We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Save Saved
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a wonderful find - a real sanctuary set in the hills above Funchal, but within walking distance of the harbour and centre. Extensive and well-maintained tropical gardens give the illusion of being well away from from the high rise building boom that is Funchal.

Above all, it was not the setting, the accommodation, or the excellent food, but the staff, especially in the breakfast and dining rooms where you were greeted with a genuine warmth and hospitality that is uncharacteristic of other five star hotels.

Forget the slow internet access, the steep climb from the town center and immerse yourself in the calm offered by this peaceful sanctuary

Room Tip: As all rooms are south facing, go for the superior grade as these are slightly larger and occupy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    59
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
448
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We just stayed at the Quinta Jardins in room 216. The room was excellent and the hotel and gardens were first class. The hotel is in a quiet area of the town, a good yomp up the hill from downtown funchal.

Staying here you are out of the main areas for sure but that is reflected in the quiet peaceful gardens with a great pool area.

It took a good 20 minutes to walk to town down a hill and a walking back up got the pulse going! However a taxi was cheap and quick if you didn't want to walk. We didnt use the hotel restaurant for evening meals as we ate out in town every night, however Its not cheap to eat in the hotel. However it is a a 5 star quality hotel so this is to be expected.
The staff and hotel were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for a week mid April 2013. We had come across the hotel's website several years ago and decided that if and when we came to Madeira this is where we would stay, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is situated above Funchal in it's own beautiful gardens, and is a haven of peace and quiet well away from the main tourist hustle and bustle. All the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, the service faultless and the ambience one of understated, country house elegance. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be excellent and to face onto the gardens, but I would prefer a room on one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nearly everything has already been said: it's a great little hotel. It's excellent for completely winding down. It's clean and well maintained, not 'tired' as stated by someone. I could also get wifi everywhere without any problems, but we had a room in the main building. The staff are what makes this hotel; they're nearly all genuinely friendly and smiling. We had half board; the food is very good, fine dining, but the portions are small. However, if you stuff your face with the bread, and the nuts you get with your drinks from the bar, this is not a bad thing...
The atmosphere in the hotel is quite sedate, lots of elderly couples, you get given the same table at dinner every day, stuff like that. Plenty of people are willing to chat, but if you don't fancy that you are left alone. In all, it's very civilised.
One gripe: the hairdryer is one of these antiquated tubes out of the wall, so bring your own!
We really liked it and want to return next year.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is based around an 18th century manor house with a 3 storey extension at the side. It is about one km from Funchal centre, and is a steep walk down the hill to reach the city centre. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle bus 4 times a day but the last return trip is 1745 so if you want to eat in Funchal it is better to catch the 15 bus which stops 50m past the hotel. We stayed in a superior room on the 3rd floor and had a magnificient view of the gardens and out to sea. The gardens are superb and the whole hotel is an oasis of quiet amongst the residential properties which surround it. Apart from one cafe there is not much going on in the vicinity of the hotel. Our room had a lovely balcony which caught the afternoon sun and the room itself was 5* standard with excellent cleanliness. We had a couple of problems with WiFi but the reception sorted them out. Excellent pool and sunbathing area, and it's a delight just to walk round the gardens and look at all the exotic trees , most of which are named with explanatory details. Breakfasts were excellent with a substantial choice of cereals, juices eggs(cooked to order) and bacon, cakes and local fruits which were unbelievably delicious. We stayed B & B and ate in Funchal most nights. We did have the table d'hote evening meal on one occasion and whilst it was beautifully presented and served, the food to our taste was too bland, and failed to take advantage of the wonderful fish and vegetables which are available on the island. Sadly the weather when we were there in March was not as good as we had hoped but that did not spoil what was a wonderful stay at the Jardins do Lago. If we return to Madeira we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The superior garden rooms have great views and are lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of March 2013. The greeting upon arrival was not very welcoming. There was a bit of confusion with our bags when they wouldn't carry my bag to the room, even though it was only 15 kilos and was 5 kilos lighter than my other half's, which they did carry up.
The "old" part of the hotel is a nice building but it could do with some updating as it looks a bit tired.
Our room was nice, large and airy and it passed the decent shower test.
The decor in the room was functional but nothing special.
The hotel has a decent sized swimming pool, a jacuzzi and a sauna plus s very small gym.
The hotel is located in the hills above the old part of Funchal and has a great view over the town from its gardens.
The hotel provides a free shuttle bus down into the town but it finishes early (about 1745 return from town).
The service throughout our stay from the front desk was patchy. There were two members of staff who were excellent and very helpful. The rest is of the front desk seemed to be not bothered about service and quite stand offish.
Saying that, the rest of the staff in the hotel were helpful.
Overall, nice location, functional hotel that could do with a freshen but not the 5 star it is advertised to be.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Quinta do Lago hotel 7 nights - what a pity we couldnt stay longer.
The small hotel seems like a very fine, well decorated and perfectly maintained country-mansion. It is surrounded by most beautiful gardens ,we loved having the breakfasts there .The 2 dinners we had were on high standart and very nicely served.
We had a room on the 3th floor , very large, with a fine-big bed .The bathroom big and very comfortable.We enjoyed the small balcony overlooking the fantastic view of the gardens, the city and the blue sea.
The pools are clean and tempting.The sauna and the Turkish -bath as well. The only thing we missed is a spa.True- the staff was very helpful and arranged for us spa-treatments in another hotel , but would be perfect to have it on the spot.
The only other problem is the very poor WiFi connection .It should be improved.
What impressed us most of all - the staff (everybody speaks English) are very helpful and attentive.As it is a small hotel , they get to know you by name and do there best to give the most efficient service.
As we have hired a car , we drove every day all around this beautiful island with the high mountains and the kliffs falling into the sea, we enjoyed the forests, the gardends and the small villages on the way, and it was convinient to come back and have the parking area of the hotel.
We had the most relaxing and quiet vacation , we did enjoy every minute at the Quinta do Lago and we most certenly will be back to this excellent hotel if we ever return to Madeira !!!

Room Tip: Higher floor. Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.