We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room 218” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bela Sao Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 91 hotels in Funchal
cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“room 218”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is the perfect relaxing get away,beautiful views, friendly staff, stunning location, I would not hesitate to go back. But, room 218 had a very unpleasent smell of dead rodent, this is the only way to describe it, if you book this hotel,stear clear of 218.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    79
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
20
147
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halkyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Quinta Bela Sao Tiago is the perfect place to stay if you want to explore the old town of Funchal. It is 200 meters from the Rua Santa Maria with all its restaurants and bars and the sea front cafes. I have to add that it is downhill on the way into town and uphill on the way back but whilst it is not steep it is very manageable at a gentle pace. The vibrant market hall is a short walk away and the cable car to Monte is about 300 metres from the hotel.

We had an ocean view room on the first floor which looked out over the cruise ship harbour which was an entertainment watching the giants of the sea come and go.

Most people reading reviews want to know more about the facilities and outings in more detail, I know I did, so I’ll try and cover a few things not in the travel brochures.

A kettle is offered when you are booking in to the hotel. Apparently it is only the “Brits abroad” who want a kettle so one is offered. It will be delivered to your room with the number of cups for the occupancy but there is no tea, coffee, milk etc so if you want to make your own “brew” then take some with you or go to one of the local shops and buy some.

There is a mini bar in the room with a price list. The bar is checked every day by the cleaners so keep a check on what you are using to be able to tally on checking out.

The beds were made everyday with clean sheets. Usually by the time we had returned from breakfast our room was “done”

There is a safe in the room but you have to pay €1.50 per day to use it, we paid and it was useful.

Breakfast is excellent. The same fayre is offered daily with maybe a couple of variations but there is so much that we didn’t have the same breakfast twice. We didn’t have dinner at the hotel as there are so many local offerings close by for less money although to be fair the menu looked superb.

Excursions leaflets are on display in reception with bus tours and levada walks a plenty. We researched these before we left the UK but booked at the hotel reception. The staff are very helpful and speak excellent English.

A word about the Monte Toboggan Ride. It is unique in the World and is considered a “must” when in Madeira. It is expensive at €30 for a couple in one toboggan and a tip is obligatory at the end of the ride (the guys ask you for “something for a drink”). You then have to negotiate with a taxi driver to get back into Funchal. Be aware! It can cost an unwary traveller up to €18 but apparently a negotiated €5 can be gained if you are a bit hardnosed about it. We did it as part of an excursion and the mini coach picked us up at the end of the run. The ride was special though so bite the bullet and do it.

Afternoon tea at Reids Palace was amazing. Very “Dowton”, stepping back into a bygone era. It is expensive at €32.50 per person and has to be booked but we were made to feel so special, brilliant. No shorts or tee shirts.

We had a great time in Madeira and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Ocean view on first or second floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week in October 2012, and just loved it from the moment we arrived. The staff are all helpful and happy. The room was so comfortable and clean and the seaview room we had (worth the extra price) was truly amazing, I could have sat on the balcony for the whole holiday. We did have a little rain, but even then we sat in the comfy tub chairs by the french doors and still admired the view of the harbour and massive cruise ships docking. Breakfast was fabulous, all you could eat and all sorts of different things to try. Some people seemed to be in the breakfast room from the time it opened until it closed - 7.30 - 10.00, obviously filling up for the day! The location is just right, in the Old Town with so many lovely cobbled streets lined with restaurants and then just a further walk to reach the cable car station and main bus stops. The market is just a bit further and then you are in the town itself full of shops, cafes, interesting buildings and the harbour.
The only negative was that it wasn't very hot on our vist (we had the worst storm for several months) and the pool although it looked very inviting from the balcony I saw several people trying to get in the water and made it clear it was very cold. I tried my toe in one day and it was too cold for me!
There weren't many children around when we visited in October (I only spotted two very well behaved about 10 years old) as apart from the pool there wouldn't be much to entertain a young family.
I would really recommend this hotel especially for couples wanting a superb relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Any seaview room, lower floor may not get a view of the harbour but the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

we visit funchal a couple of times a year but as we were bringing family out for the 1st time thought we would stay somewhere special.-the hotel lived up to expectation! we had seaview rooms with great views of the city and port. the hotel has a small but attractive garden surrounding the swimming pool-big enough for there not to have to fight for a sun bed.the staff are helpful and friendly .we only stayed as b&bguests so only used restaurant for the buffet breakfast-this was varied and changed everyday.the hotel is wonderfully situated being only a short walk from old town and seafront,and only about 10mins fom city centre. somewhat more convenient than the ones in the hotel zone.i would not have any hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: choose any room with a seaview on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have stayed in Madeira many times, but this is the third time that we have been to this hotel, so for us there cannot be much wrong with it! The main attraction is location, location, location! There are relatively few hotels located in the heart of the old town, within easy walking distance (admittedly up a short hill) of the attractive cobbled streets and alleyways of the old town. It's a five or ten minute walk to the enormous numbers of restaurants and bars in this area. And yet the hotel is a quiet refuge away from the hustle and bustle of this area.

