We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel yet again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Amlwch, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“best hotel yet again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We returned to the Quinta after staying there in November 2012. Warm welcome and our choice of room - 204 - a junior suite with a superb view of the garden. We had half board and apart from one night really enjoyed the food, all 5 courses. We have now booked again for November 2013 - our 50th wedding anniversary and this time for two weeks so we can really relax. We walked down to town every time but bought a giro and caught to the hotel the number 15 bus which stops just past the hotel front door. As well as the usual trips to Monte and Botanic Gardens we went to Palheiro gardens ( number 37 or 36A bus) which we think is better. It has its own web site.
A superb hotel for friendliness and service.

Room Tip: A Junior Suite is good fro the garden views and away from some road noise. However no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    64
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
78
498
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Our choice of hotel for our first visit to Madeira was spot on. Sadly the stormy weather and absence of sunshine prevented us from enjoying the lovely pool and other hotel amenities. It also did not allow us to see as much of the island as we had expected.

Despite this however, the hotel more than delivered. Food was exceptional and the staff courteous and helpful. Our room on the second floor was spacious and comfortable with a fine marble bathroom. Like the rest of the hotel, the room was spotless.
Public areas are elegant and calm with beautiful floral arrangements throughout.

It is a long steep walk downhill to town centre but has the benefit of passing a couple of fine museums and the Santa Clara Convent on route. A bonus in the inclement weather.

Speaking personally, we much preferred the Quinta's location, to that of Reid's Palace on the western edge of Funchal.

We definitely hope to return, but will try May/June and hope to see more of island and its gardens (and of course the sun!).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Delightful hotel in a very lovely garden with well-labelled plants (actually maybe better labelled than in the Botanic Garden). All the staff were very cheerful and helpful and the food was excellent. We enjoyed the five and ten year old Sercial at the bar! We hope to come back another time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was already our fourth time that we have stayed in jardins do lago. It was again excellent! The staff is very kind and attentive. We enjoyed the breakfast a lot and the diner was marvellous! A little bit more vegetables would be nice! Our room was spacious and very clean. We' ll certainly come back another time. This hotel is perfect for tourists who like a quiet holiday. The hotel is situated in a botanic garden and had a marvellous view on the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We chose Jardins do Lago on the strength of TripAdvisor reviews, in particular because we wanted a quiet room and good facilities. The hotel staff were really friendly and informative - they all spoke good English and were willing to take time to explain things and assist us. We stayed in a superior panoramic room with balcony, with a glorious view which encompassed the lush gardens of the hotel, the rooftops of Funchal and the sea beyond. The room was clean, serviced daily, and very large, with a good amount of storage and a safe. I would have preferred stronger bedside lighting and a better WiFi signal but reception was fairly good on or near the balcony. I found the mattress a little hard but better hard than soft, as far as my back's concerned. The air conditioning wasn't really adequate for the size of the room, so it was warm at night. I mentioned this in my feedback form at the end of our stay, as it would be an issue in summer. There was no noise from neighbouring rooms.

Breakfast was lovely, a good buffet spread, hot bacon and mushrooms, eggs cooked to order (best scrambled, I found) and a wide selection of fresh fruit. The lunch menu, served by the pool, was good too - excellent club sandwich and vast servings of cake. We had dinner in the hotel twice during our week's stay (it was much cheaper to eat in Funchal itself) and the food was very good indeed. The traditional scabbard fish with banana was given a modern twist and I loved it.

The weather improved as the week went on, falling into a pattern of rain in the morning and warm, sunny afternoons. We swam in the pool, perhaps not the warmest I've been in but it was refreshing after sunbathing and we had it mostly to ourselves. No restrictions on sun loungers as in other Madeira hotels I've read about; in fact the hotel didn't have any petty, restrictive rules as far as I could see, it was a very easygoing place to stay. The gardens are more extensive than they first appear and we took a long ramble around them. There were flowers here and there, despite it being winter - I'd love to see the place when it's in full bloom, it must be quite a sight.

