We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the views but avoid half board” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago to your Saves list
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bela Sao Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Ayrshire, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth it for the views but avoid half board”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the Quinta Bela in April this year, having chosen it primarily for its location so close to the Old Town, the part of Funchal with the most character. It is also conveniently close to the centre of town, market and cable car. The hotel itself has bags of character and stunning views over Funchal and the harbour from the sea view rooms and pool terrace. Staff are generally very helpful and the ambience is laid back. Rooms are simply furnished and the shutters and black out curtains ensure a good night's sleep, if, like me, you need to block out the light.

I would return to this hotel but on a BnB basis, not half board as we did this time. The restaurant lacked atmosphere and the food just wasn't 4 star standard no matter how many ta-raa! flourishes accompanied it! and as there are so many good restaurants in the Old Town nearby, you are spoiled for choice. You are also charged for jugs of tap water at the hotel which I think is simply unacceptable. Breakfast is good, however, and the terrace a great place to have a drink and enjoy the views.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor if you want the best sea and harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    90
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
20
170
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Back for the fifth year running and immediately made welcome by all the staff who remembered us.
Nice rooms;fantastic breakfast and tip top service. Great base for the est of the island generally and Funchal in particular.
"Sundowners" on the terrace are a must

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Like others on Trip Advisor we arrived at the Quinta to be greeted by the information that our rooms (2) were unavailable and for the first three nights, of our severn night holiday, we were to be transferred to a sister hotel some distance from the Quinta. We took this information badly as we had chosen the Quinta specifically because of it's location and proximity to all our favourite restaurants in the Old Town, but nothing we said was going to change the situation so we were forced to accept the transfer.
The reception staff tried valiantly to improve our demeanour, but having been up since 3.30am travelling we weren't in a mood to be cheered up. The sister hotel, Quinta Das Vistas is however a 5 star hotel and the rooms were beautiful. We were given a free four course meal for the four of us and taxis to and from the Old Town each night at the hotel's expense. When we returned to Quinta Bela Sao Tiago we were also offered half board free of charge , which we declined as we had already booked restaurants in the Old Time, but accepted free lunches instead. After the 5 star treatment the rooms at Bela Sao Tiago did seem a bit lacking but the location of the hotel is everything in our opinion, but you must get a sea view on the upper floor if possible ( we did eventually!!!)
We got over our initial anger quickly, as we were determined to enjoy ourselves and we did have a wonderful holiday. It is obviously a corporate decision to overbook a popular hotel in the chain to boost occupancy at sister hotels, with the reception staff left in the position of facing irate holiday makers. The heavily pregnant lady on reception worked very hard to make us happy and if she reads these reviews I would like to thank her for her efforts and hope that all goes well for the birth of her son in January.

Room Tip: Upper foor sea view or if you can afford it, a junior suite on the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

First of all if you are looking for a hi-tec hotel with flat screen televisions etc. then this probably is not for you. However if you like character, a relaxed but classy atmosphere you will hopefully love this place as much as we did. We had a friendly welcome from the staff at reception and found then very helpful throughout our stay. In fact all staff were polite and friendly especially so in the restaurant at breakfast. The location of the hotel, in the old town, is excellent, very close to lots of restaurants and near the market, cable car, shops etc., it is a slight uphill walk back to the hotel though. Views from the front of the hotel are fantastic and I would definitely recommend a sea view room, you can sit on your balcony, overlook the beautifully maintained gardens, and watch the cruise ships come and go. Rooms are a good size, ours had two twin beds pushed together and we found them comfortable. Cleanliness was very good and housekeeping maintained the rooms well. The terrace and pool are also well maintained and we had no problems getting sun beds regardless of the time of day. We did not have any evening meals in the hotel but the breakfast buffet was very good, just let down by the poor quality coffee, we drank the sparkling wine and orange juice instead! Would go back here without hesitation and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have fantastic views of the town and port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Very frindly staff and close to the old town. Room was fine with a good view. The restaurant was good allbeit a bit pricey and breakfast was excellent. Better aircon control would have been good.

Yes, there is a slope to the hotel but I doubt that anywhere in Madeira is "hill free". Makes that pint all the more worthwhile!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Unfortunately when we arrived at reception we were told that the hotel did not have a room for us despite the fact that we had booked and paid in full some 6 months previously on a non-cancellable and non-refundable basis. The hotel seems to have recently become part of a chain (possibly the cause of the problem) and we were sent in a taxi up to a 5 star hotel which was part of the chain. This hotel was very smart and we were given a room with a great view over Funchal but it was a long way out of town and up a long and very steep hill. As we had chosen Quinta Bela Sao Tiago for it's location close to the old town (due to dodgy knees) we were not happy with this arrangement. Thankfully we were bussed down to our chosen hotel at lunchtime the next day and given an excellent room overlooking the harbour. Reception staff were apologetic and gave us a voucher for an excellent barbeque that evening. We liked Qunita Bela Sao Tiago but would be wary of booking to stay there again as it was very stressful arriving after a long journey to find there was no room available for us. We were not the only guests to be "bumped" - there were at least 2 other couples we were aware of, probably more. In all other respects the hotel was a great place to stay although the "a la carte" main course we ordered took an hour to arrive and was pretty awful. After that we ate in the old town at some lovely restaurants only a few minutes walk away. Breakfast however was great. Staff in the main were efficient and friendly and I believe did their best to resolve the problem but the fact remains, it shoudl not have happened. October 2013

Room Tip: The higher up the better for the sea view over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The most positive points were the cleanliness (exceptional) & some (not all) of the staff (efficient & friendly). The position of the Hotel for the old town was very good but there are steep climbs in some directions.

We stayed half board (would not recommend because of the plethora of nice restaurants nearby). The half board set menu offered no choice although a simple alternative like an omelette was available. The price of the set menu (almost 50 euros) was frankly ridiculous although the food quality was generally good.

The service at dinner was good although a change in staff midway through our stay led to a collapse in standards. This was quickly rectified.

The breakfasts were adequate if not imaginative with a choice of 'All Stars' and 'Coco Pops' for cereal...throughout the 2 weeks. Hm......? Poor selection of (some tinned) fruit & limited choice of bread. However, the quality was generally fine.

The rooms were dated with a 1970's retro look (not deliberately intended if you know what I mean !), & the shower was old & inadequate in function. However, the cleanliness was excellent.

Beautiful views from the sea view rooms & a hotel that was easy to use with all amenities to hand ( pool, garden, car park, dining room etc). It may be worth creating 'no smoking' zones for the terrace used for meals in good weather as the cigarette smoke wafting around was unpleasant.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay perhaps slightly disappointing in respect of the food selections. We did appreciate the way that staff tried to rectify problems when they occurred.

Room Tip: Worth paying for sea view & choose high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Address: Rua Bela Sao Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star hotel Quinta Bela São Tiago was originally a traditional Madeiran Manor House built in 1834. The manor house and its extensive gardens have been carefully restored to create a paradise right in the heart of this lovely old district.The Quinta Bela São Tiago offers a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in a unique location in Madeira! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Funchal
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.