The hotel has well kept and clean public areas. The gardens are well tended and beautiful, with a quiet small orchard and plantation area beyond the pool down some steps. I suspect some of the produce is used within the hotel for the guests, so it is certainly fresh. The pool area is well set out and there is no scramble for loungers. During our time here, although it was very warm, the pool temperature was a little on the cool side, and could have done with some heat as a booster. Overall, however, it was a great place to hangout and relax. There are great views over the harbour area, where you could see cruise ships coming and going.

Breakfast was very good and served on the terrace (the weather was good) as well as the indoor restaurant. Other reviewers have referred to the unhygienic pigeon nuisance, which is a problem if you eat outside. But apart from that breakfast was fine. We never ate in the restaurant at night, so cannot comment. There was a spa area which wasn't used much (by nobody when we stayed there, as far as I could figure out).

The staff around the hotel were, without exception, quietly efficient, polite and helpful. All areas of the hotel, including the bedroom were clean and spotless. Car parking is free for guests in a basement floor car park.

Our room was labelled as a sea view and was side-on to the sea and harbour, and therefore with partially obstructed views. Avoid rooms on the lower ground floor, with poorer views and ant problems. The room itself was reasonably spacious with a good bathroom and most of the facilities you would want. It is true that the television was a little outdated, but everything worked, the beds were comfortable and air-conditioning efficient.

Many of the newer hotels purporting to be in Funchal are some way to the west of the town and quite a walk if you're looking to be located in the old town. This hotel is no doubt not as modern, up-to-date and lively as some of these, but if you're looking for somewhere where most that Funchal has to offer is close at hand, then this is a very good option.

A footnote (and not the fault of the hotel!): There seems to be a problem with mosquitoes at the moment, so take precautions!

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms are best and in the main body of the hotel. Avoid those on the lower gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexhill on sea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

great hotel, staff go the extra mile for you. reception staff always smiling and helpful and with infinite patience. rooms good size and comfortable with kettle etc if requested. whole stay very relaxing and food at breakfast very good. some wonderful restaurants within 10 mins walk, in fact awhole street full of them, all reasonably priced and large portions. do try local dishes.if there is a downside it is a 10 min walk uphill back to the hotel but after a big dinner it's probably just what you need. highly recommended all round

Room Tip: sea view room top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have just returned from a one week stay in the Quinta Bela Sao Tiago. My boyfriend and I picked this hotel based on the positive reviews.
We were not disappointed as the hotel was great. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Garden View room - which was a nice touch, as was the welcome drink.
The staff are all very friendly, and the rooms are comfortable and clean.
The pool is a little smaller than expected but nice all the same and we never had a problem getting a sunbed.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel as there were so many places to choose from to eat. The breakfast was very good - a good selection of food, and beverages so no complaints at all there!
There is a small gym and spa area with a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi for those who want to work off any over indulgence of the great food and wine Funchal has to offer.
The walk into the main area where the bars and restaurants are took about 5 to 10 mins (downhill on the way). Just be careful when walking back at night as there are no pavements and the streets are not very wide.
The cable car is also a 5-10 minute walk away and the marina and main area of Funchal a 20 to 25 minute walk.
If I had a slight niggle about this hotel, then it would be that the shower could do with updating, but it was perfectly adequate (and powerful) so hardly worth mentioning.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and intend on staying there again when we go back to Funchal.
One tip about places to eat - check out Mozarts - they have an a la carte deal for a 3 course meal, plus wine (or beer) and water for 35 euros each. The food was fantastic and they are not stingy with the wine. It was so good we ate there twice (would have been more had we found it sooner).

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Also Known As:
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Madeira/Funchal
Address: Rua Bela Sao Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star hotel Quinta Bela São Tiago was originally a traditional Madeiran Manor House built in 1834. The manor house and its extensive gardens have been carefully restored to create a paradise right in the heart of this lovely old district.The Quinta Bela São Tiago offers a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in a unique location in Madeira! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago to your Saves list