We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Save Saved
You added Quinta Jardins do Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 91 hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here in December and were very impressed. The hotel's staff struck just the right balance - helpful, friendly attentive but not intrusive. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, elegant and spacious; the pool was attractive and not at all busy when we stayed (in December admittedly) and the gardens were beautiful.
Its relatively small size and location were important plus points for us as we prefer smaller hotels.
We selected half-board as it is a little way from the centre and were very pleased to have done so. The meals were excellent.

Thanks to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    59
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
448
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a fabulous honeymoon at the Jardins do Lago just before Christmas. The hotel is amazing and set in fabulous grounds with lovely views. The staff were also amazing, and could not have been more attentive without being intrusive - well done! We selected half-board and the 5-course meals each evening were delicious and some of the nicest we have experienced.

We recommend this hotel for any special occasion, or simply for a relaxing and peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: The Presidential suite is fantastic, with a double balconey overlooking the gardens and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is situated above Funchal in quite extensive gardens. It is an advantage being away from the main area of souless hotels along the coast but is a bit of a hike on foot. However the hotel offers transport into the town at intervals during the day and taxis are about 7€. The position for us was a great advantage. the hotel consists of an old mansion housing the restaurant and the library and a new part housing the rooms. It appears much more in keeping than the new blocks elsewhere.
The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff very helpful. The restaurant offers good food but the service can be a bit slow. The breakfast was good with a wide variety of possibilities.
There is a very small gym and a reasonable outdoor swimming pool which was used even over Christmas. WiFi is free and was available in our room although I gather from comments that it does not stretch everywhere. There is a free car park for those with a hire car but taxis are readily available. We visited some of the big hotels on the coast but this was far preferable in ambience and position

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the gardens but a room higher up would give a better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just back from an incredibly relaxing and beautiful stay at Jardins do Lago over Christmas. Everything was spot on and I'd say this is the best hotel I've stayed in because it scores highly in all areas. A stately home (though wonderfully maintained giving it a modern feel) in magnificent surroundings. Full of charm and character. The pool side views are gorgeous. Superb food and staff you can instantly trust to put your needs first. Little touches such as the chocolates at bed time and the amazing cocktail fruit decorations. Feeding Colombo the giant tortoise a banana for breakfast was hilarious! Swans gliding round the mini lake at sunset was beautiful. The hotel thoroughly deserves its no 1 rating. If you're a party animal or you want to be near the main drag in a large hotel complex with children's activities, it would not suit. If you want to get away from the rat race and enjoy some tranquility in a wonderful setting, I'd completely recommend it. Thanks again to all the staff for such an awesome, restful time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent 4 nights here the week before Christmas. The hotel is beautiful and the grounds peaceful and relaxing. The staff were welcoming and courteous at all times ensuring we had everything we needed. We would highly recommend this hotel and plan to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a lovely relaxing stay in this hotel in the most beautiful surroundings. We really couldn't fault it as the service was excellent...really friendly staff who could not have been more helpful.
The food was really good as well with everything you could possibly want for breakfast & also excellent food & wine in the restaurant.

If we come back to Madeira we would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in October 2012 and were so amazed by the gardens. They are so green, well-kept and various in their range of plants. Lovely giant tortoise strolling around there too - forgotten his name though. The pool area is excellent - and peaceful - as the hotel seems to be mainly for adults. We didn't see any kids during our stay. A sign at the pool area says 'No Screaming'. We presume by that they meant kids and not adults! The food by the pool and in the hotel restaurants was excellent and pretty good value. The staff are very friendly and the room we had was superb - although the free WiFi was only available if you sat on the balcony. There is a courtesy bus into Funchal. Get a taxi back as the climb is steep and the taxis are quite cheap. If you want peace and quiet and you're into gardens and plants, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Jardins do Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.