We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here last week and had a really good time. Excellent little hotel; quiet, clean, well-furnished and well maintained. Lovely gardens - despite probably not quite the right time of year to enjoy them. We had booked a superior room but were upgraded to a junior suite, which was excellent. Ours had access to a private roof terrace which got 360 degree sun, so was brilliant. We also had a small balcony which got the evening sun and was sheltered from the breeze. The room was well furnished and the bathroom big and again very clean.

The pool area is very good and the pool was exceptionally clean

We stayed B&B. the breakfasts were expansive - 6 - 7 fruit juices; masses of fruit; cereal; yoghurt; bread and pastries; cheese and meats and hot food. Coffee was OK but they can't make tea to save their lives! (But minor point). If I had an issue about breakfast it would be that the bain marie that kept the hot food warm was only heated by hot water and had no ongoing source to maintain the heat.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

We ate a couple of time in the restaurant. Food was Ok but massively overpriced. You can eat for 1/2 to 2/3rds the price in the town - same sorts of dishes. Plus it is the first place that I have ever been openly charged for the bread on the table! Also the service was very slow. I'm all for not rushing meals but 2 hours to consume 2 courses is a bit too laid back!

They have entertainment 2 evenings a week which can be a bit loud, but I'm splitting hairs here.

The hotel is in a residential district and generally quietly located - if anywhere is quite in Funchal! There is a hotel minibus four times a day, but we purchased a Bus Giro and used the local buses. No 15 goes from around the corner and if you walk over the rise opposite the main entrance you can catch another 4 buses (17, 49, 12, etc.) into the centre. Do be a bit careful in the evening as they change the routes in the evening. We caught a bus back one evening that we'd used during the day and ended up goodness knows where! But the bus drivers are very helpful.

Overall we had an excellent time and really enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: We had Junior Suite 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    75
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
569
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here last week. Once again the Trip Adviser community didn't let us down. A beautifully furnished small hotel as described - antiques, original oils, marble, polished wooden floors with rugs. Staff generally very very helpful and Luis makes the best dry Martini ever. We went half board and were delighted with the excellent buffet breakfast (eaten outside every day whilst the UK shivered with snow). Dinner was a set 5 course menu which offered huge variety, imagination and skill. Drinks and wine were reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard. We met lovely people and had a great second visit to a wonderful island.

We stayed at Reads 18 months ago and whilst Reads was great, so was Jardins do Lago. And Jardins is just about affordable whereas current Reads prices look affordable to Russian oligarchs but not us!

Things which could make it even better? First the coffee was really pretty poor. I've had good coffee in Madeira but this time ended up having to get a really good galao in the Golden gate cafe in the main square. A cappuccino isn't a small black coffee with a squirt of cream from an aerosol can! And second, the wifi is rubbish. None in the bedroom, intermittent and poor bandwidth on the balcony. And the staff on reception said all I needed to do was stand still and it would connect. Not true and as a rule its good not to have the staff patronise the guests. Most guests at this standard of hotel will expect IT to work painlessly. No more feeble excuses. It costs very little to fix this sort of hotel facility so just fix it! And thirdly,the gym equipment was the worst I've seen in a top quality hotel. It needs a rower, a cross trainer and a decent bike. Hardly a fortune given the turnover of the business. Niggles. Hardly the end of the earth. But all are needed to get from very good to fabulous.

So will we be back. To Madeira, undoubtedly! To Jardins do Lago? If you are booked, relax, you'll have a great holiday here. We may well see you there. But first lets test out the Cliff Bay! If they've got a decent spa, surely they'll have a decent gym? :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny balcony. Ours was shaded from mid morning. Others were better positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

In February, my daughter and I spent a blissful week of much needed total relaxation at this peaceful Quinta. We were fortunate that we were able to be out in the sun by the pool every day (except one) and enjoy the amazing botanical garden. We had a 2nd floor superior twin room which was beautiful and spacious with a balcony overlooking the garden and views to the sea. The 5 course dinners were excellent and meals at the poolside bar were also delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just got back from a week at the delightful Jardin do Lago and despite atrocious weather - rain and gales - we had a wonderful relaxing break. We opted for a superior room and this was in the "extension" on the first floor (they called it the second floor but one storey up to me is the first!)
The room was large with balcony - first class.
All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful - reception booked us restaurants in Funchal and organised taxis etc. When eating in the Hotel the food was first class both at lunch - served by the pool when weather permits - and dinner.
Prices are high but this is a genuine 5* establishment.

We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: We would avoid the ground floor, and the room we were in (206)had a large tree which shaded the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Our choice of hotel for our first visit to Madeira was spot on. Sadly the stormy weather and absence of sunshine prevented us from enjoying the lovely pool and other hotel amenities. It also did not allow us to see as much of the island as we had expected.

Despite this however, the hotel more than delivered. Food was exceptional and the staff courteous and helpful. Our room on the second floor was spacious and comfortable with a fine marble bathroom. Like the rest of the hotel, the room was spotless.
Public areas are elegant and calm with beautiful floral arrangements throughout.

It is a long steep walk downhill to town centre but has the benefit of passing a couple of fine museums and the Santa Clara Convent on route. A bonus in the inclement weather.

Speaking personally, we much preferred the Quinta's location, to that of Reid's Palace on the western edge of Funchal.

We definitely hope to return, but will try May/June and hope to see more of island and its gardens (and of course the sun!).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Delightful hotel in a very lovely garden with well-labelled plants (actually maybe better labelled than in the Botanic Garden). All the staff were very cheerful and helpful and the food was excellent. We enjoyed the five and ten year old Sercial at the bar! We hope to come back another time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was already our fourth time that we have stayed in jardins do lago. It was again excellent! The staff is very kind and attentive. We enjoyed the breakfast a lot and the diner was marvellous! A little bit more vegetables would be nice! Our room was spacious and very clean. We' ll certainly come back another time. This hotel is perfect for tourists who like a quiet holiday. The hotel is situated in a botanic garden and had a marvellous view on the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.