We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Save Saved
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We loved this hotel as soon as we walked into our room with a view from the balcony of the tropical gardens and the sea in the distance. The staff were all very charming and kind during our weeks visit . The pool area was beautiful with a large interestingly shaped swimming area and you can have tasty lunch and snacks until 6pm right at the pool side . Loads of lovely thick swimming towels and towelling dressing gowns in the room We walked into town down quite steep roads but then Madeira is all rugged hillsides ! we took taxis back each time as a treat .
This hotel is a lovely spot and we can definately recommend this hotel and gardens .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    534
    61
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
74
462
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. The gardens are spectacular, the pool area is lovely, the breakfast is delicious, the staff are wonderful, the hotel is very clean, all the rooms face south over the bay and the giant tortoise is very cute! The place is a real find. Not exactly cheap but worth the money. You can get down to the centre of the town by way of a steep 15 minute walk but the hotel also provides a courtesy bus service during the day, and a taxi down in the evening should only cost €5-6.
The staff are very helpful and started the breakfast service early on our last day so that we could have breakfast before going to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Since we discovered this fine hotel several years ago, we appreciate the kind and comfortable atmosphere although we did not use all facilities which are offered. It is a real anchor in life and we intend to come back as often as possible.

Room Tip: Since we travelled many times to the carribbean islands we prefer the junior suites in the country h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in October 2012 and had a fantastic time, despite some poor weather. The hotel was spotless and the staff extremely helpful and polite. I have given the location a v.good rather than excellent, because it may not be to everyone's liking. We like to walk a lot and found the walk up the steep hill a good bit of exercise. It is not for the faint hearted. Have to admit to cheating with taxis a couple of times after a night out! Taxis are generally good and cheap, but one did try to rip us off by taking a circuitous route - fortunately we knew where we were going. The pool area is really nice, the gardens well maintained and the restaurant excellent. You will find better deals for dinner including wine at the top rated restaurants in Funchal, but the food and wine served at the hotel were top drawer. I would say the guests were mostly more mature, 40s upwards (including us), and it was a really peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here in December and were very impressed. The hotel's staff struck just the right balance - helpful, friendly attentive but not intrusive. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, elegant and spacious; the pool was attractive and not at all busy when we stayed (in December admittedly) and the gardens were beautiful.
Its relatively small size and location were important plus points for us as we prefer smaller hotels.
We selected half-board as it is a little way from the centre and were very pleased to have done so. The meals were excellent.

Thanks to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a fabulous honeymoon at the Jardins do Lago just before Christmas. The hotel is amazing and set in fabulous grounds with lovely views. The staff were also amazing, and could not have been more attentive without being intrusive - well done! We selected half-board and the 5-course meals each evening were delicious and some of the nicest we have experienced.

We recommend this hotel for any special occasion, or simply for a relaxing and peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: The Presidential suite is fantastic, with a double balconey overlooking the gardens and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is situated above Funchal in quite extensive gardens. It is an advantage being away from the main area of souless hotels along the coast but is a bit of a hike on foot. However the hotel offers transport into the town at intervals during the day and taxis are about 7€. The position for us was a great advantage. the hotel consists of an old mansion housing the restaurant and the library and a new part housing the rooms. It appears much more in keeping than the new blocks elsewhere.
The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff very helpful. The restaurant offers good food but the service can be a bit slow. The breakfast was good with a wide variety of possibilities.
There is a very small gym and a reasonable outdoor swimming pool which was used even over Christmas. WiFi is free and was available in our room although I gather from comments that it does not stretch everywhere. There is a free car park for those with a hire car but taxis are readily available. We visited some of the big hotels on the coast but this was far preferable in ambience and position

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the gardens but a room higher up would give a better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.