We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful position for Funchal old town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago to your Saves list
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bela Sao Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful position for Funchal old town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent hotel, nothing wrong with the restaurant but recommend B&B so you can savour the numerous excellent eating places in Funchal, just a short walk away.
Hotel staff are all very courteous and helpful. Excellent breakfast, whether you want full English or Continental. Plenty of pool side seats with waiter service, only complaint, the swimming pool was very cold. Lovely gardens. Wifi connection. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    97
    23
    12
    9
See reviews for
22
182
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a great 4 star hotel set back on the hill behind Funchai the staff are very helpful and attentive the bed and breakfast deal is good but half board not advisable as there are plenty of places to eat close buy ..All rooms are clean and well furnished but avoid rooms 316 + 216 at all costs as these are on the front of the hotel opposite a crossroads if you are in these rooms you will hear traffic going by all night long unless your a heavy sleeper.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking the garden are quiet and some have sea view but they do charge a supplement .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here for a week in May. This was my 4th visit to Madeira and this was easily the best hotel I have stayed in. My friend and I were upgraded to a junior suite on arrival which was extremely spacious and comfortable with a beautiful view over the gardens and overlooking Funchal and the bay - quite spectacular, especially in the evening. Without exception staff were friendly and very helpful and efficient. Breakfast was the only meal we ate in the hotel and was exceptionally good. Being in the old town the hotel is surrounded by wonderful little traditional restaurants serving good food at reasonable prices. Hope to return next year with my husband.

Room Tip: I think simply to ask for a 'room with a view' should do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We very much enjoyed our week at the Quinta Bela Sao Tiago. The location is perfect in the old town with stunning views over the roof tops to the sea. The character of the hotel and surrounding area is charming, much better than the modern area where most of the hotels are located. The holiday didn't start too well our allocated room (218) overlooked the busy road at the front of the hotel and besides the noise of the traffic and barking dogs, there is a garage almost next door. We had booked a garden veiw room, though no one seemed to believe us. Luckily for us we had our booking form and an email confirming the type of room with us. However it took from 11.30 til 4 in the afternoon to get it sorted. Half a day of our holiday wasted while Thomas Cook attempted to sort it out. As we suspected it was Cook's fault; but by now there were no garden view rooms left! Any way it all turned out well in the end. After spending the first night in the noisy room we were up graded to to a sea view room (219). To be honest if you don't mind noise, room 218 is a lovely room, huge in fact about three times bigger than the the one with the sea view!
The pool area is very nice, as are the gardens, complete with banana plantation showing the hotel's origin. The staff at the hotel are very good, as are most of the Madeiran people and we really enjoyed it there. The breakfast is plentiful and eating it outside on the terrace was a lovely way to start the day.
There are lots of good places to eat close by and we discoverd after attending the welcome meeting at the nearby Hotel Porto Santa Maria that they do fantastic cocktails and between six and seven they are half price! Needless to say we 'forced' our selves to go back there every evening!
Madeira has so much to do and see, to many things to mention here.
We thoroughly enjoyed this holiday and will deffinately go back to Madeira and the Quinta Bela Sao Tiago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Bela Sao Tiago. OK, the weather wasn't great the week we were there, but there were plenty of things to do other than lying in the sun. Thanks to this hotel's situation in the old town, one of our main daily decisions was where to eat our evening meal. There are dozens of good and reasonably priced restaurants within a few hundred yards. We were glad we followed the advice of several of the reviews here and opted for bed and breakfast rather than half-board.
Our room was comfortable and spacious. We would recommend going for a garden view or sea view - you pay a little more, but otherwise you might end up overlooking the rua Bela Sao Tiago, a featureless thoroughfare.
The staff were friendly and helpful. When I checked out, I left a plug converter and ipad charger in the room (the free wifi works well). When we went back to collect our luggage, it was waiting for me at reception.
The clientele is almost exclusively middle-aged middle-class European (like most visitors to Madeira), so this is probably not the hotel for those with children or teenagers hoping for a disco and lively entertainment. Suited us fine....
Excellent views from the terrace; just the place to sip a pre-dinner cocktail. Yes, there are sea-front works going on, but they do not overwhelm here, unlike, we imagine, the sea-level hotel immediately facing them.
The only reason for not giving 5 stars is that nowhere is perfect, but I won't bother to repeat here the modest shortcomings recorded by others. We would go back.

Room Tip: Pay more for a room witrh a garden or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks,UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Quinta Bela Sao Tiago is a wonderful hotel in a brilliant location for exploring the old town. Madeira is a beautiful island and full of stunning scenery and great gardens.
This hotel has a few room types. Don't book a room without a garden view as some of the cheaper rooms don't have a good view. The pool at this time of the year is not heated so you can't really use the pool (May). Lovely gardens and excellent staff.
Give the restaurant a miss even the a la carte menu is inedible, fortunately there are plenty of restuarants close by. You must have espetada (meat on a stick) delicious. A Daisy cocktail is also a must and contains Port ( local speciality drink)
Funchal is undergoing renovation, they are putting in another berth for cruise ships so the front is a bit unsightly but the rest of the island makds up for it. It's a must. Please like my review if you found it helpful.Thanks

Room Tip: Go for a garden view room, the views are lovely. The lead in room may not have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

On arrival we were impressed with the overall look of the hotel. We choose to upgrade our room prior to arrival as this was a celebration birthday treat. The room (123) was described as a Junior Suite, I don't know how they can classify that title, when it was a slightly larger then the regular rooms. We should have been alerted when we found it to be on reception floor, but the views impressed us. From the first to the last night (14 of them) we were woken by reception noise, staff talking, irritating dragging chairs and constant telephone ringing. Once we finally got to sleep, were woken at 5.30am to 6am by breakfast staff, oh yes we were above the kitchen!
We tried on numerous occasions to change our room to be told they did not have any free.
The evening meals started with waiter's service as expected, after 2 nights we were told it is now buffet service.
The meals were so bland and uninviting we choose to eat out where we experienced some wonderful options with beautiful food and service, not knocking the hotel's service that was excellent. We tired very quickly with the food, the previous meats were used the following night mixed with rice or pasta, hah can't fool me!
The beds were the most uncomfortable we have ever (tried) to sleep in.
It is such a shame as the style and position of the hotel is fantastic.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade, as most rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.5 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
0.2 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
1.3 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#34 of 88 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
2.0 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#26 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quinta Mirabela
Quinta Mirabela
#36 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Address: Rua Bela Sao Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#43 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star hotel Quinta Bela São Tiago was originally a traditional Madeiran Manor House built in 1834. The manor house and its extensive gardens have been carefully restored to create a paradise right in the heart of this lovely old district.The Quinta Bela São Tiago offers a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in a unique location in Madeira! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Funchal
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.