira but chose to stay at the Quinta Jardins do Lago for 3 nights to celebrate a special birthday and had a wonderfully luxurious and relaxing time there. Our Premier Suite was huge, comfortable and well appointed; the large, mature gardens and outdoor swimming pool were stunning and the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The only slight disappointment was not having a spa at the hotel as I'd have liked to have had a manicure and massage during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.