We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Mar Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Terrace Mar Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa do Valente 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-092, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Vantaa, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I think it is a 3 star hotel.

Good:

- Cleaning service was very good. Also very polite.
- Good location.
- Rooms are ok.
- One receptionist is very polite and good service. Dark haired woman, dont know her name.

Bad:

- Breakfast buns are bread are raw. Every morning. They should probably put them into oven for 30 minutes more. The breakfast lady was rude. Some fruits were bad quality, black spotted bananas, green tomatoes for example. Bacon was vile.

Good in breakfast was coffee, juice and cereals. Some fruits were good, you need to sort them out :)

- The view across the window displays some sort of old yard with an access to old concrete doorway. It was just pretty bad view.

- They should put curtains to bathroom windows. It is a small window, but if somebody walking on the doorway wants to peep in, they can see right inside.

I could stay in this place again, but only if it was cheaper than this time.

Room Tip: Don't use balcony table before you know it has not been walked by pigeons just a moment ago :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
16
27
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Arrived at these Appartments/Hotel after transferring from another. What a joy, the rooms are clean, light and welcoming. We had a studio room with fridge, kettle, hotplates and microwave. Great as I love a cup of tea. We also had a balcony and as we were on the fourth floor had sea glimpses, better sea views on roof where pool etc are. The staff were wonderful so helpful nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was extremely good loads of food hot and cold great choice. For a 4 star hotel the Terrace Mar is moderately priced and great value for that money. Would definitely revisit.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise although its situated in a oneway street and traffic not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon in Madeira and could not have been happier. The breakfast was good and the staff went above and beyond for us. As it was our honeymoon, the hotel upgraded us to one of the apartment suites and there was a bottle of champaign waiting for us when we got in which we enjoyed on the rooftop watching the sunset near the pool. Absolutely loved this quiet oasis in Funchal and should we ever go back to Madeira, I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed in this beautiful hotel. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is very peaceful and relaxing. The location is ideal with superb scenary and the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. I cannot fault this hotel. Holidaymakers will not be disappointed. The jacuzzi and massage is highly recommended. Will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Breakfasts were varied, a rooftop pool was OK, jacuzzi was next to the pool. The weather in March was great during the day but at night it was cool, in the rooms there were blankets. Big beds, spacious room and kitchenette were super.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is a very nice hotel whit a friendly satff, situated in exellent area

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

From the arrival at the airport, the transfer guy was waiting for us. On arrival to the hotel i was greated by the receptionist who was friendly. The room was clean and the kitchen and bathroom were in a good state(no appliances hanging off walls!). The only major drawback to the holiday was the construction site next door to the hotel, but the only noise was in the day, saying that no lovely views to behold! We also had hard single beds, which wern't the most romantic. I didn't have food at the hotel and didn't partake in the amenities, as we wern't at the hotel alot, but i would have avoided them if i'm honest. All said it was a cheap holiday and i enjoyed our room, and our stay in Madiera

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace Mar Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Mar Suite Hotel

Address: Travessa do Valente 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-092, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Mar Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Terrace Mar Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Mar Hotel Funchal
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Mar Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.