We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience with thoughtful touches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Panoramico Hotel

Save Saved
You added Madeira Panoramico Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Estados Unidos da America 34, Funchal, Madeira 9000-090, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely experience with thoughtful touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Now, I'll admit up front that this review will be influenced by the free upgrade to a sea-view room, along with bubbly on ice that we received because we were there to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday (of course, that is hard to believe, as she looks so young !)
Nevertheless, we feel that the Madeira Panoramico is almost without flaw. (The only drawbacks revolve around the slightly out-of-the-way location, but more of that later.)
All staff, without exception, are friendly, cheerful, professional and helpful.
We went bed and breakfast. Breakfast was very good, in the airy buffet restaurant room, with great views over the terrace to the sea and the mountain. Wide selection of good quality hot and cold food laid out, buffet style and chef cooking eggs to order. No fuss, no waiting. Help yourself to everything.
Our room was lovely, with a balcony big enough to hold a table and two chairs. We found it an ideal spot to guzzle the hotel bubbly while gazing at the cruise ships in the harbour.
TV has English-language news channels and a couple of Portuguese channels which show a lot of English-language films with Portuguese subtitles.
Beds were comfortable. Extra blankets were provided, and the room has heating and air conditioning with electronic controls, so you can have exactly the temperature you need.
Minibar well stocked, but enough room for us toi squeeze in a few tins of beer and some milk. (We brought our own travel kettle and tea bags.)
Everything spotlessly clean.
Shower pressure can flay the skin from your back if you like that sort of thing: just turn it up to full!
We visited the hotel bar a couple of times, once when they had a Fado night on. The Fado singer was incredible! Her voice could easily fill a 500-seat theatre, at least, without amplification. Bar prices more expensive than in town, but not not too bad, and you get table service. Bar food is decent and plentiful.
Location: bit of a trek from centre of town; about 30 mins to town and 40 mins back. It takes longer coming back because it is uphill all the way. However, you can book places on the hotel's free minibus shuttle. There is not always space available on this, unfortunately, and it does stop at 6pm. However, public transport is very cheap and reliable and there are bus stops imediately outside the hotel on both sides of the road. Get a 3,5 or 7-day bus ticket from a kiosk in town and ride all you want within Funchal. This also includes going up to Monte, from where the famous tobbogan rides down the mountain begin.
We recomend going on a catamaran whale/dolphin-spotting excursion.
In fact, we went on a few excursions and had a great time. Book direct, in town, not via holiday rep. Avoid the ones which are significantly cheaper than the rest, though, as they include a trip to a timeshare resort, with a high-pressure sales talk.
Go to local hole-in-the-wall bars, if you speak just a little Portuguese: the locals
thought we were a great curiosity and were very keen to talk to us and practice their English. We had great fun ordering beer and toasted sandwiches in Portuguese! These bars are significantly cheaper than the flashy tourist bars. Guzzle the local Coral beer.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    95
    28
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
125
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

First visit to Madeira and by dint of good fortune we found ourselves staying in this excellent hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient. They were kind enough to present us with surprise champagne on ice to celebrate our joint birthday ...still dont know how they knew about this! Also they were very helpful when I contracted the dreaded winter vomiting illness (I hasten to add not their fault in any way). The hotel is situated high in the town giving a superb view, however this does mean transport is needed however the free hotel minibus is readily available during the daytime (except Sunday). Also the Official Sightseeing Tour Yellow Bus stops on the road immediately outside hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have not been to madeira for 20 years and I returned with my partner and my brother and his wife. It was my brother recommendation to stay at the panaramico. It was Great. The staff and the management could have not done enough to make our stay any more memorable. The facilities at the hotel were fantastic including the free transport into town. I loved the indoor and outdoor pool and the fado singer on Sunday night. I will return to Madeira and I will choose this great hotel. Thank you to you all.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012. Hotel facilities good. Took a while to find our way around because its on different levels but once we got the hang of it no problem. The rooms are nicely finished with good views of Funchal. Don't know about the rear facing rooms. We found the staff to be very professional in their approach but not overly friendly. Maybe this was because it was end of season but not a great problem. The food is very good with a large selection for breakfast and evening meal. We didn't have lunch at the hotel as we were always out during the day. Quite a trek to Funchal itself but a pleasant walk down in the morning. Probably wise to book the hotel minibus back or get a taxi though. Overall a pleasant stay and we would recommend it as a good base to see the rest of Madeira.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is clean and well kept and we found all the staff friendly and extremely helpful. The view from our sea view room was well worth the extra charge. We were in the main reception area of the hotel which is further away from the road and therefore quiet. There was an excellent choice of food at the breakfast buffet, including freshly cooked eggs to order. There are two restaurants, one serving a buffet meal and a well appointed A La Carte which we found similar in value to local restaurants. There is a steep approach to the hotel which would be quite challenging for anyone with walking difficulties. There is a courtesy minibus into Funchal which must be pre-booked at reception. It takes about 45 minutes to walk into Funchal and about 20 minutes to walk to the Lido area where there is a variety of restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 120 on the 1st floor of the reception building has excellent views over Funchal and the harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The service and reception people were very helpful. The free wifi was very sparodic around the hotel and only really available in the reception area. Be wary in the al a carte restaurant, they place bread on table when you get seated, it is charged at 1.75euro each person. I asked before touching it and told it chargable. I had it taken away for no charge, but was told it was on the menu, which it was not (lying worse than trying to do you out of money).
The free shuttle bus into town is only an 8 seater so best to book it the day before. Last shuttle back is 1815hrs again return trips have to be booked in advance (taxi is about 6 euro from town), but if room available they are very helpful and lenient.

Room Tip: We got sea view for no extra cost (see photo for our view of Funchal)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is 4 Star and has all the attributes of what we expected from the accommodation. It is located up quite a steep drive which anything bigger than a minibus cannot access. The seaview rooms offer a stunning view across Funchal and the bay and it's worth paying the extra for a top floor room.
Breakfast is good quality with plenty of choice, hot food, continental and cereals and there is always lots left even at a later time. The a la carte restaurant is lovely if a little pricy compared to other restaurants in the area. There is also a pool bar serving tasty fast food.
The down side is the outdoor pool area is small and not overly inviting, the heated pool was not very warm and the gym area had 4 exercise bikes, 2 treadmills, one of which in my opinion was dangerous if you tried to run on it. There was a holistic treatment area as well.
The hotel itself is well kept, a little tricky to find your way around as its built on 3 levels with 3 different lift systems.
Free minibus service throughout the day to Funchal town centre was a bonus, but must be pre booked with reception. There is a steep cut through down to the Lido area with many local restaurants.
All in all a good quality hotel in a quiet location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madeira Panoramico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Panoramico Hotel

Address: Rua Estados Unidos da America 34, Funchal, Madeira 9000-090, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Panoramico Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the west hillside of Funchal, with superb views of the sea, the bay and magnificent mountains. With a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, this is the ideal place for an unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Madeira Panoramico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madeira Panoramico
Madeira Panoramico Funchal
Madeira Panoramico Hotel Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Panoramico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.