We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quinta Sao Tiago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Save Saved
You added Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bela Sao Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Quinta Sao Tiago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The hotel is at the top of a hill therefore views from the restaurant balcony and rooms with a balcony are beautiful. You can see for miles across the ocean and while many an hour away watching the cruise liners come and go. The hotels service is first class with all staff more than willing to assist and everyone so polite. Breakfasts are excellent with a good choice of food and continual refilling of tea and coffee cups. The bar service is excellent, prices a little dearer than the bars but not overly so...however the views and comfort of the hotels balcony are worth that little extra. Rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels every day. Our room had a balcony with a sea view and was clean and tidy. The bathroom was the same and the shower was very efficient.
As I said at the beginning the hotel is at the top of a hill so be aware that on your return from sightseeing or whatever you will do a little cardio exercise each time. Not a bad thing and sets you up for that evenings apertif!
Highly recommend this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    83
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
20
155
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
twickenham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

nice, smallish hotel that is worth its 4 stars.
nice rooms although the one we had had a too soft a bed.
nice terraces that arnt overlooked by nearby properties.
staff attentive and courtious.
fly in the ointment was when we arrived at 7ish on a saturday night we were told they were double booked and we had to spend a night at the nearby (and it has to be said) slightly better hotel porto santa maria. this despite booking direct with hotel DECEMBER 2010. was this because this is ultimatly a german owned hotel and the English dont kick up as much fuss?, we did get a free dinner when we came back sunday.
tip for those who stay here: the road down to town is busy and doesnt have a footpath, turn right out of hotel and go into town on the road that runs behind the hotel as this has a lot less traffic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I can only agree with all the reviews that praise this hotel's perfect location, wonderful views, and overall great value for money. Even a friend of mine who works as a tourist guide in Madeira recommends this as one of her favourite hotels.
Unfortunately the Wifi was a bit patchy, but this was understandable as our room was not only on the top floor, as requested, but also in the very corner, which gave us a sea view plus a view up the mountains! And how could you beat breakfast on the elegant terrace, with sweeping views over the harbour and the town, as a start to your day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverclyde, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I selected this hotel for our first trip to Madeira based mainly on Trip Advisor reviews - we were not disappointed. Our stay was so relaxing and stress free, coupled with charming, efficient staff who could not do enough for us. The location was ideal, near the old town, and close to many excellent restaurants. Although situated at the top of a fairly steep hill this is more than compensated for by the wonderful views from the hotel terraces. Public areas are well appointed and our sea view room was comfortable and clean with frequent changes of sheets and towels. A real gem, don't miss it.

Room Tip: any 3rd floor,sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have visited this hotel on a number of occasions now and it continues to live up to our expectations. It is quite honestly our favourite place to be. The location, close to all the restaurants is perfect, the staff are friendly, very helpful and do everything to make your stay with them superb. The views are quite breathtaking and the hotel is everything you could hope for in a 4* establishment. I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Already planning our next visit with relish.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

WE have been coming to madeira for the last 4 years and have spent our last 2 holidays at the quinta bela,have already booked next years and yes its back at the quinta bela.....if your looking for a place to stay to relax and unwind this is the place to be...........everything you need will be found here............you will also find near by lots of places to sit relax and have a very good evening meal and watch the world go by.........so what are you waiting for book now and enjoy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I see little point in writing extensively on the room types, linen, cleanliness, service and restaurant facilities. This is a four star hotel and it easily meets those expectations. It takes your breath away - but the prices won't!
Things that a hotel class won't tell you though:
The hotel is at the top of the old town, perfect for lazy evenings out eating and chilling. If you want a more modern type environment/selection of activities this may be too quiet.
The cable car is 10 minute walk, the marina 20 minutes, nice leisurely strolls.
On the way back though the last few minutes are up a fairly steep hill, but you wouldn't have the amazing views if you didn't have the elevation!
Pay extra for a room with a sea view - definitely worth it! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Address: Rua Bela Sao Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star hotel Quinta Bela São Tiago was originally a traditional Madeiran Manor House built in 1834. The manor house and its extensive gardens have been carefully restored to create a paradise right in the heart of this lovely old district.The Quinta Bela São Tiago offers a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in a unique location in Madeira! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Funchal
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.