The hotel runs a courtesy people-carrier into Funchal 4 times a day (10.30, 12.30, 3.30 and 5.30) but having spent quite a bit on taxis (anything from 5 to 9 Euros a trip) during the 12.30 - 3.30 gap, we eventually asked the shuttle driver about the local bus timetable and found that one stopped just yards from the hotel door - the Number 15. I failed to mention this in my feedback form at the end of our stay but I think it would be very beneficial to guests to be given this information in the 'Hotel Services' booklet, especially as the hotel is out of town and the route on foot into Funchal is very steep and, at times, without a pavement. Any extra transport information would be gratefully received, I'm certain.

We had one of the best holidays we've had, staying at the Jardin do Lago, and we intend to go back again next year. I'm not easy to please and I'm usually rather disappointed by hotels which so often don't live up to their promises, but with the unfussy ambience, the friendly, intelligent staff and the peaceful surroundings it exceeded my expectations. We'll be taking our driving licenses next time and exploring the rest of the island of Madeira - can't wait!

Room Tip: As you might expect, higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Comfort,charm,beauty...that's what it says on the hotel brochure AND that is exactly what you get on the inside ! Its obvious why this fine hotel is so highly rated by TripAdvisor travellers. We have just returned from 4 nights Dinner,Bed & Breakfast in a Double garden view room which was upgraded on arrival to a superior room. With 40 rooms and buildings set in a beautiful botanic garden ( original property 1735 plus modern additions) with a fabulous pool area the hotel is a delight away from the huge properties down at the sea front. Take my tip - go for this above the hugely expensive Reids where you pay Euro 29 for chicken breast on their A La Carte.
Staff are extremely nice and helpful. The breakfasts on the terrace or in the garden are great with lots of variety and eggs done to order. We loved the evenings starting off with a great choice of cocktails ( happy hour 7-8pm with 25% discount) in the very nice lounge ( live entertainment Monday and Friday) and then a 5 course dinner which for Euro 38 was superb value. Very well presented courses - salad starter ( eg beef carpaccio), soup, fish dish, meat course and choice of 2 desserts. A la carte available but we were very happy with the quality and freshness of the set dinner. The waiter made very good wine suggestions each evening.
Most of the 5 days was spent relaxing around the hotel. A couple of times we wandered down into the pleasant city of Funchal ( 10 minute walk) for coffee/lunch and the entertaining cable car ride up to Monte where we went on the historic toboggans down the hillside. Well worth the Euro 30 price BUT watch out for the taxi scams at the end station. Instead of a Euro 5 metered fee back to town they try to sting you for a 'fixed Euro 20 fee". Not with me !! The hotel offers a complimentary transfer 4/5 times a day into Funchal and return. Its only Euro 5 metered taxi from the city.
You wont go wrong with the Jardins do Lago for a very relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings and pool/gardens with great food, cocktails and superb hotel staff.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room 307 that looks out onto the garden. A large room with terrace. The web site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a truly outstanding hotel. For travellers coming to Madeira for the first time it is worth understanding that the majority of Funchal hotels are strung out along the foreshore to the west of the city centre.Many of them were built in the last 10-15 years and resemble the tower blocks that litter the Spanish costas.If you want something truly different,this hotel up the hill behind Funchal centre may well be the place for you.It was originally a quinta,or estate,with a lovely manor house,set in beautiful gardens,and when it was turned into a hotel an extension was added,which was tastefully done. The standard room we had on a weeks holiday at the end of January was 42 sq metres,which is spacious,and we were on the ground floor overlooking the gardens.The bed was very comfortable. The hotel only has about 40 rooms and there is a feeling of space in the lounge and bar areas and in the dining room and,of course,in the gardens and very attractive pool area.There is a good shuttle bus service into the citywhich is necessary,given its location.The staff were uniformly pleasant and very helpful,including giving good advice on tours and walks around the island.Everything was well organised,in the way that you would hope a 5 star hotel would be.We can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Suites are a bit larger and may have a better view,but I think the standard rooms on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.