We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good well-cared-for Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Save Saved
You added Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bela Sao Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good well-cared-for Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have stayed eight nights at Quinta Bela Sao Tiago and we have really enjoyed the Hotel. It's situated in the old centre of Funchal. The rooms are comfortable and have nice views (we did have a garden/sea view room). The overall facilities of the Hotel are pretty good, especially the swimming pool is very comfortable. Breakfast was good and fresh, not bad at all. Near the Hotel there's the possibility to enjoy the sea, although there's not a real sand beach close to the city, but they're working on it!

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Quinta Bela Soa Tiago and we would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    83
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
20
155
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Situated in the characterful old town, the hotel retains some of its 1890s charm whilst providing a quality modern environment.
Attentive, friendly staff who are happy to provide good advice on booking taxis, tables at restaurants and, in our case, the enjoyable personal guided tour of Reids Hotel Gardens.
The pool at Quinta Bela was pleasant and a relaxing place to be, with the right number of sun beds and a good view out to sea beyond the pretty gardens that are a real bonus at this quiet hotel. Could do with a couple of new parasols. Ample, varied, breakfasts on the patio were a joy and the evening barbecue was a nice option. Eating outside in Funchal is such a pleasant and comfortable experience in August, especially staying out in the evening warmth that doesn't diminish even at midnight.
We stayed as a family with 15y old and 18y old sons for 2 weeks & found plenty to do, including an excellent catamaran trip to see dolphins & swim in the sea off the boat. Also cable car trip to Monte and onwards to the Jardim Botanical, where gardens are great and there is a bonus of a good aviary at the bottom of these. Wicker tobogganing is fun. A trip on the local bus to the Valley Of The Nuns (Curral das Freiras) is highly recommended, with a great view from Eiro do Serrado.
Best of all, we found the regular walks along the streets of the Old Town (Rua De Santa Maria which changes character day to night) from the hotel to the fabulous Market (Mercado dos Lavradores) really enjoyable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first time in Maderia but it certainly won't be the last. Its a beautiful island, a lot prettier than any of the canary islands we have previously visited. The Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago is also one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in anywhere in the world, and we are quite well travelled. Beautiful views of the harbour, the swimming pool was never crowded - even when we travelled during August. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely- and the staff were really polite and friendly. Would recommend hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing time, but still close to the old town of Funchal with its lovely cobbled streets and a variety of restaurants.

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra for a sea view or garden view room as the inland rooms are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We paid for and received a confirmed booking 12 weeks before our arrival date only to find that they were “overbooked” (no reason given) and we had to transfer ourselves to another hotel they had allocated for the first 2 nights/3 days of our holiday. This led to additional cost incurred, a wasted car hire and spoiled what was to be a restful celebratory holiday for our wedding anniversary.

Being the Flower festival week, my pre-made plan was settle in at the hotel, and to walk to the flower market to buy a bouquet of flowers to put in our room as an anniversary present for my wife. Not possible or practical considering the change to a hotel in the hills to rear of Funchal.

It took us over one hour to find the somewhat remote, ill-signed hotel, with major road/coast defence work in progress in Funchal and bad road signing to negotiate.

That hotel offered a land view room where extensive tree surgery was going on throughout our stay opposite our balcony. We had paid an additional daily amount for a sea view room at the “Tiago” and asked the reception to contact them to correct this. The “Tiago” refused to endorse the cost of a sea view room.

On returning to the Quinta Bela Sao Tiago the room air conditioning was totally inadequate. Apparently, it is “centrally controlled” with no facility to change temperature in the room. I asked reception to have it made cooler but nothing happened. The only solution was to switch it off, as it was noisy and open the patio doors all night. This was Ok until 7am when the extensive noisy heavy construction coastal barrier workings close by began for the day. I would like to know why these major works were not identified to us at the time of booking as they are on-going for over one year, and unbearable throughout the day at the hotel. Caution: the noise from these works with heavy concrete/earth moving will be continuing for many months to come and make relaxation on balcony and at the pool impossible (see photo attached of view from our room)

The final insult was that a member of the reception staff handed me a typed “disclaimer” letter to sign which stated that - I would accept that their provision of; alternative accommodation , a piece of ginger cake and a minature bottle of Madeira wine left in the room and a free meal in their restaurant, as compensation for events. (No meal was in fact offered, only listed in the “disclaimer” I was presented with as we left for a pre-booked dinner in the old town on the last night (N.B I declined the meal - if I make a booking – I honour it!!).

Incredibly, the disclaimer also included a condition that I would not write any negative comments on “Tripadvisor” (not that I had intimated this)! I declined to sign up to any of this and told them I would be seeking adequate compensation for the very tiring and stressful experiences, which spoiled our holiday. On our return I took this up with the travel agent and also wrote to the hotel. I received no effective response from hotel. Travel agent claimed the hotel was unresponsive to their emails and telephone calls so offered £100 of next holiday booking.

Room Tip: Only book a sea view if the coastal defence works are finished
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in June and were delighted with its location which is very close to the old town with its numerous restaurants. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Room was good with a nice balcony overlooking the gardens and pool and the bed was comfortable (not a "given" in many hotels). We did not dine in the hotel restaurant as we preferred to go into the town and try a variety of cuisines, but the buffet breakfast had something to suit all tastes, including Madeira cake! Altogether, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms nearest the road as they could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, nothing wrong with the restaurant but recommend B&B so you can savour the numerous excellent eating places in Funchal, just a short walk away.
Hotel staff are all very courteous and helpful. Excellent breakfast, whether you want full English or Continental. Plenty of pool side seats with waiter service, only complaint, the swimming pool was very cold. Lovely gardens. Wifi connection. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a great 4 star hotel set back on the hill behind Funchai the staff are very helpful and attentive the bed and breakfast deal is good but half board not advisable as there are plenty of places to eat close buy ..All rooms are clean and well furnished but avoid rooms 316 + 216 at all costs as these are on the front of the hotel opposite a crossroads if you are in these rooms you will hear traffic going by all night long unless your a heavy sleeper.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking the garden are quiet and some have sea view but they do charge a supplement .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Address: Rua Bela Sao Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star hotel Quinta Bela São Tiago was originally a traditional Madeiran Manor House built in 1834. The manor house and its extensive gardens have been carefully restored to create a paradise right in the heart of this lovely old district.The Quinta Bela São Tiago offers a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in a unique location in Madeira! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Funchal
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.