We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

An excellent hotel - comfortable, good food and really helpful staff. The gardens were beautiful - it was delightful to wander around admiring the tropical flowers and to see the tortoise and pond with swans and fish. The pool area was so lovely and relaxing and perfect for lunch and /or a swim. We would not hesitate to stay there again when make a return visit to Madeira.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    64
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
79
512
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Reasons to book this hotel:
1) The Staff, with capital S
From the maitre d'hotel to the housekeeping all well trained professionals. Eye for detail, genuinely friendly, helpful and efficient
2) The breakfast
If you like to take your time for a long lazy breakfast, enjoying all kinds of fresh fruit, different flavours of bread, croissants, bacon, sausages, beans, eggs cooked a la minute your style, pancakes...whatever...with the opportunity to enjoy this in a magnificent garden... this is the place to be
2) The room
Clean, spacious, all with view on the garden, and on most 2nd and 3rd floor you see the ocean and Funchal. Beautiful wooden floor which of course has a small draw back. You hear footsteps in the room above you. Ask for a room on the 3rd floor if this bothers you, and be gentle to the guests below you. Nice furniture. The entire hotel is decorated with fine furniture and tasteful art which fits in the concept.
3) The garden
One of the main attractions in Funchal is the botanical garden. Why would you go there if you have a superb botanical garden in the hotel compound, included in the price of the room, for the length of your stay?
4) The restaurant.
The restaurant is top notch. They can easily compete with the sub top of Belgian restaurants, and I don't think i am a chauvinist by saying Belgium has very high standards in dining. Some may say it is expensive for Madeiran standards ( 50 to 60€ pp for starter/main course/desert + half a bottle of (good) wine + half a bottle of water). Compared to Belgian standards for comparable quality and setting this is a bargain. We had nice food downtown Funchal for 20 to 30€ pp, but it is what it it is: nice food. The Quinta offers a classy evening out experience, and you do not have to pay for a taxi. I’m not he kind of guy who goes racing through the hills Funchal after (more than) half a bottle of wine.
The setting of the restaurant is top. Beware: a minimum of dress code is required. I have seen a gentleman in bermuda, but after checking it was a Burberry's and his polo was a Ralph Lauren. I have also seen some men with formal jacket and tie, and ladies with flowery evening dresses. You can't overdress, but a tuxedo is over the top :-). This is part of the experience in the restaurant, so don’t spoil it with slippers and a T-shirt with "I love Madeira" on your chest.
5) The apero bar
You really have to enjoy the best Mojito ever, or fine vintage Madeira wines. I'm sure they will not be surprised if you ask a dry Martini, stirred not shaken. Happy hour between 7 and 8. Good lazy jazz music in the background.
6)The pool
Beautiful, large swimming pool in an exotic garden. Very quite, plenty of room, and I have never seen more than 15 people at the side of the pool, and never more than 5 at the same time in the water. Excellent and affordable food and drinks served at the pool bar. No push for consumption. A dream for sun seekers, or just o relax after a day of walking.

Suggestion for improvement.
I would suggest to the hotel management to invest a couple of 100 € in extra WIFI repeaters. The( free) WIFI is erratic because the signal strength is poor (at least in our room) . But then again, my wife would like there was no WIFI at all . So one can’t please everyone.

Room Tip: I expect top floor (3rd floor) rooms have less noise comming from other rooms. Most of the will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Whilst we had only a week at the Quinta Jardins do Logo, it was a perfect one in every way. The hotel is a wonderful old country house set in beautifully maintained sub tropical gardens. A haven for any gardener with many varieties of unusual plants, with wonderful walks to explore. The standard of the hotel is superb and very comfortable. The staff are both charming and helpful beyond the norm which made our stay in Funchal even more enjoyable. And if that was not enough to satisfy the most discerning guest, there is also the excellent and delicious food, both in the bar by the pool but also the imaginative menus of their renouned 'Beresford' restaurant. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms face south but we had a ground floor garden room on the east side which was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our title says it all! Yet again a lovely week at Jardins do Lago. A great welcome from many familiar members of your staff, who are all so friendly.

Delicious well balanced menus for dinner, we had half board. We had wonderful weather and breakfast in the garden each morning was a delight. It was good to have a daily free mini bus and we appreciated the free wifi! We shall certainly be back, hopefully next year and shall be interested to see the progress on the foreshore.

Room Tip: 208 is a good room with a corner balcony and keeps the sun longer than other rooms we thought.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Fantastic hotel ,peoples and views!!!
Really good breakfast in the morning.
All the staff kindly and with courtesy, we was there for one week and backing in Rome we desire to stay there another time.
All isle is fantastic and in this hotel there is also a wonderful garden and lots of people come to see it.

Room Tip: Corner suite room number 306!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent a week here with a total of 6 adults and 3 children and couldnt fault the service we received. The staff were a great team and made this hotel better than just any boutique 5 star hotel - they were extremely professional and efficient, whilst also making us feel so welcome and at home, with no request being a problem - which it so often can be when small children are the ones asking! We stayed in the Premier Suites - which were perfect for a family with children; the facilities at the hotel catered perfectly for the whole family, with the beautiful gardens, pool, playground and large indoor playroom. Great setting, within walking distance of the shops and harbour, whilst still being surprisingly quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A truly wonderful Hotel in marvellous grounds. And so quiet.
We felt Madeira’s attractions were limited and Funchal is certainly suffering from the new work on the harbour front, essential to prevent a repeat of the 2010 flooding, but it will be fine when it’s done, in about 16 months time we were told. We hadn’t realised that there are very few beaches in Madeira - mainly mountainous scenery.
Although the hotel is a pretty nasty walk from the centre of Funchal, not just because of the slope but the lack of pavement in places and some terrible driving. But this shouldn’t prevent you going into Funchal for some good restaurants, the wonderful cable car and a wander through the Old Town. You just have to factor in 11 or 12 euros for 2 taxi trips, (can be less than 5 each trip but more in the evenings and weekends) unless you’re lucky enough/well organised enough to catch the Hotel minibus. However this Hotel’s location is still so much nicer than the alternative hotel locations on the seafront where the high rise hotels and apartments dominate the landscape, and are still a significant walk from Funchal.
We were lucky with the weather, good sunshine and temperatures in the high twenties, although not always like this.
But we will come back again, to this hotel, despite our slightly negative comments on Madeira itself. And we'll work our way through the library of well over 500 English language books. Plus a table tennis table. Plus a pool table. Plus games and jig-saw puzzles.
Staff were unfailingly helpful and courteous and on a couple of occasions went the extra mile when they had to.
Oh and don't miss a 4X4 ride with UpMountain Madeira. You'll miss the heavy tourist spots and have a wonderful day out.

Room Tip: All "standard" i.e. "Superior" rooms have a view over the garden. We enjoyed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.